DESE Names 2018-19 Missouri Regional Teachers of the Year

Tue 07/17/18 - 08:20

The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) announced the 2018-19 Regional Teachers of the Year as part of the Missouri Teacher of the Year program. Committees comprised of peers and key stakeholders for each Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) area selected the 32 teachers, who are each now eligible for the 2019 Missouri teacher of the year award.

Agency for Teaching, Leading, and Learning

  • Jean Lawson, Springfield R-XII – special education, Truman Elementary
  • Sarah Miesner, Nixa Public Schools – second grade, John Thomas School of Discovery
  • Jacque Rice, Dallas Co. R-I – instructional technology, Buffalo Middle School

Central RPDC

  • Caroline Askew, Chilhowee R-IV – library media, Chilhowee Elementary, Chilhowee High School
  • Aimee Bredehoeft, Concordia R-II – art, Concordia Elementary, Concordia High School

Heart of Missouri

  • Christina Cosgrove, Warren Co. R-III – fourth grade, Daniel Boone Elementary
  • Julie Ellis, Montgomery Co. R-II – English language arts, Montgomery Co. High School
  • Robyn Frame, Fulton 58 – kindergarten, Bartley Elementary

Kansas City RPDC

  • Anne Braun, Lee’s Summit R-VII – fifth/sixth grade, Woodland Elementary
  • Debra Fremouw, Fort Osage R-I – English language arts, Osage Trail Middle School
  • Elizabeth Hart, Belton 124 – special education, Kentucky Trail Elementary
  • Arjun Ravindran, Kansas City 33 – mathematics, Central Middle School
  • Kate Rettig, Liberty 53 – third grade, Lillian Schumacher Elementary
  • Lori Williams, Independence 30 – kindergarten/first grade, Three Trails Elementary

Northeast RPDC

  • Robyn Howell, Macon Co. R-I – library media, Macon High School

Northwest RPDC

  • Kirsten Applegate, Stanberry R-II – seventh/eighth grade, Stanberry Elementary, Stanberry High School

South Central RPDC

  • Amber Galiher, West Plains R-VII – kindergarten, West Plains Elementary
  • Sarah Grodie, Meramec Valley R-III – kindergarten, Zitzman Elementary

Southeast RPDC

  • Christie Kenedy, New Madrid Co. R-I – fifth grade, Matthews Elementary
  • Rhett Oldham, Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II – history, Ste. Genevieve Middle School

Southwest Center

  • Tobin Schultz, Carl Junction R-I – business/social studies/marketing, Carl Junction High School
  • Ruth Wydick, Lamar R-I – special education, West Elementary

St. Louis

  • Scott Borcherding, Hazelwood – mathematics, Hazelwood West High School
  • Stacy Castro, Valley Park – kindergarten, Valley Park Elementary
  • Jennifer Luker, Confluence Academies – social science, Confluence Preparatory Academy
  • Shelly Parks, Francis Howell R-III – English, Francis Howell North High School
  • Jennifer Riesenmy, Ladue – English as a second language, Old Bonhomme Elementary
  • Fawn Ruch, Northwest R-I – art, Northwest High School
  • Albert Sanders, St. Louis City – pre-K, Adams Elementary
  • Danielle Stilts, Parkway C-2 – library media, Highcroft Ridge Elementary
  • Laura Thomas, Lindbergh Schools – mathematics, Lindbergh Sr. High School
  • Katherine Zak, Wentzville R-IV – first grade, Lakeview Elementary

The Regional Teacher of the Year program began in 2016 in an effort to celebrate outstanding teachers from all areas of the state. The Missouri Teacher of the Year for 2018-19 will be selected in August. The program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing a quality education to their students. Beth Davey, a music teacher from Iveland Elementary (Ritenour) is the current Missouri Teacher of the Year.

DESE conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and the Monsanto Fund.