Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Curriculum

The curriculum services section provides professional services related to the development and implementation of improved curricula in the schools of the state. The unit engages in a broad range of activities including: the preparation and dissemination of curricular materials; in-service training for professional staff members in curriculum development and in specific subject areas; and consultative assistance in solving instructional problems. Consultants provide services upon request in the areas of citizenship education, health and physical education, fine arts, reading, writing, mathematics, social studies, science and library/media. Particular emphasis is placed on assisting schools in aligning curriculum with the Show-Me Standards and the development of written curriculum guides required by the Missouri School Improvement Program and the Outstanding Schools Act.

2017-18 Professional Learning Series Opportunities

The chart below lists opportunities on the integration and implementation of the Missouri Learning Standards – Grade Level Expectations in the four content areas. DESE personnel will provide training at the following dates and locations. Please contact the School District Personnel directly for registration and further details.

Date

District/Town

School District Personnel

Friday, September 15, 2017

Jackson R2 Schools,
Jackson, MO

Joey O’Neal, Instructional Facilitator
joneal@jr2mail.org

Friday, October 13, 2017 South Central RPDC, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla,  MO  Liz Condray, CondrayE@mst.edu
Friday, December 8, 2017 Southeast RPDC, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau Rita Fisher, rfisher@semo.edu
Monday, January 29, 2018  Jasper Co. R-V, Jasper, MO Ashlee Jackson, Ashlee.jackson@jasper.k12.mo.us

For more content area specific information about the workshops contact the following:

ELA – Debbie Jameson at debbie.jameson@dese.mo.gov
ELA – Lisa Scroggs at lisa.scroggs@dese.mo.gov
Fine Arts - Tom Tobias at
tom.tobias@dese.mo.gov
Math - Chip Sharp at chip.sharp@dese.mo.gov
Science - John Kitchens at john.kitchens@dese.mo.gov
Social Studies - Dixie Grupe at dixie.grupe@dese.mo.gov 

 

DESE Curriculum and Assessment Work Opportunities

Missouri Educators Wanted: The survey monkey link is open and available for educators to complete for possible opportunities in future curriculum, assessment and professional development projects. Please share this link with educators in your district.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/WorkOpportunities2017

College Prep Certificates

The Department will no longer produce College Prep Certificates for dissemination. The change is a result of the expectation that all students will be “College and Career Ready,” and that the standards for successful entry into the workplace are the same as those required for successful entrance into a college or university. In addition, graduation requirements now closely reflect the credit standards that had been required for the certificate.  Districts may continue to offer such recognitions locally if desired.

Please contact Jackie Wieberg at (573) 751-4234 if you have additional questions.