White House Recognizes Four Missouri Educators

Fri 08/26/16 - 08:33

Four Missouri teachers were recognized as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) this week, as the White House announced more than 200 winners nationwide from the 2014 and 2015 nominating years.

Nancy McClintock (Science, Center for Creative Learning, Rockwood R-VI School District), Katherine Schack (Mathematics, Lakeview Elementary, Wentzville R-IV School District), Carol Robertson (Science, Fulton High School, Fulton 58 School District) and Deanna Wasman (Mathematics, Hickman High School, Columbia 93 School District) will be acknowledged at a national awards ceremony in Washington, DC on September 8.

Schack and Wasman continue to serve in their current classroom roles, while McClintock and Robertson have retired from public education.

“The recipients of this award are integral to ensuring our students are equipped with critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are vital to our Nation’s success,” President Obama said. “As the United States continues to lead the way in the innovation that is shaping our future, these excellent teachers are preparing students from all corners of the country with the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics skills that help keep us on the cutting-edge.”

The PAEMST award honors the Nation’s top K-12 mathematics and science teachers on a two-year rotating cycle. The program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House.

“Congratulations to these four outstanding educators,” Missouri Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven said. “These teachers have found ways to connect with students and advance learning in these important STEM fields. Their hard work is helping Missouri reach its long-term goal of ensuring every student is college and career ready.”

A total of 213 mathematics and science teachers – representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity schools – will each receive a $10,000 award from the NSF to be used at their discretion. To learn more about these extraordinary teachers, please visit http://recognition.paemst.org.