Schools to be Recognized for Professional Learning


Several Missouri schools are set to be honored this week for their commitment to professional learning.

Sixteen schools from across the state have been named Professional Learning Communities Exemplary Schools for outstanding performance in implementing professional learning. The schools, which promote cultures focused on collaborative learning while effectively using data to increase student achievement, will be recognized during the Powerful Learning Conference Jan. 25-26 at Lake of the Ozarks.

The 2015-16 award winners are:

  • Blanchard Elementary School, Cape Girardeau 63 School District
  • Bismarck R-V Elementary School, Bismarck R-V School District
  • David H. Hickman High School, Columbia 93 School District
  • Eagle Glen Intermediate School, Raymore-Peculiar R-II School District
  • Garrett Elementary School, Hazelwood School District
  • Highland Elementary School, Lewis County C-1 School District
  • Julia Goldstein Early Childhood, School District of University City
  • Martin Warren Elementary School, Warrensburg R-VI School District
  • McIntire Elementary School, Fulton 58 School District
  • Montgomery County Middle School, Montgomery County R-II School District
  • Raymore Elementary School, Raymore-Peculiar R-II School District
  • Reeds Spring Intermediate School, Reeds Spring R-IV School District
  • Reeds Spring Primary School, Reeds Spring R-IV School District
  • Russell Hawkins Junior High School, Jackson R-II School District
  • Southview Elementary School, Kearney R-I School District
  • Warrensburg High School, Warrensburg R-VI School District

Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven will present school leaders with their awards. More than 1,600 educators from around the state are expected to attend the conference.

“These educators are focused on creating schools that foster growth and enhance learning opportunities for their children," Vandeven said.

The Missouri Professional Learning Communities Project began during the 2003-04 school year.

Supporting, preparing and developing effective educators is one of the primary goals of Missouri’s Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for Missouri to rank among the top 10 states for education by 2020.