Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Alternative Teacher Cert. Programs

Individuals who meet certain qualifications may earn a Missouri certificate of license to teach by completing a state-approved alternative teacher certification program at an institution of higher education in Missouri. These programs are designed for non-traditional students seeking Missouri teacher certification. Individuals should contact any of the following institutions for specific information regarding alternative certification in Missouri.

MO Programs with Approved Alternative Certification Programs-

Avila University
Kansas City, MO 64145
Alicia Murillo - Certification Officer
(816) 501-2465
alicia.murrillo@avila.edu

Columbia College
Columbia, MO 65216
Tammy Mann - Certification Officer
(573) 875-7632
tpmann@ccis.edu

Drury University
Springfield, MO 65802
Mary Bohlen - Certification Officer/Assessment Coordinator
(417) 873-7369
mbohlen@drury.edu

Fontbonne University
St. Louis, MO 63105
Jane Wolff - Certification Officer
(314) 889-4515
jwolff@fontbonne.edu

Hannibal-LaGrange University
​Hannibal, MO 63401
Jill Arnold - Director of Graduate and Online Programs
(573) 629-3103
JArnold@hlg.edu

Kansas City Teacher Residency
​Kansas City, MO 64105
Beth McMillan - Certification Officer
(816) 298-5660
beth@kcteach.org

Lindenwood University
​St. Charles, MO 63301
Tammy Moore - Chief Certification Officer
(636) 949-4379
tmoore@lindenwood.edu

Missouri State University 
Springfield, MO 65897
Kimberly Dubree - Certification Officer
(417) 836-5253
tco@missouristate.edu
 

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, MO 64468
Kim Hullinger - Certification Officer
(660) 562-1671
altcert@nwmissouri.edu

Saint Louis University
St. Louis, MO 63103
Amanda Chamberland - Certification Officer
(314) 977-3292
achamb10@slu.edu

Southeast Missouri State University (link coming soon)
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
Alicia Lincoln - Certification Officer
(573) 651-5932
aelincoln@semo.edu

Southwest Baptist University (link coming soon)
Bolivar, MO 65613
Kenneth Spurgeon - Certification Officer
(417) 328-1712
kspurgeon@sbuniv.edu

St. Louis Teacher Residency
St. Louis, MO 63118
Anne Lamb - Certification Officer
(314) 369-1384
alamb@stlteach.org

University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093-5150
Bill Runyan - Director, Clinical Services & Certification
(660) 543-8441
clinicalsvs@ucmo.edu

University of Missouri - Columbia
Columbia, MO 65211
Margaret Harl - Certification Officer
(573) 882-4500
harlm@missouri.edu

University of Missouri-St Louis 
St. Louis, MO 63121
Ellen Meadows - Alternative certification
(314) 516-7697
meadowse@umsl.edu

William Jewell College (link coming soon)
Liberty, MO 64068
Dr. Donna Gardner - Certification Officer
(816) 415-7622
gardnerd@william.jewell.edu

individuals should contact the institutions for specific information regarding alternative certification programs.