Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Membership & Membership Appointment

Appointment of members will ensure that the following categories and the designated number of each are represented on the Blind Task Force.

  • Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (1)
  • Missouri School for the Blind (1)
  • Department of Social Services (DSS) (1)
  • Consumer organizations (NFB/MCB) (1 from each)
  • Teachers of the Visually Impaired (2)
  • Public School Special Education Administrators (2)
  • School Building Principals (2)
  • Current students (3) (a student currently enrolled in public secondary school. If the
  • student is completing a current term on the BTF, he/she could be attending a postsecondary school).
  • Parents of blind or visually impaired students attending public school in Missouri (3)
  • Employers (2)
  • Institutions of Higher Education (1)
  • Rehabilitation Council for the Blind (FSD) (1)
  • Orientation and Mobility Specialist (1)

Members shall be appointed by the Commissioner of Education, in cooperation with the Director, DSS. Members are appointed for a three (3) year term and may be reappointed for no more than three (3) consecutive terms. *Representatives of DESE, DSS, the Missouri School for the Blind, the State Rehabilitation Council for the Blind, and both consumer groups shall serve until a replacement is appointed by their organization.