Missouri High School Seniors Receive Citizenship Awards


Eight public high school students were honored as recipients of the 2015 Outstanding Achievement in Citizenship Award. The honorees were recognized at an April luncheon at The Missouri Bar in Jefferson City.

Representatives from the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, the State Board of Education and The Missouri Bar presented the awards. Each student received a plaque.

“It is important that students take an active role in their community while gaining an understanding of the principles of government,” said Missouri Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “These students are to be commended for their hard work in the classroom and community.”

The citizenship award recipients are:

  • Tyler Adams, South Callaway R-I High School
  • Emma Cook, Meadow Heights High School
  • Jake Eovaldi, Parkway South High School
  • Cameron Leahy, Fort Zumwalt South High School
  • Jessica Oliphant, Webster Groves High School
  • Sarah Veri, Carl Junction R-I High School
  • Benjamin Vickers, El Dorado Springs R-II High School
  • Tommie Walsh, Southern Boone High School

Each public high school in Missouri is eligible to nominate one senior for the award. Students are selected for the award on the basis of their academic achievement in civics and government courses, performance in civics and government-related extracurricular activities and exemplary community service. Students also must submit an essay about the importance of citizenship.

Educators and members of The Missouri Bar’s Advisory Committee on Citizenship Education reviewed the nominations and selected the winners. The Missouri General Assembly established the citizenship award in 1990. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education conducts the awards competition with assistance and financial support from the Missouri Bar. Pictures from the luncheon are available here.