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Extended Employment Sheltered Workshop Program 

December 12, 2019  

 

 
News: 

 
 On January 1st the new Missouri minimum wage will be $9.45. This could affect for your full and 

part-time staff. 
 

 New minimum wage posters are out in both English and Spanish and are attached in this email. 
 

 On January 1st the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will update the salary level test for overtime 
exempt status in the following ways: 

• Raising the exempt “standard salary level” from the current level of $455 per week to $684 per 
week (equivalent to $35,568 per year for a full-year worker, 

• Raising the total annual compensation requirement for exempt “highly compensated employees” 
from $100,000 per year to $107,432 per year; and 

• Allowing employers to use nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive payments (including 
commissions) paid at least annually to satisfy up to 10% of the exempt standard salary level, in 
recognition of evolving pay practices. 

For more information please see this link provided by Opportunity Workshop via Insurance for Non-
Profits: https://insurancefornonprofits.org/blog/flsa-overtime-exempt-salary-minimum-increases-on-
january-1-2020/   

 

New Directors, Managers and CEOs: 

 Earthwise Industries, Troy, MO: Ms. Gina Tackett (636)528-8869 gina@earthguys.com    
 

Application for a new sheltered workshop in Iron County: 
 
DESE has received an application for a new sheltered workshop based in Iron County, Missouri. The 
application has been reviewed and initial inspection of the location has been completed. We are currently 
waiting on the prospective Iron County Workshop Board to select a date, time, and location for the public 
hearing in accordance with the state regulations and laws.   
 
 
 

https://insurancefornonprofits.org/blog/flsa-overtime-exempt-salary-minimum-increases-on-january-1-2020/
https://insurancefornonprofits.org/blog/flsa-overtime-exempt-salary-minimum-increases-on-january-1-2020/
mailto:gina@earthguys.com
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DHSS Online Reporting Now Available for Adult Abuse, Neglect, and Financial Exploitation: 

Community Partners:  

In Missouri, during fiscal year 2019, the Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) received and 
investigated 39,144 reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation involving seniors and adults with disabilities 
living in the community and in long-term care facilities.   

The Department proudly announces the integration of a new online reporting system for mandated reporters 
which will ensure all concerns of abuse, neglect and financial exploitation of the elderly and adults with 
disabilities are reported quickly. 

The new Adult Abuse and Neglect Hotline online reporting system will allow for secure electronic 
submission of adult abuse, neglect and exploitation report information, from mandated reporters and public 
citizens into a secure, encrypted database available 24/7 on a web-based platform as an alternative to calling 
the Adult Abuse and Neglect Hotline.  

We ask all mandated reporters to please partner with us by entering reports online and allowing greater 
accessibility to the hotline for the public. In partnership, the Department would like to share the attached 
promotional flyer with you and encourage you to display it where it will serve as a reminder to mandated 
reporters.  

The Adult Abuse Hotline is operational from 7 a.m. until midnight, seven days a week, 365 days a year. If 
you suspect abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of the elderly or an adult with a disability call the Adult 
Abuse Hotline at (800) 392-0210 or visit www.health.mo.gov/abuse/ to report online. The online reporting 
system is available 24/7; however, it is only monitored by intake staff during the hotline’s hours of 
operation.  

If you have any questions regarding online reporting, please reach out to the Department at 573/751-2413 or 
DSDSOfficeofConstituentServices@health.mo.gov.   
 
Thank you for your partnership! 
 
Office of Constituent Services  
Division of Senior and Disability Services 
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 
P.O. Box 570 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
Phone:  573.751.2413 
Fax:  573.751.8687 
E-mail:  DSDSOfficeofConstituentServices@health.mo.gov  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 

https://apps4.mo.gov/APS_Portal/
https://health.mo.gov/safety/abuse/
http://www.health.mo.gov/abuse/
mailto:DSDSOfficeofConstituentServices@health.mo.gov
mailto:DSDSOfficeofConstituentServices@health.mo.gov


3 
       Extended Employment Sheltered Workshop Report 12/2019 

With all of Missouri’s 14c certificates due this year 2020 the following guidance has been issued:  
 
An increase in the applicable state minimum wage rate will most likely impact the prevailing wage rates 
used to determine commensurate wage rates. This may be the case even if the current prevailing wage rates 
exceed the new minimum wage rate. In the event of an increase in the applicable minimum wage 
requirements, to ensure that all workers are properly paid in compliance with the provisions of section 14(c), 
certificate holders must review each of the prevailing wage rates used to determine commensurate wage 
rates. There are two ways to adjust prevailing wage rates after a change in the minimum wage:  
 

(1) Conduct a prevailing wage survey and obtain new wage rates. 
Contact the sources from which you originally obtained prevailing wage rate information to determine 
the effect of the increase of the minimum wage on the wage rates of their experienced workers for the 
specific job you are surveying, or, if necessary, obtain current prevailing wage data from new sources. 
You should wait for the “ripple effect” of the increase, at least 30 but no more than 60 days after the 
minimum wage increases goes into effect.   Once you have completed your wage survey, you should 
adjust the wage rates of workers with disabilities.  The adjustment should be made retroactive to 30 days 
after (January 1st 2020) the date of the increase of the minimum wage rate or (February 1st 2020). You 
should make sure the updated experienced worker wage rates you collect reflect the new minimum 
wage. As with all prevailing wage surveys, you should document these survey contacts. 

 
(2) Calculate the percentage increase of the minimum wage and raise prevailing wage rates by the 

same percentage.  
If you make a blanket adjustment (2 above) to prevailing wage rates based on the percentage increase in 
the minimum wage. This change should be accomplished in the next complete pay period following the 
minimum wage increase. For example, if the minimum wage increased from $8.60 per hour to $9.45 per 
hour effective on February 1st, the percentage increase would be 0.0109% ($9.45 / $8.60 = 1.0988). In 
this example, you could adjust all prevailing wage rates in the first pay period following January 1st 
by % and not conduct a new prevailing wage rate survey until you would otherwise be required to do so 
to maintain your section 14(c) certificate. 

 
Continuing the example above, if your current prevailing wage rate used is $9.50 per hour and an hourly 
paid worker with disabilities has a productivity rating of 65% and is paid $6.18 per hour (0.65 × $9.50), 
you could adjust the prevailing wage rate to $10.44 per hour ($9.50 × 1.0988) and raise that worker’s 
commensurate wage rate to $6.786 or $6.79 per hour (0.65 × $10.44).  
To make this blanket adjustment to piece rates, multiply the existing piece rate by the percentage 
increase in the minimum wage. For example, if your current piece rate is $0.095 per piece, the adjusted 
piece rate would be $0.10439 ($0.095 × 1.0988 = $0.10439).  

 
Be sure to document the prevailing wage adjustment clearly in your records. 
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DESE-EESW Snapshot:  
 

  Employees     FTE      Hrs. Wkd        Wages Pd       Avg.Wage      Wait TBH    

Current              5722           4783         508,177       $2,635,955                $5.19            350 

*Last year           5953                4859         538,319       $2,622,381              $4.60______  286   

YTD       5777                     3,450,935     $ 15,374,624    $4.63   305 

*Last Year YTD     5904                             3,031,700       $12, 798,984              $4.36             269 

 

 
 
 

The Department of Health and Senior Services, which regulates the Medical Marijuana 
Program, states (as of Thursday 12/5/19) that the tentative dates, by type of license, are: 

• Testing facilities: Dec. 19. 
• Transportation facilities: Dec. 23. 
• Cultivation facilities: Dec. 26. 
• Infused products manufacturing facilities: Jan. 10. 
• Dispensary facilities: Jan. 24. 
• Seed to sale: Jan. 31. 

DHSS will issue 60 cultivation facilities, 192 dispensaries, 86 medical marijuana-infused manufacturing 
facilities, and 10 testing laboratories.  

 **** Currently 21,879 Missourians have received state cards allowing them to legally possess and use 
marijuana as medicine.  Yes they can medicate as of receiving - possessing their cards… 

Are your policies and training on recognizing impairment completed???  
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.stltoday.com/lifestyles/health-med-fit/a-doctor-s-ok-is-required-for-missouri-s-medical/article_ffff556a-059c-5215-966c-780dbf53977b.html
https://www.stltoday.com/lifestyles/health-med-fit/a-doctor-s-ok-is-required-for-missouri-s-medical/article_ffff556a-059c-5215-966c-780dbf53977b.html
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Safety: 
 
 
 Christmas fires  
Every year Christmas fires are a tragedy that effects every community in the nation. So much that 
FEMA, US Fire Administration and the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA) have jointly published 
this flyer…  FYI it is also the peak time for Cooking Fires …  
 

 
 
Dan Gier l Director  l Extended Employment Sheltered Workshops 


