Missouri Teachers Named Finalists for Presidential Teaching Award


Ten Missouri teachers have been selected as finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The 2016 state finalists come from kindergarten through sixth grades, as the PAEMST award honors the nation’s best K-12 mathematics and science teachers on a two-year rotating cycle. Nominations may be submitted by anyone, with the application consisting of three components: administrative, narrative, and video. The awards program, administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House, convenes local selection committees at the state level for selection to the national finals.

The Missouri state finalists include:

  • Shannon Appelbaum, Science, Kirkwood R-VII School District
  • Miranda Dix, Mathematics, Kirkwood R-VII School District
  • Chris Hwande, Science, Clayton School District
  • Stephanie Knight, Science, Hazelwood School District
  • Kasey Lann, Mathematics, Wentzville R-IV School District
  • Lisa McPherson, Science, Hazelwood School District
  • Shelley Paul, Science, McDonald County R-I School District
  • Stephany Russell, Mathematics, Meadville R-IV School District
  • Tammy Stine, Mathematics, Ozark R-VI School District
  • Kendra Watson, Mathematics, Albany R-III School District

“These awardees are making strong contributions to their classrooms by instilling science and math skills in their students,” Missouri Commissioner of Education Dr. Margie Vandeven said. “Congratulations to these ten educators on their selection as a Missouri state finalist for the PAEMST award.”

Up to 108 teachers nationwide will receive the 2016 PAEMST awards, with two teachers – mathematics or science – from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories, and schools operated by the United States overseas eligible for selection. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees will receive a trip to Washington, D.C., a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, and a Presidential certificate.