Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.


You are here

Factors in Determining Eligibility

School districts have the option of identifying a child as eligible under the category of Young Child with a Developmental Delay (YCDD) or under one of the other fourteen eligibility categories that are used for children ages 5 to 21.  In order to be eligible under the YCDD category, the child's development must be at or below 1.5 standard deviations or equivalent levels, of the mean in any two areas of development, or at or below 2.0 standard deviations or equivalent levels in one area of development, and the child must need special education and related services.  Areas of development that can be used to determine eligibility include:

  • physical
  • cognitive
  • communication
  • social/emotional
  • adaptive

See Eligibility Criteria for more information

The next step

ECSE Services