Missouri Announces 2016 Gold Star Schools

Thu 06/02/16 - 12:23

The Department named the recipients of this year's Gold Star Schools on Thursday. The program recognizes schools that perform at high academic levels or that perform at high levels while serving a significant proportion of disadvantaged students.

There are eight winning schools:

  • Adrian Elementary, Adrian R-III School District
  • Chapel Hill Elementary, North Kansas City 74 School District
  • Fairway Elementary, Rockwood R-VI School District
  • Harry S. Truman Elementary, Webb City R-VII School District
  • James E. Freer Elementary, Windsor C-1 School District
  • Lucy Franklin Elementary, Blue Springs R-IV School District
  • Richland High School, Richland R-I School District
  • William Yates Elementary, Blue Springs R-IV School District

“The hard work put forth by the faculty, staff, and students at these eight schools deserves our recognition,” said Missouri Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven. “Their dedication is a testament to continued progress in Missouri public schools, as we share one goal of having all Missouri children graduate college and career ready.”

The Gold Star Schools program was established by the Department in 1991 and aligns with the national Blue Ribbon Schools program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. The Gold Star Schools program uses the same criteria for nomination as the National Blue Ribbon Schools program. Recipients of the State’s award were nominated for national Blue Ribbon recognition. Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced this fall by the U.S. Department of Education.