Missouri Schools to be Recognized for Exemplary Professional Learning Opportunities


Nineteen Missouri schools will be honored during the 2019 Powerful Learning Conference for their commitment to professional learning opportunities for students. This year’s event will be held Jan. 28-29 at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, and more than 1,600 Missouri educators are expected to attend.

DESE assistant commissioner Chris Neale will present awards to nine schools that have been named Exemplary Professional Learning Communities Schools for promoting cultures focused on collaborative learning while effectively using data to increase student achievement.

“It is exciting to recognize these school leaders and teachers who are passionate about the long-term success of their students,” Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Margie Vandeven said. “They rise to the occasion every day to ensure that our future generation continues to move Missouri forward.”

The following are 2018-19 Exemplary Schools:

  • Cameron High School – Cameron R-I School District
  • Crocker High School – Crocker R-II School District
  • Laurence J. Daly Elementary School – Fayette R-III School District
  • Fulton Middle School – Fulton 58 School District
  • A.D. Stowell Elementary School – Hannibal 60 School District
  • Perryville Sr. High School – Perry County 32 School District
  • Helena Elementary School – Savannah R-III School District
  • Scotland County Elementary School – Scotland County R-I School District
  • Westview Elementary School – Westview C-6 School District

In addition, 10 schools that continue to maintain implementation of Professional Learning Communities (PLC) standards are being honored as Sustaining Exemplary Professional Learning Communities Schools. Leaders in each of the schools collaboratively prepared a narrative describing how they have sustained practices since their original Exemplary designation. They shared specific data to show that student achievement has either been maintained at a high level or grown since the implementation of PLC practices.

DESE deputy commissioners Roger Dorson and Stacey Preis, along with Rob Gordon, Missouri PLC field coordinator, will present the awards to the following schools:

  • Bismarck Elementary School – Bismarck R-V School District
  • David HHickman High School – Columbia 93 School District
  • McIntire Elementary School – Fulton 58 School District
  • Garrett Elementary School – Hazelwood School District
  • Russell Hawkins JrHigh School – Jackson R-II School District
  • Highland Elementary School – Lewis County C-1 School District
  • Reeds Spring Primary School – Reeds Spring R-IV School District
  • Julia Goldstein Early Childhood Education Center – University City School District
  • Martin Warren Elementary School – Warrensburg R-VI School District
  • Warrensburg High School – Warrensburg R-VI School District

The Missouri Professional Learning Communities Project began during the 2003-04 school year. Supporting, preparing and developing effective educators is one of the priorities of Show Me Success, Missouri’s strategic plan for education.