No Change in Leadership for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education


In a closed meeting today, the Missouri Board of Education discussed potential personnel changes for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. The motion to remove Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven as head of the agency failed in a 4-4 vote. Eddy Justice, Doug Russell, Sonny Jungmeyer and Jennifer Edwards voted for the leadership change. Board President Charlie Shields, Vice President Vic Lenz, Mike Jones and Claudia Oñate Greim voted against the motion.

“I look forward to the focus returning to educating our children,” said Commissioner Vandeven.

The next meeting of the State Board of Education is set for Friday, Dec. 1, in Jefferson City at the regular meeting location on the first floor of 205 Jefferson St.