Missouri Recognizes Eight Gold Star Schools

May 13, 2024

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) has announced eight Missouri Gold Star Schools for 2024. The program, which aligns with the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, recognizes schools for outstanding academic achievement or for performing at high levels while serving a significant proportion of disadvantaged students.

Missouri’s 2024 Gold Star Schools include:

  • Bristol Elementary School, Webster Groves School District
  • Meramec Elementary School, Clayton School District
  • Metro Academic and Classical High School, St. Louis Public School District
  • Oakwood Elementary School, Hannibal 60 School District
  • Ralph M. Captain Elementary School, Clayton School District
  • Richland Elementary School, Richland R-I School District
  • Voy Spears, Jr. Elementary School, Blue Springs R-IV School District
  • William Yates Elementary School, Blue Springs R-IV School District

“Congratulations to the students, teachers, and staff members of each of these schools for earning this recognition,” said Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “These schools demonstrate that academic excellence is possible while striving to meet the needs of every student in their school — and we’re so proud of their hard work.”

The Missouri Gold Star Schools program was established in 1991 and uses the same criteria for nomination as the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. The U.S. Department of Education’s Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced this fall.