State Names Gold Star Schools in Education


Eight high-achieving public schools were named Gold Star Schools by Missouri education officials today.

The Gold Star Schools program is designed to identify schools that are performing at a high level academically or who are making exceptional progress while serving a significant proportion of disadvantaged students.

The 2013 recipients are:

  • Bolivar High School, Bolivar R-I School District
  • Brentwood High School, Brentwood School District
  • Lee's Summit West High School, Lee's Summit R-VII School District
  • Nixa High School, Nixa R-II School District
  • Sappington Elementary School, Lindbergh Schools, St. Louis
  • Spokane High School, Spokane R-VII School District, Highlandville
  • Willow Springs High School, Willow Springs R-IV School District
  • W.W. Keysor Elementary School, Kirkwood R-VII School District

“Congratulations to these schools on preparing students for college and career,” said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. “College- and career-readiness is fundamental for today’s students and lays the foundation for lifelong success.”

College- and career-readiness is a primary goal for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education's Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for education in Missouri to rank in the top 10 nationwide by 2020.

The Gold Star Schools program was established by the Department in 1991 and aligns with the national Blue Ribbon Schools program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Recipients of the state’s award were nominated for national Blue Ribbon recognition. Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced this fall by the U.S. Department of Education.