Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

State Finalists & Candidates

2021 Missouri Teacher of the Year Finalists

School districts throughout the state submitted nominations for the award, and the finalists were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). The finalists were selected from among 34 regional teachers of the year.

In addition to the 2021 Missouri Teacher of the Year Darrion Cockrell, there were six additional finalists in the 2021 class:

Armando Johnson
Springfield R-XII

Ashlyn Brantley
Platte Co. R-III

Matthew Ketteman
Lees's Summit R-VII


Rebecca Wynne
Maryville R-II
Cathy Farrar
Rockwood R-VI
Clarence Hines
Special School District