Missouri Teacher of the Year Finalists Chosen for 2017-18


Finalists have been named for the 2017-18 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. School districts throughout the state submitted nominations for the award, and the finalists were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). The finalists were selected from among 32 regional teachers of the year.

There are six finalists:
Tracy Brosch, Sunrise R-IX (gifted/STEM/writing, Sunrise Elementary)
Beth Davey, Ritenour (music, Iveland Elementary)
Daniel Gutierrez, Springfield R-XII (vocal music, Reed Academy)
Matthew Horn, University City (social studies, University City High School)
Ed Kappeler, Meramec Valley R-III (language arts and speech, Pacific High School)
Megan Vallis, Lindbergh Schools (library media, Truman Middle School)

A selection committee comprised of teachers, business leaders and education organization leaders will choose the Missouri Teacher of the Year following interviews with each finalist on August 29. The winner, finalists and Regional Teachers of the Year will be honored at a banquet in Jefferson City on October 30, 2017. The new Missouri Teacher of the Year will serve as the state’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year.

The Missouri Teacher of the Year program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing a quality education to their students. Missouri is committed to placing excellent educators in each classroom in our state.

DESE conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and the Monsanto Fund.