Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

State Finalists & Candidates

2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year Finalists

Finalists have been named for the 2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. School districts throughout the state submitted nominations for the award, and the finalists were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). The finalists were selected from among 32 regional teachers of the year.

In addition to the 2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year Shelly Parks, there were six additional finalists in the 2019 class:

Julie Ellis
English language arts
Montgomery Co. High School
Montgomery Co. R-II

Amber Galiher
West Plains Elementary
West Plains R-VIII

Elizabeth Hart
Special education
Kentucky Trail Elementary
Belton 124
Jean Lawson
Special education
Truman Elementary
Springfield R-XII
Rhett Oldham
Ste. Genevieve Middle School
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II
Tobin Schultz
Business/social studies
Carl Junction High School
Carl Junction R-I