Missouri Announces 2017 Gold Star Schools

Wed 05/24/17 - 08:16

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education has named the recipients of this year’s Gold Star Schools. The program recognizes schools that perform at high academic levels or that perform at high levels while serving a significant proportion of disadvantaged students.

There are eight winning schools:

  • Atlanta Elementary, Atlanta C-3 School District
  • Chesterfield Elementary, Rockwood R-VI School District
  • Fox Hill Elementary, North Kansas City 74 School District
  • Mallinckrodt Academy of Gifted Instruction, St. Louis City School District
  • Mark Twain Elementary, Brentwood School District
  • Rock Port Elementary, Rock Port R-II School District
  • University Academy-Upper School, University Academy
  • Voy Spears, Jr. Elementary, Blue Springs R-IV School District

“Congratulations to the students, faculty and staff at these eight schools for earning this recognition,” said Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “Their hard work reflects Missouri’s continuing effort to prepare all students for success in school and after graduation.”

The Gold Star Schools program was established by the Department in 1991 and aligns with the national Blue Ribbon Schools program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. The Gold Star Schools program uses the same criteria for nomination as the National Blue Ribbon Schools program. Recipients of the State’s award were nominated for national Blue Ribbon recognition. Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced this fall by the U.S. Department of Education.