Eight Public Schools in Missouri Earn National Blue Ribbon Honors


Eight public schools in Missouri have been selected as 2013 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education. A total of 286 schools ‒ 236 public and 50 private ‒ earned national honors this year, according to an announcement made Tuesday by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Missouri's Blue Ribbon Schools are:

  • Bolivar High School, Bolivar R-I School District
  • Brentwood High School, Brentwood School District
  • Lee's Summit West High School, Lee's Summit R-VII School District
  • Nixa High School, Nixa R-II School District
  • Sappington Elementary School, Lindbergh Schools, St. Louis
  • Spokane High School, Spokane R-VII School District, Highlandville
  • Willow Springs High School, Willow Springs R-IV School District
  • W.W. Keysor Elementary School, Kirkwood R-VII School District

The national award honors schools whose students achieve at very high levels or who have made significant progress to close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

"Congratulations to the administrators, teachers and students on this achievement," said Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "Their dedication to improving education helps provide students with the knowledge and skills they need to be successful in college, other postsecondary training and a career."

College and career readiness is a primary goal of the state's Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for Missouri to rank among the top 10 performing states in the nation in education by the year 2020.

The Blue Ribbon award recipients were also recognized earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Since 1982, nearly 7,500 of America’s schools have received the Blue Ribbon Schools Award. The state and national programs are part of a larger effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school-leadership and teaching practices.

This year’s Blue Ribbon Schools winners will be formally recognized November 18-19 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.