Six Finalists Selected for 2015-16 Missouri Teacher of the Year

Tue 09/01/15 - 08:06

Finalists have been announced for the 2015-16 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. Nominations for the award were submitted by school districts throughout the state, and the finalists were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Department.

There are six finalists for the honor:

  • Kimberly Dailey, special education teacher at Lindbergh High School, St. Louis, through Special School District of St. Louis County.
  • Michael Dragoni, visual arts teacher at Buder Elementary School, St. Ann, Ritenour School District.
  • Linda Glasgow, 3rd grade teacher at John Nowlin Elementary, Blue Springs, Blue Springs R-IV School District.
  • Amy Krinke, music teacher at Lee’s Summit West High School, Lee’s Summit R-7 School District.
  • Yulia Kotets, English language learner specialist at Willow Brook Elementary, Saint Louis, Pattonville R-III School District.
  • Melissa Nussbaum, 7th grade science teacher at Truman Middle School, St. Louis, Lindbergh Schools.

The Missouri Teacher of the Year program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing a quality education to their students. Preparing, developing and supporting effective educators is a primary goal of the Department's Top 10 by 20 initiative, Missouri’s effort to rank among the top 10 performing states in education in the nation by the year 2020.

The selection committee, made up of teachers, business leaders and education organization leaders, will choose the Missouri Teacher of the Year following interviews with each finalist on Sept. 14. The winner and the finalists will be honored at a banquet Oct. 26 in Jefferson City. The new Missouri Teacher of the Year will serve as the state’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Missouri's current Teacher of the Year is Chris Holmes, journalism teacher at Hazelwood West High School in Hazelwood.

The Department conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and the Monsanto Fund.