Two Missouri Educators Recognized by White House


Missouri educators Christina Hwande and Tamara Stine were each awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) by the White House and National Science Foundation earlier this week. They are among more than 140 individuals who received recognition this year.

Hwande is an Elementary Science Specialist and K-5 science teacher at Ralph M. Captain Elementary (Clayton). Stine works as a numeracy coach and elementary math teacher at Bowerman Elementary (Springfield R-XII) after having spent 16 years at Ozark South Elementary (Ozark R-VI). They will each receive a visit to the nation’s capital to be acknowledged during a series of professional events. All award recipients will receive a presidential citation and participate in discussions on STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education priorities. In addition, Hwande and Stine will receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, which manages the PAEMST programs on behalf of the White House.

“We are extremely proud of these two educators for their dedication to Missouri students,” Interim Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Dr. Roger Dorson said. “They have demonstrated excellence in their fields and have helped spark a love for learning in Missouri’s students.”

Awardees represent schools in all 50 U.S. states, Department of Defense Education Activity schools and schools in the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marina Islands and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest award K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers can receive from the U.S. government. The award alternates years between K-6 and 7-12 grade teachers. This year marks the 35th anniversary of the PAEMST awards.

To learn more about the PAEMST award, and to learn more about the teachers selected, please visit