Sixteen High School Students Receive State Citizenship Award


Sixteen public high school seniors were honored Tuesday by the State Board of Education and The Missouri Bar as recipients of the 2013 Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award.

The students were recognized at a luncheon in Jefferson City where they were presented with a plaque and a certificate recognizing them as members of the American Bar Association Honor Roll for citizenship.

"This award recognizes Missouri students who exemplify the qualities of great citizenship," said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "Their knowledge of civics and government and involvement in their school and community will serve them well in the future.

The awards were presented by Deputy Commissioner of Education Ron Lankford; Kristen Morrow, chairman of the Advisory Committee on Citizenship Education; Patrick Starke, president of The Missouri Bar; and Sebrina Barrett, executive director of The Missouri Bar.

Educators and members of The Missouri Bar’s Advisory Committee on Citizenship Education reviewed the nominations and selected the winners.

Every public high school in Missouri is eligible to nominate one senior for the award, which has been presented annually since 1990. Students are selected on the basis of their academic achievement in civics and government courses, performance in civics and government-related extracurricular activities, and exemplary community service. Students also must submit an essay about the importance of citizenship to them and to the nation.

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education conducts the awards competition with assistance and financial support from The Missouri Bar.

For more information about the Outstanding Citizenship Award, contact Bill Gerling, social studies consultant for the Department at 573-751-0398, or Millie Aulbur, director of law-related education for The Missouri Bar at 573-635-4128.