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DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION  

COVID-19 RELIEF FUNDS FOR EXTENDED EMPLOYMENT 
SHELTERED WORKSHOPS 

 
GRANT INSTRUCTIONS 

  
These are the instructions for filling out and applying for the COVID-19 Relief Funds for the 
Missouri Extended Employment Sheltered Workshops. This grant is to lessen the impact of 
COVID-19 on Missouri sheltered workshops (SW) and their employees. 
 
To be eligible, you must be certified under Section 178.900, RSMo. as a Missouri Extended 
Employment Sheltered Workshop and in good standing with the Missouri Department of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). Included in the submittal of the application must 
be a signed agreement and attestation to the rules governing this grant.   
 
Since the funding for this grant comes from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security 
(CARES) Act, certain hours and costs are not eligible reimbursable costs. These will be 
highlighted in the details of each section of the grant. 
 
This grant has a total value of four million dollars and will be issued in phases to cover your 
verifiable reimbursable costs from March 15, 2020 through December 31, 2020, or earlier if the 
funds are exhausted before December 31. The first phase covers March 15, 2020 through June 
30, 2020; the second will cover July 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020; and the last will cover 
October 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020.  
 
Part I: Certified Employee Pay Protection  
 
This, in part, is to cover the state of Missouri’s Shelter in Place order (“Stay Home Missouri”), 
which took effect at 12:01 a.m. on Monday, April 6, 2020, and ended at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, 
May 3. It will also cover regional orders through July 31, 2020, and includes some workshop 
closures from Monday, March 15, 2020 until the “Stay Home Missouri” order reflected the 
Governor’s declaration of a state of emergency on March 13. 
 
These hours or payments cannot have been used to satisfy the forgiveness clause of the SBA 
Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) or later acts such as the Paycheck Protection Program 
Flexibility Act.   
 
To be a certified reimbursable cost: 
 
The submittal must be itemized by employee and the dates you are covering plus the total hours.   
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The certified employee must receive a rate of payment equal to or above an equivalent of $2 per 
hour, not exceeding the normal hours of work that the employee’s work history would dictate 
previously filed with DESE. 
 
These hours or payments cannot have been reimbursed through the DESE state aid request as 
either hours worked or trained. 
 
These hours or payments cannot reflect any activities occurring in the month of May 2020.  
 
These costs will be reimbursed at a rate equivalent to the DESE state aid rate of $21 per six hour 
day, with a 38 hour per week cap, equaling a rate of $3.50 per hour for the above.  
 
Example: 

 
A certified employee that normally worked two days a week or approximately 50 hours a 
month. You may request payment for part of March, all of April and all of June (May is 
excluded due to funding source). This payment would be reimbursed at the $21 per six hour 
day or $3.50 per hour rate. 
 
The employee would have worked 10 hours in March (after March 15), 50 hours in April, 
and 50 hours in June (or a total of 110 hours). The workshop may request a maximum of 110 
hours at $3.50 per hour = $385. The rate of pay the certified employee receives cannot be 
less than $2 per hour when using these funds. The employee would receive a minimum of 
$220. The in-house check log should denote the month(s), hours, and rate of pay, along with 
COVID-19 Relief Funds. You will have a maximum of 180 days after receiving these grant 
funds to make those COVID-19 payments to your certified employee(s) that have not already 
received any pay for the period. 

 
On Part I of the grant, enter your itemized (by certified employee) proposed payments including 
the amount of hours requested for payment, the time period covered, and the hours multiplied by 
$3.50, for a total in the right column. Please retain the canceled check or EFT’s notice that 
payment was made to the certified employee with the above mentioned notes for audit purposes.  
After receiving Part I funds payments, payments to your certified employee must be made as 
quickly as possible and within 100 days of receiving these funds. 

   
Part II: Costs Associated with Off-site Certified Employee Engagement 
 
This part is to cover the additional costs of the workshop’s off-site engagement of employees 
after DESE modified the on-site versus off-site Work and Vocational Training Regulations in the 
Memo dated March 17, 2020. 
 
Qualifications of a certified reimbursable cost: 
 
These costs have NOT been used for, or been paid partially or in full by, any other funding 
created by the CARES Act (DNR solid waste, MODOT Section 5311, or a county CARES Act 
fund). 
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• Staff time used in creating materials either via print or visual web/internet accessibility  
• Copying/printing, along with postage, if applicable  
• Travel costs, including mileage at a rate of 0.37 cents per traveled mile 
• Staff time collecting and logging off-site results (time/work) 

 
On Part II of the grant form, enter your itemized costs. Use one line for each of the following 
example costs: postage; copying costs; and staff time (list each employee on a separate line – 
indicate employee name, salary (hourly pay received, excluding benefits), job performed (i.e., 
making copies, posting to website/Facebook page, delivery work, or training materials), and the 
time applied to each task). In the right-hand column, post the total requested for each line item. 
Retain all invoices, receipts, documented travel times, and staff expenses for audit purposes.          
      
Part III: One Time Cost for Equipment and Modification  
 
This part is to cover the costs of additional COVID-19 sanitizing equipment you have purchased 
and any modification to your work areas to meet OSHA-CDC and local guidelines. 
 
Qualifications of a certified reimbursable cost: 
 
These costs have NOT been used for, or been paid partially or in full by, any other funding 
created by the CARES Act (DNR solid waste, MODOT Section 5311, or a county CARES Act 
fund). 
 

• Must have occurred after March 15, 2020 

• Must be directly linked with compliance to COVID-19 guidelines issued by OSHA-CDC, 
state ordered, local health guidelines, and/or under the advisement of the Sheltered 
Workshops Insurance of Missouri (SWIM) 

• Large single item purchases over $5,000 could be subject to partial reimbursement 

 
Example A: Our air conditioner went out and we replaced it, so please see our receipt and 
invoice for $7,259.00. These funds could pay some, or a very small part, of the invoice if 
certain anti-virus features were included like UV, HEPA or electronic filtration, but not 
all. 
 
Example B: With all the extra cleaning and multiple breaks, our hot water heater just 
could not keep up, so we had to upgrade. These funds will pay over 80 percent, if not 100 
percent, of the upgrade.     
 
Example C: With all the increased hand washing, we have found we needed another sink, 
and added a sink. These funds will pay for the addition of a sink. 

 
On Part III of the grant form, enter your itemized cost of materials per item (i.e., UV or HEPA or 
electronic filtration item should mirror your supporting invoice and be broken down to 
parts/material and labor; sink addition should be on its own line supported by your invoice and 
also broken down by unit/material cost and labor; dividers/employee barriers and other one-time 
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purchases should be itemized and each have its own line; and staff time shall be documented by 
employee name, salary (hourly pay received, excluding benefits), job performed (installing 
dividers, moving lines, etc.), and the amount of time applied to the task). Include all invoices or 
receipts for specified items over $5,000. In the right hand column, post the total requested for the 
employee and items.        
 
Part IV: Ongoing – Reoccurring Cost 
 
This part is to cover your every day or reoccurring costs through the pandemic to meet OSHA-
CDC and local guidelines. 
 
Qualification of a certified reimbursable cost: 
 
These costs have NOT been used for, or been paid partially or in full by, any other funding 
created by the CARES Act (DNR solid waste, MODOT Section 5311, or a county CARES Act 
fund). 
 

• Must have occurred after March 15, 2020 

• Personal Protective Equipment (PPE): masks, gloves, face shields, COVID-19 sanitizers, 
and both personal and cleaning supplies 

• Additional man-hour costs above normal operation (in-house and contracted) 

  
On Part IV of the grant form, enter your itemized cost of materials per item. Example: masks 
would be listed on one line, gloves on another line, etc. Retain all invoices, receipts, contracts, 
and applicable staff expenses for audit purposes.          
 
Part V: Technology Updates and Expansions  
 
This part is to cover the costs if your workshop expanded or updated technology to meet the 
training and communication requirements by WIOA and OSHA–CDC COVID-19 guidelines to 
reopen your workshop.  
 
This section of the grant is limited to a total expenditure of two thousand five hundred dollars per 
Workshop Corporation.  
 
The intent is to reimburse your corporation for updating and/or expanding technology to assure 
distance training and off-site work can occur as this pandemic continues. 
 
Items covered under this part are: 
 
Hardware: personal computers, laptops, tables along with web cameras, scanner printers, and 
group presentation AV equipment (i.e., monitors (TVs) over 40” or larger and speakers to assure 
proper group presentations).   
 
Software: programs to modify current hardware to allow processing of current formats (i.e., 
upgrading to Windows 10 from Windows 7, etc.). 
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On Part V of the grant form, enter your itemized costs. Retain all invoices, receipts, contracts, 
and applicable labor expenses for audit purposes. Note this section is limited to $2,500 per 
Workshop Corporation. Invoices must be dated after March 15. Upon DESE approval of the line 
item, the purchase must be completed and invoiced no later than December 31.   
 
Part VI: Reopening after DHSS-Health Department Closure  
 
This part is to cover the costs if your workshop has been ordered to close by DHSS-Health 
Department due to an active case in your workshop. If this happens to your workshop, additional 
federal regulations apply to your employees, mainly the Families First Coronavirus Response 
Act (FFCRA), along with the OSHA-CDC guidelines to reopen your workshop. 
 
FFCRA payments to your employees due to your closure due to COVID-19 case. This has, on 
average, been running three working days. It will also require you to pay the confirmed infected 
person until the standard quarantine time has elapsed (80 hours).   
 
OSHA-CDC requires a sanitization of your work place of all hard surfaces and a rest period on 
“soft” surfaces such as cardboard and other non-washables of 60 to 72 hours.  
 
Qualification of a certified reimbursable cost: 
 
These costs have NOT been used for, or been paid partially or in full by, any other funding 
created by the CARES Act (DNR solid waste, MODOT Section 5311, or a county CARES Act 
fund). 
 

• The closure occurred on or after March 15, 2020  
• The closure was by order of DHSS or your local health authority in writing 
• An itemized payroll made during the dates of the closure period (certified and non-

certified employees)  
• The payroll(s) that reflects the 80 hours payed to the infected employee(s) (certified or 

non-certified) 
• Any additional costs such as contracted cleaning companies and/or supplies purchased 

for staff to do an in-house cleaning 
      

On Part VI of the grant form, enter your itemized costs. Retain all invoices, receipts, contracts, 
and applicable labor expenses for audit purposes  
 


