Joplin High School Teacher Wins Prestigious Milken Award


Tobin Schultz, a social studies teacher and varsity football defensive coordinator at Joplin High School, was surprised today with a Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award and an unrestricted cash prize of $25,000.

Schultz received the award at a school assembly. Dr. Ron Lankford, deputy commissioner of education, was there to take part in the surprise presentation.

“I think it would be very hard to find a more driven, compassionate and successful educator than Tobin Schultz,” said Dr. Kerry Sachetta, principal of Joplin High School. “Teachers at the high school level who can be equally successful with the highly at-risk student, as well as the highly motivated and academically minded student, are very special.”

Schultz has been an educator for 11 years. He received a bachelor’s degree in education from William Woods University in Fulton and earned a master’s degree in education from Missouri Southern State University in Joplin.

Prior to coming to Joplin High School, Schultz taught social studies and coached football at Carthage High School. While there, he was named CHS Teacher of the Quarter and CHS Principal’s Wisdom and Integrity Award winner.

Joplin High School Superintendent Dr. C.J. Huff said, “I’ve been in education administration for 15 years. I’ve met many amazing educators. I’ve yet to meet anyone who gets so much out of our young adults and works so diligently to grow them as students, leaders and citizens. I can think of no one more deserving for this honor.”

Missouri has been participating in the Milken Awards since 1996. Since then, a total of 44 Missouri educators have been honored with the Milken prize. Recipients join the Milken Educator Network, a group of distinguished educators fostering effective educational leadership.

Preparing, developing and supporting effective educators is a primary goal of Missouri’s Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for Missouri to rank among the top ten states in educational performance by 2020.