Missouri Seal of Biliteracy

The Missouri Seal of Biliteracy (SoBL) and Distinguished Missouri Seal of Biliteracy is awarded to graduating high school students in districts with a DESE-approved program, who have demonstrated achievement in English, a Language Other Than English (LOTE) and sociocultural competence. All Missouri students studying any of the world’s languages are potential Seal candidates.

Getting Started

To begin, carefully review the Missouri Seal of Biliteracy: Implementation Guide to begin planning at the district level. Identify a district employee responsible for the program and work through the specific details of how students will earn the seal. Then, seek formal school board adoption of the Seal. There are many examples of school board resolutions listed at http://sealofbiliteracy.org/

Once formal school board adoption is obtained, submit the Seal of Biliteracy – Initial Application. If the application is determined to meet the minimum requirements set by DESE, you will be notified in writing of approval and will receive a digital copy of the Missouri SoBL.

100 Districts/Schools have already gone through the process to make the Seal of Biliteracy available to their students. Thank you to the following schools/districts for recognizing the value of this great program.

For questions, comments and assistance, please contact Cammy Goucher at 573-751-3926 or cammy.goucher@dese.mo.gov.

Districts/Schools That Offer Seal Of Biliteracy
Académie Lafayette International High School Fort Zumwalt SD Lutheran High School Of St. Charles County Smithton R-VI
Affton SD Francis Howell SD Maplewood Richmond Heights SD Southern Reynolds County R-II
Allen Village Charter Gateway Science Academy Of St. Louis Marshfield R-I Springfield R-XII
Aurora R-8 Guadalupe Centers Charter School Marshall SD St. Charles SD
Bayless SD Hallsville R-IV McDonald Co. R-I St. Dominic High School
Belton SD Hannibal SD Mehlville R-IX St. Joseph Christian School
Blue Springs R-IV Hazelwood SD Mexico SD St. Joseph SD
Branson R-IV Hickman Mills C-1 Mid-Buchanan R-V St. Louis Public SD
Brentwood SD Hollister R-IV Neosho SD St. Louis University HS
Camdenton R-III Incarnate Word Academy Nerinx Hall High School St. Teresa's Academy
Cape Girardeau 63 Independence SD Nixa SD Stockton R-I
Carl Junction R-I Jackson R-II North Kansas City 74 Summit Christian Academy
Carthage R-9 Jefferson City SD Ozark R-VI Summit Preparatory School Of Southwest Missouri 
Centralia R-VI Joplin Schools Parkway SD Trenton R-IX
Chaminade College Prep School Kansas City 33 Pattonville R-III Valley Park SD
Chillicothe R-II Kirkwood R-VII Poplar Bluff R-I Visitation Academy
Christian Brothers College High School Knob Nobster R-VIII Raymore-Peculiar SD Warren Co. R-III
Clayton SD Ladue SD Raytown C-2 Washington SD
Clearwater R-I Lamar R-I Republic R-III Waynesville R-VI
Columbia Independent School Lebanon R-III Ritenour SD Webb City R-VII
Columbia Public Schools Lee's Summit R-VII Rockwood SD Webster Groves SD
Crossroads Charter School Of Kansas City Liberty SD Sacred Heart School Wentzville SD
Diocese Of Kansas City - St. Joseph Lincoln County R-III Salem R-80 Willard R-II
Fair Grove R-X Lindbergh SD School Of The Osage Windsor C-1
Ferguson-Florissant SD Logan-Rogersville R-VIII Sedalia 200 Wright City R-II


Missouri Seal Of Biliteracy Map


The Missouri Seal of Biliteracy is endorsed by a number of Missouri businesses and institutions of higher education. See the list below for endorsements and incentives for the Missouri SoBL. If you are interested in adding your endorsement, contact Cammy Goucher at 573-751-3926.