U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Honors Three Missouri Seniors

May 10, 2023

Three Missouri high school seniors were selected as members of the 59th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars along with 161 students from across the country. The president recognized the outstanding students listed below for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

  • Diep H. Phan, Farmington — Farmington High School
  • Hannah N. Rice*, Brunswick — Brunswick R-II High School
  • Max Yang, St. Louis — Ladue Horton Watkins High School

This federal program has honored more than 8,000 of the nation’s top-performing students since its inception in 1964. The Presidential Scholars Class of 2023 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement later this summer.

“This is such an esteemed honor, and I applaud Hannah, Diep, and Max for their hard work and impressive achievements,” said Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “The rigorous coursework these students have committed to has paid off and will continue to do so as they pursue their chosen paths to success.”

Just over 5,000 of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year qualified for the 2023 awards. Candidates were recognized for outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, or through nominations by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations, and the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide program.

A full list of 2023 honorees and more information about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program can be reviewed at http://www.ed.gov/psp. ​​​​​​​

*U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education