Two Missouri Students Recognized as U.S. Presidential Scholars

Thu 05/07/20 - 15:24

Missouri high school students Sujay Murali (Marquette High School; Rockwood R-VI) and Kimberley Tran (Clayton High School; Clayton) will join the 55th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars. U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced Tuesday morning that a total of 161 seniors from across the country were recognized for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,200 candidates nationwide qualified for the 2019 awards. They were recognized for outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams, or through nominations by state departments of education and other recognition organizations, including the National YoungArts Foundation. Students must also display evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Eight additional students from Missouri were selected previously as semifinalists:

  • Eleanor Bentley (Springfield Catholic High School)
  • Arianna Gail Sy Chaves (Francis Howell North High School; Francis Howell R-III)
  • Matthew Fan (John Burroughs School)
  • Nathan Gentry (Blue Springs South High School; Blue Springs R-IV)
  • Andrew Hunt (Ladue Horton Watkins High School; Ladue)
  • Stephanie Monson (Francis Howell Central High School; Francis Howell R-III)
  • Molly Wooster (Lee’s Summit West High School; Lee’s Summit R-VII)
  • Muyue Yang (Marquette High School; Rockwood R-VI)

“We commend these well-rounded students for their accomplishments,” said Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Margie Vandeven. “Their hard work has paid off through recognition of one of the nation’s top honors. We are eager to follow their success as they are set to graduate and enter the next chapter of their lives.”

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 7,500 of the nation’s top-performing students with an annual ceremony in Washington D.C. This year’s event will be held on June 23, when each honoree will receive a Presidential Scholar medallion.

A complete list of 2019 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available at