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State Coronavirus Relief Funds to Assist  
Missouri Sheltered Workshops FAQ 

 
1. What is this funding?  

It is a grant to lessen the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on Missouri sheltered workshops 
and their employees. 

 
2. Where did this funding come from?  

It is from the state of Missouri Coronavirus Relief Fund set up as part of the CARES ACT.  
 
3. What can the fund be used for?  

The grant has three main points:  
• The first is to get payroll protection (PP) to your certified employees that received no pay 

during the early stages of the pandemic. 
• The second is to reimburse the shop for additional costs for major expenditures due to the 

pandemic. 
• The third, to close the technology gap that became apparent as the new norm of business is 

being conducted as of this date and into the future. 
 

4. What is the time frame of the grant cycle?  
• The first distribution will cover expenses and applicable PP from March 15, 2020, to July 1, 

2020. 
• The second will cover expenses from July 1, 2020, to October 1, 2020. 
• The third, if funds are available, will be used to stabilize the workshops’ loss of business-

sales from April 1 to October 30.      
 
5. Are there restrictions on the grant?  

Yes, since it is federal funds administered by the state of Missouri, there are certain restrictions:   
• No hours that were used to cover the U.S. Payroll Protection Plan Loans-Grants can be used 

in this grant application.   
• No hours that you have received DESE funds (state aid) for can be used in this grant 

application.  
• No hours occurring in the month of May 2020 can be used in this grant application.  
• No hours or eligible cost that have been covered by another CARES grant: Missouri 

Department of Transportation (MODOT), Department of Natural Resources (DNR) or 
Department of Mental Health (DMH). 

 
6. Why can’t the hours that were used to cover the U.S. Payroll Protection Plan Loans-Grants 

be used in this grant application? 
Since these are federal funds, you cannot “double dip” or use the same documentation to cover 
both grants. 
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7. Why can’t the hours that we have received DESE funds (state aid) be used in this grant 
application?   
Since you have already been reimbursed for those hours, federal funds cannot be used to 
duplicate state funds. 

 
8. Why can’t any hours in May be used in this grant application?  

Since the governor restricted those funds, the CARES Act forbids the state from replacing those 
funds with federal funds.  

 
9. So what hours do qualify?  

Documented payments made to your certified employees in which: 
• No state aid was claimed.  
• They were not used to cover other obligations such as the 8 to 24 weeks that are used for 

U.S. Payroll Protection Plan Loan-Grant.  
• Hours that occurred since March 15 – June 30 excluding hours in May.  

 
10. If the workshop was closed and did not make any payroll to my certified employees, can I 

do something now?  
Yes, you may make a COVID-19 payment to those certified employees as long it meets the 
following: 

• Hours can NOT exceed the hours of past work history March 15 – June 30.  
 
For example, if the workshop closed April 1 through June 30, for a certified employee that 
worked 2 days a week or approximately 50 hours a month, you may request payment for the 
months of April and June but not May. This payment would be reimbursed at the $21 per six 
hour day or $3.50 per hour rate (or a total 100 hrs.) @ $3.50 per hour = $350. The rate of pay the 
certified employee receives cannot be less than $2.00 per hour when using these funds. So the 
employee would receive at a minimum $200. The check log should denote the month(s), hours, 
and rate of pay along with COVID-19 Relief Funds. You will have a maximum of 180 days after 
receiving the grant funds to make those COVID-19 payments to your certified employees. 

 
Reimbursable Costs 
 
Please note there are several CARES grants from DMH, Department of Health and Senior Services 
(DHSS), DNR, and MODOT (5311 providers). Your workshop could have been accessed already, 
thus, the federal “double dip” rule would apply if these costs have been used to get reimbursement 
under those grants. 
 
Eligible reimbursable costs are defined as costs associated with the protection of your employees 
from infection of COVID-19. They fall into two categories; one time and ongoing. 
 
One Time: are capital outlays that you made to get your shop open or compliant with OSHA, CDC, 
or local guidelines. 

 
Q: I had to buy tables to assure proper social distancing. Are they reimbursable?  
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts dated after March 15, 2020. 
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Q: I had to rearrange and extend my production line to meet social distancing. Is this a 
reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We bought hand-held thermometers to do our twice daily checks, are they reimbursable? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts dated after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: To assure proper hand washing, we installed another sink(s). Is this a reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts dated after March 15, 2020. 
 

Q: When we were inspected, our hot water was not up to DHSS - CDC specifications of proper 
hand washing, so we were forced to upgrade our hot water heater. Is this a covered 
reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, at an agreed upon percentage, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at 
or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We have purchased a disinfectant fogger and/or sprayer to aid in disinfecting the 
workplace. Is this a covered reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We have purchased other housekeeping equipment to aid our staff in assuring a disinfected 
workplace. Is this a covered reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We could not extend our production lines to meet social distancing so we placed dividers up 
(plexi-glass, cardboard, and wood). Is this a covered reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We purchased hand sanitizing stations and added them throughout the shop. Is this a 
covered reimbursable cost? 
A: Yes, the actual dispenser is. The sanitizer is covered as a reoccurring cost with proper 
documentation of receipts and invoices dated after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: We added a better filtering system to our HVAC system including ultraviolet-bandwidth 
energy (lighting). Is this a covered reimbursable cost?  
A: Yes, at an agreed upon percentage, with proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at 
or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Which Reoccurring Eligible Costs are During the Pandemic? 
 
Q: What is covered?  
A: PPE (masks, gloves, face shields), disinfectant and cleaning supplies, hand sanitizer and refills, 
and additional man hour costs (contracted or above normal operation).  
 
Q: We are replacing our HVAC filters more often than before plus we are using the HEPA or 
virus grade filter. Is this an eligible cost? 
A: Yes, the increase routine placement or upgraded filters meet the criteria with proper 
documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 



4 | P a g e  
 

  
Additional Man Hours 
  
Q: Many shops have contracted cleaning crews to come in from a few times a week to everyday 
to assure COVID-19 OSHA – CDC compliance. Are these costs covered? 
A: Yes, these are costs that meet the criteria if they occurred due to COVID-19 with proper 
documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020. 
 
Q: I have added staff as a cleaner. Are their hours eligible for reimbursement? 
A:  These hours can be submitted and a percentage of the hours could qualify for reimbursement with 
proper documentation of receipts and invoices dated at or after March 15, 2020.  
 
Q: I have assigned a certified employee to the cleaner position. Will their hours be eligible for 
reimbursement? 
A: If they are certified and you are claiming state aid on those hours already, then NO, those are not 
eligible for reimbursement.   
 
Q: My staff (uncertified employees) now have expanded their hours due to monitoring the 
restroom and cafeteria during breaks and lunch to assure social distancing. This is resulting in 
additional staff hours, are these hours eligible for reimbursement? 
A: Yes, with the proper documentation of expanded hours and hourly cost.  
  
Q: My bus/van driver is now spending one hour a day cleaning and sanitizing. Is this extra time 
eligible for reimbursement? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation of an increase in cost.  
 
Q: During the height of the pandemic, the workshop was doing off-site training and work 
incurring additional costs such as postage, copying, and in some cases man hours to make these 
off-site visits. Are these costs eligible for reimbursement? 
A: Yes, with proper documentation and invoices.      
 
Ordered Closure by DHSS-Health Department Due to a Positive COVID-19 
Case in My Workshop 
 
Q: I was one of the 15 workshops, as of this date, to be closed for a few days by the Health 
Department with a confirmed case of one of my employees. Can I receive some of these funds?  
A: Yes, if this workshop site and dates of closure are specifically confirmed by the Health 
Department. 
 
Note: if the workshop made Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) payments to your 
employees, you may request reimbursements for those hours (even if those FFCRA payments 
occurred in May), unless you used those hours to meet the U.S. PPP requirements along with having 
the proper documentation of those payments subject to an audit.   
   
Q: What about March, April, and June?  
A: Yes, only if you did not receive state aid funds to cover those hours, you did not use those hours 
to meet the U.S. PPP, and have proper documentation of those payments subject to an audit. 
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Q: After the DHSS-Health Department order of closure, we had to sanitize our workshop but 
we used our staff (non-certified) to do so. Are these costs eligible for reimbursement?”  
A: If the closure of your workshop is confirmed by the DHSS-Health Department, these funds will 
cover either in-house or contracted cleaning due to the Official Closure Order.  
  
 


