Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Technical Skills Attainment & Industry Recognized Credential

Request for Industry Recognized Credential (IRC) Status 2019

The window for submitting an application requesting consideration of a credential as an Industry Recognized Credential (IRC) is now open.  Applications will be accepted until close of business on June 30, 2019. Applications must be submitted by a Missouri public school administrator via the protocol provided. No other application formats will be accepted or reviewed. Applications will be reviewed by a team of Career and Technical Education experts in early fall, and schools will be notified of new IRCs in October 2019.


Contact Janice Rehak, 573-526-4900, for more information.


Guidance for Selecting IRC's and TSAs

New IRC and TSA Guidance 
(Updated 01/09/2020)

IRC Summary
(Updated 11/19/2019)


Career Clusters

The National Career Clusters® Framework provides an organizational structure for framing CTE programs through well-developed programs of study. There are 16 Career Clusters and 79 Career Pathways in the National Career Clusters® Framework.  The Career Clusters include:  

  • Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources
  • Architecture & Construction
  • Arts, A/V Technology & Communications
  • Business Management & Administration
  • Education & Training
  • Finance
  • Government & Public Administration
  • Health Science
  • Hospitality & Tourism
  • Human Services
  • Information Technology
  • Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing
  • Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics
  • Transportation, Distribution & Logistics

More information can be found on the National Career Clusters® Framework website.