State Board Authorizes Extension for Normandy Joint Executive Governing Board


The State Board of Education today recertified the Joint Executive Governing Board (JEGB) for three years, effective July 1. DESE staff conducted a review of the Normandy Schools Collaborative (NSC) in the areas of academic achievement, culture and climate, improvement planning, educator effectiveness, and financial stability.

“We looked at how we could make our systems more coherent,” said Dr. Charles Pearson, NSC superintendent. “Everyone in the organization now knows how leadership connects to a collaborative culture, connects to curriculum and assessment, and how all that informs instruction.”

The extension includes the reappointment of four JEGB members and the appointment of one new member. All members are residents of St. Louis:

  • Richard Ryffel, current member
  • Reverend Cedric Portis, Sr., current member
  • Sheila Williams, current member
  • Pamela Westbrooks-Hodge, current member
  • Sara Foster, new member

The JEGB and the NSC were initially created in 2014 when the State Board lapsed the Normandy School District. Missouri law requires that the State Board review and recertify the alternative form of governance every three years.

“There have been very positive moves over the last three years,” said State Board Vice President Vic Lenz. “I am thrilled that we are making this go on for another three years because I would love to see continued improvement.”

The JEGB is required to make quarterly reports to the State Board. The NSC is currently unaccredited, and the JEGB is charged with providing leadership and governance to set academic achievement expectations and a timeline for reaching full accreditation.