Welcome to the new dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the new and improved website, and we welcome your feedback.

Alternative Teacher Cert. Programs

Individuals who meet certain qualifications may earn a Missouri certificate of license to teach by completing a state-approved alternative teacher certification program at an institution of higher education in Missouri. These programs are designed for non-traditional students seeking Missouri teacher certification. Individuals should contact any of the following institutions for specific information regarding alternative certification in Missouri.
 

MO Institutions with Approved Alternative Certification Programs

Columbia College
Columbia, MO 65216
Contact:Tammy Mann

Certification Officer
Phone: (573) 875-7632
E-mail: tpmann@ccis.edu

Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701-4799
Contact: Dr. Daryl Fridley
Alternative Coordinator, Assessment and Accreditation
Phone: (573) 651-2701
E-mail: dfridley@semo.edu

Drury University
Troops to Teachers

Springfield, MO 65802
Contact: Dr. Edward Williamson
Associate Professor
Phone: (573) 329-4400
E-mail: ewilliam@drury.edu

Saint Louis University
St Louis, MO 63108
Contact: Dr. Mary Dasovich
Chairperson
Phone: (314) 977-2493
E-mail: dasovich@slu.edu

Missouri State University
Springfield, MO 65897
Contact: Scott Fiedler,
Certification Officer, College of Education
Phone: (417) 836-8772
E-mail: ScottFiedler@MissouriState.edu

University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093-5150
Contact: Dr. Larry Reiter, Director
Clinical Services & Certification
Phone: (660) 543-4881
E-mail: lreiter@ucmo.edu

Missouri Western State University
St. Joseph, MO 64507
Contact: Robin Kelly
Assistant to the Chair
(816) 271-5951
E-mail: Rkelly@missouriwestern.edu

University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia, MO 65211
Contact: Lynn Carruth-Rasmussen,
Director, Academic Advising & Certification Services
Phone: (573) 882-5659
E-mail:umccoecertinfo@missouri.edu

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, MO 64468
Contact: Carla Mebane
Alternative Certification Coordinator
(660) 562-1855
E-mail: altcert@nwmissouri.edu

University of Missouri-St Louis
St. Louis, MO 63121
Contact: Ellen Meadows
Alternative certification
Phone: (314) 516-7697
E-mail: meadowse@umsl.edu

Park University
Parkville, MO 64152
Contact: Dr. Michelle Myers
Phone: (816) 584-6335
E-mail: education@park.edu

Rockhurst University
Kansas City, MO 64110
Contact: Dr. Mary Pat Shelledy
Phone: (816) 501-3538
E-mail: marypat.shelledy@rockhurst.edu 

Individuals should contact the institutions for specific information regarding alternative certification programs.