Seven Missouri Public Schools Named Blue Ribbon Schools


Seven public schools in Missouri have been honored as 2014 Blue Ribbon Schools, the U.S. Department of Education announced on Tuesday.

Missouri's Blue Ribbon Schools are:

  • Concord Elementary, Lindbergh School District
  • Festus Elementary, Festus R-VI School District
  • Henry Elementary, Parkway C-2 School District
  • Lincoln College Prep, Kansas City 33 School District
  • Long Elementary School, Lindbergh School District
  • Mason Ridge Elementary School, Parkway C-2 School District
  • North Glendale Elementary School, Kirkwood R-VII School District

The national award recognizes schools whose students achieve at very high levels or who have made significant progress to close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

“Being named a Blue Ribbon School is one of the highest honors a school can receive,” said Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris Nicastro. “Administrators and teachers are working hard to provide students with the knowledge and skills needed to be ready for college, postsecondary training and a career. Everyone’s efforts are to be commended.”

College and career readiness is a primary goal of the state's Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for Missouri to rank among the top 10 performing states nationally in education by the year 2020.

These seven schools were honored earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, which is conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

More than 7,000 schools across the country have been honored as Blue Ribbon Schools since the program was founded in 1982. The state and national programs are part of a larger effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school-leadership and teaching practices.

The winners will be recognized November 10-11 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.