Charter Schools

Charter Schools Program Office

Charter Schools are independent public schools that are free from some rules and regulations that apply to traditional public school districts as specifically identified in charter school law.  In exchange for flexibility, charter school sponsors are to hold the schools accountable for results. Charter schools are non-sectarian, do not discriminate in their admission policies and may not charge tuition or fees.

Any student residing in the Kansas City 33 School District or the St. Louis Public School District may choose to attend a charter school if they reside within either city.  There is no cost to parents for sending their children to a charter school. Any student residing in an unaccredited school district may transfer to an approved charter school in the same or an adjoining county.

As of August 2019, there are 20 LEAs in Kansas City operating within 39 buildings and 17 LEAs in St Louis within 37 buildings.

Kansas City
St. Louis

Charter Schools Office Contacts

Jocelyn Strand Coordinator 573-751-1014
Shanika Williams Director of Charter Schools 573-526-4219
Vacant Administrative Assistant 573-751-8247
Vacant State Supervisor of Instruction (KC area) 573-751-8247
Maureen Clancy-May  State Supervisor of Instruction (STL area) 314-800-9290