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Extended Employment Sheltered Workshop Program 

August 10, 2018  

 

Budget 

FY19 (Current July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019): 

The workshops were fully funded  

 

DESE-EESW 

FY-19  

  Employees     FTE      Hrs. Wkd        Wages Pd       Mid Wage      Wait TBH    

Current             5991                4631        583,536      $2,594,559      $3.93  264 

Last year          6251                 4861          641,683     $2,560,412          $3.99 

YTD      6015         1,168,393      $5,148,575  $4.04  246 
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 Workshop Fire at Bates County Industries, Butler 

On Thursday August 9th in the morning, a fire broke out a Bates County Industries in Butler MO. Quick 

action by the staff got all employees out of the building before the fire department arrived. The center 

section of the building is a total loss with smoke and water damage done to the office and warehouse areas.  

The Board, Pam (the manager), and staff are making plans to continue the operation of the workshop as 

repairs are being made to the workshop building.        

 

Re: Activation of HB 1415 in regards to State Aid 
 
I hope that you are all aware by now the Governor has signed HB 1415 and approved the section that 
concerns how workshops receive state aid. 
 
The bill repealed section 178.930 and the enacted section 178.931.   
 
This has created a few problems by completely striking/repealing all of section 178.930 that requires some 
legal questions and the intent of the legislation to be answered.   
 
Therefore, the Department has decided that while these questions are being cleared up to pay using the old 
guidelines at the new rate of twenty-one dollars per six-hour day ($3.50 per hour) for up to and including 
thirty hours during a standard workweek (Monday through Friday) and up to and including six hours on 
Saturdays and/or Sundays. 
 

Other News 

Missouri Proposition B, the $12 Minimum Wage Initiative, is on the ballot in Missouri as an initiated 

state statute on November 6, 2018. 

The measure would increase the minimum wage from $7.85 (2018) to $8.60 in 2019; $9.45 in 2020; $10.30 

in 2021; $11.15 in 2022; and $12.00 in 2023. Thereafter, the minimum wage would increase or decrease 

each year based on changes in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers 

(CPI-W).[1] 

The full text of the initiative is available here 
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Chart on Proposition B 

 

Proposition B on the November Ballot                       
Raising Missouri’s Minimum Wage by 2023 

     

2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 

$8.60  $9.45  $10.30  $11.15  $12.00 

 

At  this time it looks like the exemption for the 14c Certificte Holders aka the Extended Employment 

Sheltered Workshop  remains in effect as specified in RsMo 290.500 to 290.530.  

 

Data Updates 
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VR summer 2018 visit results: 

 

 

114 Referrals to Vocational Rehabilitation (Outcomes – July 2018) 
Did not respond/refused services 41  Referral to RSB 0 
Guardian refused services 29  Incomplete referral in AWARE (being 

updated) 
15 

No showed/cancelled 9  Open Cases 6 
Appointment Scheduled – Pending 14    
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Percentage of IEP Grads and Drop Outs Hired directly into MO EE‐SW's  1.60% 

Total IEP Graduates  and Drop outs   7107 

Hired  into a MO  EE ‐ Sheltered Workshop   114 
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Please pre‐register by emailing the following information to Alan_schmitt@ajg.com 
1. Send the name of your workshop with a list of those attending 

2. Identify the location of the lunch & learn you plan on attending 
If you have any additional questions, please call Alan Schmitt at 314‐800‐2255 

 

 

 

Dan 

Dan Gier 
Director l Extended Employment Sheltered Workshops   


