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Extended Employment Sheltered Workshop Program 

September 10, 2018  

 

Budget 

FY19 (Current July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019): The workshops were fully funded  

 

DESE-EESW 

FY-19  

  Employees     FTE      Hrs. Wkd        Wages Pd       Avg.Wage      Wait TBH    

Current             5996                4634       651,150        $2,749,342      $3.93  272 

Last year           6017                 4848       581,818     $2,488,438              $4.19 

YTD      6009         1,819,543      $7,897,917  $4.04  251 
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NOTE 

 

DESE will, with the Payment in September (this week), include the following: 
  

A. Normal requested state aid will be paid   $2,245,445.16 @ $21 per 6 hour day or $3.50 per claimable hour.  
 Please note this is $148,720.16 over the $ 2,096,725.00 per month using the new legislative intent, 
therefore no additional monies will be allotted for this month /  August hours worked. 
   

B. The July additional monies using the 12 month method will be included in this drop = $ 1,379,184.14.   This 
will be split up per the legislation based on the % hours worked per shop of the total hours. 
 

C. The August additional monies using the 12 month method will be included in the drop = $72,524.18.  This 
will be split up per the legislation based on the % hours worked per shop of the total hours. 
 

D. From this date forward DESE will calculate per month using the legislation in the following order first the $21 
per 6 hour day or $3.50 per claimable hour will be paid. If the 12 month method expenditure ($2,096,725.00) 
is not meet,   we will distribute the remaining funds that month with your payment per the legislations intent. 

  
 
Missouri Proposition B, the $12 Minimum Wage Initiative, is on the ballot in Missouri as an initiated 

state statute on November 6, 2018. 

The measure would increase the minimum wage from $7.85 (2018) to $8.60 in 2019; $9.45 in 2020; $10.30 

in 2021; $11.15 in 2022; and $12.00 in 2023. Thereafter, the minimum wage would increase or decrease 

each year based on changes in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers 

(CPI-W).[1] 

The full text of the initiative is available here 

 

Chart on Proposition B 

 

Proposition B on the November Ballot                       
Raising Missouri’s Minimum Wage by 2023 

     

2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 

$8.60  $9.45  $10.30  $11.15  $12.00 

 

At  this time it looks like the exemption for the 14c Certificte Holders aka the Extended Employment 

Sheltered Workshop  remains in effect as specified in RsMo 290.500 to 290.530 
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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 6, 2018 
FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Adam Pulley 573-522-2296 

 
Missouri Department of Labor 

Launches New Web Portal 
to Promote Workplace Safety & Health  

 
KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DOLIR) Division of 
Labor Standards (DLS) has launched a new tool that will give Missouri businesses faster access to resources 
that help them develop safer and healthier workplaces while saving money on lost time and workers’ 
compensation insurance costs.  

On Thursday, September 6, at the Governor’s Conference on Economic Development in Kansas City, MO, the 
Department officially launched the Missouri Safe at Work Program and website. The launch is part of the 
Department’s overall strategic vision that puts an emphasis on promoting economic development, safety and 
opportunity for all of Missouri’s businesses and workers. 

The new program joins together the DLS’ three main safety programs, the On-Site Safety and Health 
Consultation Program, the Missouri Workers’ Safety Program, and the Missouri Mine and Cave Safety 
Program, and provides businesses with one portal to access resources for improving workplace safety and 
health. 

A new and valuable tool to employers being shared is workplace injury and fatality statistics provided by the 
Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). The new website will feature data on Missouri’s most 
hazardous industries, including:  

 The days of the week and times of the year injuries are most likely to occur;  

 Which counties in Missouri where industries see the bulk of their injuries occur; 

 The types of injuries most common within a particular industry.  

This data will be updated online on a monthly basis, giving employers and workers specific areas of emphasis 
that need to be covered in their safety plans for their industry. 

The new website will also feature helpful materials that can be downloaded, printed and shared directly with 
Missouri’s workers, including toolbox talks, sample OSHA programs, and a quarterly newsletter called “The 
Safety Zone”, which provides seasonal advice and updates that are meant to help workers stay safe and healthy. 

“Today’s launch of the MO Safe at Work website and campaign underscores the importance of workplace 
safety and its impact on the state’s economic development,” declared Department Director Anna Hui. “We 
appreciate Governor Parson and the First Lady supporting the Department’s efforts to promote the economic 
vitality, safety, and opportunity for all Missouri businesses and workers.” 

Businesses looking to improve their safety programs can find the new website at safeatwork.mo.gov, or may 
contact the DLS at 573-751-3403. 

This is one of several initiatives that the Department of Labor is developing to improve workplace safety. To 
see other goals and initiatives, visit strategicchange.mo.gov.  

 ### 

 
Be sure to subscribe and receive future news and press releases.  
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Please pre‐register by emailing the following information to Alan_schmitt@ajg.com 
1. Send the name of your workshop with a list of those attending 

2. Identify the location of the lunch & learn you plan on attending 
If you have any additional questions, please call Alan Schmitt at 314‐800‐2255 

 

Dan Gier 
Director l Extended Employment Sheltered Workshops   


