Missouri Students Shine at 2018 National Technology Student Association Conference


Missouri was well represented at the recent 2018 National Technology Student Association (TSA) Conference in Atlanta, Ga. The Missouri TSA delegation of 122 students and 41 advisors from 28 middle and high schools participated in leadership development activities through the LEAP (Leadership. Education. Achievement. Personal Growth.) program and learned about community service while connecting with peers from neighboring states and across the country. 

“Our Missouri students and adults clearly demonstrated the leadership qualities promoted by TSA that are sought by schools, business and industry,” said Tom Schlimpert, Missouri TSA state advisor. “The Missouri delegation exemplifies TSA’s motto of ‘Learning to lead in a technical world’ on a national level.”

Two of six newly elected 2018-19 national TSA officers are from Carl Junction High School (Carl Junction R-I).  Audrey Garoutte was elected as national TSA secretary, while Ashley Stokes is the new national TSA sergeant-at-arms.

“This is a hallmark accomplishment,” said Schlimpert. “In the 40-year history of TSA, Missouri has had three national TSA officers. Now in one year, we have two more.”

These are the additional Missouri highlights from the conference:

  • Robert Stokes, current Missouri TSA Board member and State Officer Advisor from Carl Junction R-I, received the Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award, national TSA’s highest honor.  Robert has given decades of service to TSA, serving as national president and multiple other positions, earning awards, and advising Oklahoma and Kansas TSA chapters—all while continuously leading and investing in Missouri TSA.
  • Ian Apple of Butler High School (Butler R-V) earned the TSA Technology Honor Society Award, recognizing TSA student members who excel in academics, leadership, and service to their school and community.
  • Alexis Dyser of Liberty North High School (Liberty 53) won first place in the Photographic Technology competition.
  • Top-10 competitive event finalists include Charles Moloney, Northgate Middle School (North Kansas City 74), CAD Foundations; Ashley Stokes, Carl Junction High School (Carl Junction R-I), Extemporaneous Speech; and Audrey Garoutte, Carl Junction High School (Carl Junction R-I), Promotional Design. Teams from Cross Keys Middle School (Ferguson-Florissant R-II) and New Mark Middle School (North Kansas City 74) also secured top-10 places in Junior Solar Sprint and Medical Technology competitions, respectively.
  • TSA chapters at Adrian Middle School (Adrian R-III)with Jim Hogan as advisor, and Troy Buchanan High School (Troy R-III)with Ted Wilkinson as advisor, received TSA Chapter Excellence Awards.
  • Tim Helvey of Hancock Place Middle School (Hancock Place) was recognized as the Missouri Middle School Chapter Advisor of the Year, while Dathan Boden of Liberty High School (Liberty 53) was named the Missouri High School Chapter Advisor of the Year.

For the second consecutive year, the Missouri TSA delegation initiated the only amendment to the national by-laws passed by the voting delegation.

The Technology Student Association (TSA) is a national, non-profit organization of middle and high school students who are engaged in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Since TSA was chartered in 1978, nearly four million student members have participated through challenging competitions, leadership opportunities, and community service. With a current membership of more than 250,000 students, TSA provides opportunities in more than 60 STEM-related competitive events, leadership development, tests of engineering aptitude, mathematics and science (TEAMS), TSA VEX Robotics Competition, and the U.S. Army-sponsored Junior Solar Sprint competition and UNITE summer program.