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CHAPTER 10:  MILEAGE AND TRAVEL INCENTIVE 
Missouri Part C State Plan Section XV. (34 CFR 303.119) 

 

Uniform Guidance (2 CFR 200.333 through 200.337) 
 

 

The Missouri State Plan for Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 

allows the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) to reimburse providers 

for mileage, and when applicable, travel incentives, to deliver early intervention services or 

attend Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) meetings for a family in First Steps. Mileage 

and travel incentives are additional payments separate from the service or IFSP meeting 

attendance.  

 

Providers are not required to utilize mileage reimbursement or travel incentives for First Steps 

visits; however, if a provider chooses to utilize these reimbursements, the following guidelines 

must be followed.  

 

SECTION I.  MILEAGE GUIDELINES 

 

A provider can only claim mileage for early intervention services delivered in the family’s 

natural environment. The natural environment refers to the following locations:  

 

 The family’s home, including a relative’s home; or, 
 

 A community setting where the child and family frequently visit, such as a childcare 

center, local park, grocery store or library.  

 

Direct services and IFSP meetings are the only First Steps activities applicable to mileage 

reimbursement. Providers are reimbursed 47 cents per mile for applicable First Steps activities. 

 

A. Direct Service Authorizations  
 

 

A provider must have an authorization to deliver a First Steps service and a date of service that 

corresponds to the authorization’s date range before requesting mileage reimbursement for direct 

services.  

 

 No-Show Visit 

 

If a provider arrives for a visit and discovers that the family is not there (no-show), then 

the provider is allowed to bill one unit (15 minutes) for the service and mileage related to 

this no-show visit. For more information on no-shows visits, go to the DESE First Steps 

website – For Providers. 
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B. Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) Meetings  
 

 

A provider must attend an IFSP meeting before requesting mileage reimbursement.  

 

IFSP meetings do not have an authorization. Providers are paid for IFSP meeting attendance 

when the Service Coordinator enters the provider’s attendance in the child’s electronic record 

(i.e., WebSPOE). All providers are reimbursed $68 an hour for IFSP team meeting attendance, 

with the exception of Assistants, Interpreters for the Deaf and Translators who are reimbursed 

$60 an hour.  

 

In addition to mileage reimbursement for IFSP meetings held in the natural environment, 

providers may be reimbursed for mileage to IFSP meetings held in a location that is not the 

provider’s official domicile.  

 

For example, a provider may be reimbursed mileage for attending a transition IFSP meeting at a 

school district. However, mileage cannot be reimbursed for an IFSP meeting held at a hospital 

that is the provider’s official domicile.  
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SECTION II: MILEAGE DOCUMENTATION 

 
Documentation of a provider's mileage is maintained by the individual provider in a daily 

tracking log that records the details of the visit, including the child's name, date, location, miles, 

etc. Each month a provider, or the provider’s agency, submits a monthly mileage invoice to the 

Central Finance Office (CFO) for payment.  

A. Daily Mileage Log 
 

 

A provider requesting mileage reimbursement from DESE must keep a daily log that details the 

location of the visit and the number of miles traveled.  

 

The First Steps Provider Daily Mileage Log (see Chapter 10 documents) is the preferred format 

for a provider to keep track of their daily mileage. A provider may use other mileage tracking 

forms such as an agency log; however, the log must include all of the information contained in 

the First Steps Provider Daily Mileage Log in order to be considered appropriate documentation 

for reimbursement. 

 

The First Steps Provider Daily Mileage Log is completed for First Steps visits only.   

 

The following diagrams are examples of trips providers may take that include non-First Steps 

visits and First Steps visits. Each day the provider must determine an official domicile or starting 

point. The official domicile may be the provider’s home or office at the provider’s agency. The 

official domicile is entered as the “office address” on the First Steps Provider Daily Mileage 

Log.  

 

Diagram #1: Official Domicile to a Non-First Steps Visit 

  

Diagram #1 is an example of mileage reimbursement when the provider starts the day with a 

Non-First Steps visit.  
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The provider starts from their official domicile (OD). The provider drives 8 miles from the OD 

to a Non-First Steps (NFS) visit. The provider cannot record the 8 miles from the OD to the NFS. 

The provider drives 5 miles from the NFS to a First Steps (FS) visit. The provider records the 5 

miles from the NFS to the FS visit.* Then the provider drives 10 miles from the FS visit to the 

OD. The provider records the 10 miles from the FS to the OD to complete the round trip.  

*A provider can record the mileage from the Non-First Steps visit to the First Steps visit, as 

long as the distance does not exceed the number of miles from the last First Steps visit back 

to the provider’s official domicile (OD).  

 End of Day Mileage  

 

Mileage to the provider’s home or to the official domicile from the last First Steps visit 

location is entered separately as “End of Day Mileage.”  

 

To report End of Day Mileage, the provider must complete the following columns: a) 

Date of Service; b) Authorization Number (which will be “End of Day Mileage”); c) Start 

Address; d) Destination Address; and e) Trip Mileage.  

Diagram #2: Official Domicile to a First Steps Visit 
 

Diagram #2 is an example of mileage reimbursement when the provider starts the day with a 

First Steps visit.  

              

Start here each day 
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The provider starts from their official domicile (OD). The provider drives 15 miles from the OD 

to a First Steps (FS) visit. The provider can record 15 miles from the OD to the FS visit. The 

provider drives 25 miles from the FS to a non-First Steps (NFS) visit. The provider records 15 

miles from the FS to the NFS visit.* Then the provider drives 20 miles from the NFS visit to the 

OD. The provider cannot record the mileage from the NFS to the OD.   

*The provider can record the mileage from the First Steps visit to the Non-First Steps visit, 

as long as the distance does not exceed the number of miles from the First Steps visit back to 

the provider’s official domicile (OD) or the next First Steps visit.  

B.  Daily Mileage Log Instructions 
 

 

The daily log must be completed for each date of service before mileage is submitted for 

payment. The following instructions correspond to the required fields on the First Steps Provider 

Daily Mileage Log: 

 Provider Name: The name of the provider delivering the First Steps visit, not an 

agency name or representative. 
 

 Official Domicile: The provider’s daily official domicile.  
 

 Date of Service: The date the service was provided to the family. This date must 

correspond to the claim date of service. 
 

 Service Authorization #: The authorization number for the service. For IFSP 

meetings, enter the child’s ID number in this field.  

 

 

 Child Last Name: The child’s last name as it is listed in WebSPOE. 
 

Start here each day 
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 Child First Name: The child’s first name as it is listed in WebSPOE. 
 

 Discipline: The provider’s discipline. 
 

 Service Provided: The type of service provided (e.g., direct child service, 

evaluation/assessment, IFSP meeting). 
 

 Start Address: The location the provider begins the trip to provide the First Steps 

service.   
 

 Destination Address: The location of the First Steps service or official domicile if 

“End of Day Mileage.”  
 

 Round Trip: Place an X in this column if the entry represents a round trip from the 

start address to the destination address and back to the start address. 
 

 Trip Mileage: The actual miles traveled for this specific trip. This is not an estimated 

mileage number. Providers may calculate the mileage by using their vehicle’s 

odometer or by using MapQuest Driving Directions.  
 

If an alternate route was used due to a closed road or road construction, please note 

that information in the Trip Mileage column. 
 

 Total Miles: The total miles for all trips listed on the form. 
 

 Provider Signature/Date: The provider must sign and date the mileage log.  

 

C. Monthly Mileage Invoice 
 

 

 

A provider requesting mileage reimbursement from DESE must use the First Steps Monthly 

Mileage Invoice (see Chapter 10 Documents).  

 

Mileage must be submitted to the CFO within 60 days from the date a service was delivered. To 

ensure the 60-day timeline is met, the provider should send a completed First Steps Monthly 

Mileage Invoice to the CFO at the end of each month.  

 

Only one invoice is allowed for each month (e.g., all December visits are submitted in one 

December invoice). If the invoice is from a provider agency, all First Steps visits from that 

agency are compiled into one monthly invoice.  The only time a second invoice for the same 

month is allowed is to correct errors reported on a previous mileage invoice. A correction invoice 

must include either the additional mileage that was not originally reported or a reduction to the 

original mileage reported on the previous invoice.  
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D. Monthly Mileage Invoice Instructions 
 

 

The monthly mileage invoice must reflect the total amount of miles traveled in a particular 

month as recorded on the daily mileage log.  

Identifying the invoice type is the first step to completing the monthly mileage invoice.  

 Mileage Invoice Type:  The provider marks “New” for a new mileage invoice being 

submitted or “Correction” if submitting a correction to a previously submitted invoice. 

 

Section 1: New Invoice. The following instructions correspond to the required fields on the First 

Steps Monthly Mileage Invoice: 

 Payee Name: The Payee name on record with the CFO. 
 

 Tax ID: The agency or independent provider’s tax ID number. 
 

 Invoice Number: The invoice number is a combination of the Tax ID number, a dash 

and the month and year (in MMYYYY format). For example, 123456789-042015. 
 

 Month/Year Mileage Traveled: The month and year that the miles were actually 

traveled. 
 

 Total Number of Providers: The number of providers that incurred mileage during the 

invoicing month. For example, for an independent provider this number would be “1”. 

For an agency with 10 providers, it would be the total number of providers who 

completed daily logs for that month. For example, if all 10 providers submitted mileage, 

then the number would be “10.” 
 

 Total Number of Miles Traveled in Month/Year: A count of all miles from all 

providers who incurred mileage for that month.   
 

 Total Invoice Amount: The total dollar amount calculated for this mileage invoice.  
 

 Payee Name/Signature/Date: The printed name and signature of the independent 

provider or the agency administrator/representative and the date. 

 

Section 2: Correction. The following instructions correspond to the required fields on the First 

Steps Monthly Mileage Invoice:  

 

 Payee Name: The Payee name on record with the CFO. 
 

 Original Invoice Number: The invoice number from the previous invoice that needs to 

be corrected.  
 

 Reason for Correction: The reason for the error in the previous invoice.  
 

 Original Total Number of Providers: The number of providers that incurred mileage on 

the original invoice.  
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 Corrected Total Number of Providers: The correct number of providers that incurred 

mileage in that month. This number may be the same as the original number of providers 

if the error did not involve the number of providers.  
 

 Original Total Number of Miles: A count of all miles from all providers who incurred 

mileage on the original invoice.    
 

 Corrected Total Number of Miles: A count of all miles from all providers who incurred 

mileage in that month.     
 

 Difference in Miles Submitted in this Correction: The difference in miles between the 

original and corrected number of miles.  
 

 Corrected Invoice Amount in Dollars: The corrected amount of mileage for the month.  
 

 Payee Name/Signature/Date: The printed name and signature of the independent 

provider or the agency administrator/representative and the date. 

 

The provider maintains a copy of each completed First Steps Monthly Mileage Invoice form for 

their records.  

 

The completed monthly mileage invoice is mailed to the following address: 

 

Central Finance Office 

Missouri First Steps 

P.O. Box 29134 

Shawnee Mission, KS 66201-9134 
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SECTION III: MILEAGE REVIEW 

 

All First Steps providers are subject to a review of their daily mileage logs in order to 

substantiate mileage was delivered in accordance with the amount paid to providers. Logs should 

be filed by month and year and maintained for a period of at least five years. The daily mileage 

log must be available upon request from the CFO or DESE.   

 

When selected for review, the provider will receive a request from DESE, or its designee, to 

submit daily mileage logs for a specific month. The provider is required to submit the requested 

information within three weeks. The request is the only opportunity for the provider to submit 

paperwork for a mileage review; therefore, the paperwork must be complete and accurate.  

 

DESE, or its designee, will review the information recorded on the daily mileage logs to verify 

the dates mileage was traveled corresponds to an authorization and claim for service.  

 

Additionally, DESE or its designee will use MapQuest at www.mapquest.com to verify the 

accuracy of the miles recorded on the daily mileage logs. 

 

The provider will be notified if the review resulted in a Pass or Fail. If there are miles on the 

daily mileage log that failed the review, then the reimbursement previously paid to the provider 

for those miles will be recovered from the provider’s next scheduled Electronic Funds Transfer 

(EFT) payment.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.mapquest.com/


Service Provider Manual 

Chapter 10: Mileage and Travel Incentive 

January 2016                                                                                                                                              Page 12 of 16                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

SECTION IV:  TRAVEL INCENTIVE 

 

First Steps offers a travel incentive for a provider willing to drive 60 miles or more in one 

direction to deliver services to a family in the natural environment. The distance must be 60 

miles or more from the provider’s official domicile to the location of the visit. The travel 

incentive is paid at a flat rate equal to the provider’s rate for one hour of service.  

 

The travel incentive is reimbursed in addition to mileage. The travel incentive is an authorization 

the Service Coordinator enters in WebSPOE. The provider then can submit a claim for dates of 

service where travel was 60+ miles in one direction to deliver services.  

 

Providers may have multiple travel incentive authorizations however not all of these 

authorizations may be claimed.  It is important providers understand the parameters for making a 

claim on a travel authorization. 

 

A. One Travel Incentive Claim Per Trip Per Day 
 

 

A “trip” is defined as a provider leaving their official domicile, traveling 60 miles or more to see 

one or more First Steps families in the same area and returning to their official domicile. A 

provider who sees two or more children in one day in the same area where all are 60+ miles 

away should receive a travel incentive authorization for each child. However, the provider 

cannot claim on multiple travel authorizations, the authorizations are entered in case one family 

cancels.  

 

For example, a provider sees three children (Johnny, Joe and Sally) and their families all live 65 

miles from the provider’s official domicile. All three children will have an authorization for 

travel; however, the provider only claims travel for the trip by billing on Sally’s travel 

authorization.  

 

B. More Than One Travel Incentive Claim Per Trip Per Day 
 

 

There are two instances when a trip may include multiple directions where each trip is 60+ miles. 

In the two instances described below, a provider can claim more than one travel incentive in one 

day.  

1. Multiple Visits Trip 

 

A provider leaves their official domicile and travels 60+ miles to see one or more First 

Steps families then returns to their official domicile. Later that same day, the provider 

leaves their official domicile again and travels 60+ miles to see one or more different 

First Steps families. Then the provider returns to their official domicile.   

 

For example, a provider visits the homes of Tommy and Sue in the same day. The 

provider leaves their home in the morning and travels 65 miles to conduct an evaluation 
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in Tommy’s home. The provider returns to their home. Later that same day, the provider 

leaves their home again and travels 72 miles to conduct a home visit with Sue and returns 

to their home. This provider would be authorized for travel incentive for both Tommy 

and Sue and the provider can bill on both in the same day. 

2. Stacked Visits Trip 

 

A provider leaves their official domicile and travels 60+ miles to see one or more First 

Steps families in a particular area. When leaving this area, the provider travels 60+ miles 

further away from their official domicile (the provider is now approximately 120 miles 

from official domicile) and sees one or more First Steps families in this additional area. 

Then the provider returns to their official domicile.  

 

For example, a provider visits the homes of Maria and Juan in the same day. The provider 

leaves his office and travels 78 miles to conduct an assessment in Maria’s home. The 

provider leaves Maria’s home and travels 61 miles further away from his official 

domicile to conduct an assessment in Juan’s home. Then the provider returns to his 

office, which is 139 miles from Juan’s home. This provider would be authorized for 

travel incentive for both Maria and Juan and the provider can bill on both in the same 

day.  
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SECTION V: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 

Question 1: Does DESE reimburse mileage for Early Intervention Team (EIT) meetings?  

Answer: No. Mileage for EIT meetings is not reimbursed by DESE at this time.  

Question 2: If early intervention services (e.g., group special instruction) are delivered in the 

same setting as the provider’s official domicile (e.g., a special purpose center), can the provider 

claim mileage to deliver the service?  

 Answer:  No. Mileage cannot be claimed for providers who deliver services in the same 

location as their official domicile.   

Question 3: Can a provider be reimbursed mileage for going to a doctor appointment with a 

family? 

 Answer: No. A provider cannot claim mileage for attending a child’s doctor appointment 

because a doctor’s office is considered a special purpose setting/clinic. Note: Attending a child’s 

doctor appointment would only be considered a First Steps service if the IFSP team specifically 

identified this as a need and the provider was authorized in the IFSP to do so.  
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APPENDIX A - SAMPLE FIRST STEPS PROVIDER DAILY MILEAGE LOG 

All fields are required for mileage reimbursement. 
 

Provider Name: Suzie Smith, Special Instructor/ABA Provider    Official Domicile: 1234 Main Street, Anytown, Missouri 63999 

 

Date of 

Service 

Service 

Authorization 

# 

Child 

Last Name 

Child 

First Name 

Discipline Service 

Provided 

Start 

Address 

Destination 

Address 

Round 

Trip 

Trip 

Mileage 

1/25/16 

 

 

A330012345-1 Auburn Abby SI Eval/Assess 1234 Main 

Street, Anytown, 

MO 63999 

123 Maple Drive, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

X 32 

1/25/16 

 

 

A330023456-2 Brown Billy SI Direct Child 1234 Main 

Street, Anytown, 

MO 63999 

111 Oak Blvd, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

 10 

1/25/16 

 

 

A330034567-

45 

Copper Carrie SI Direct Child 111 Oak Blvd, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

222 Willow Ave., 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

 15 

1/25/16 

 

 

330045678 Emerald Evie SI IFSP 

Meeting 

222 Willow 

Ave., Anytown, 

MO 63999 

444 Dogwood 

Lane, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

 17 

1/25/16 

 

 

A330067890-

38 

Fuchsia Frankie ABA Direct Child 444 Dogwood 

Lane, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

555 Pine Street, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

 21 

1/25/16 

 

 

End of Day 

Mileage 

    555 Pine Street, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

1234 Main Street, 

Anytown, MO 

63999 

 14 

 

 

       TOTAL 

MILES: 

109 

 

I certify that the information entered as required to request First Steps mileage reimbursement is accurate and correct to the best of my knowledge.     

I agree to the conditions as outlined in the First Steps Provider Mileage Guidance and Instructions as required for mileage reimbursement and 

understand that First Steps will adjust any and all mileage reimbursement payments if errors are found in the information I have entered. 

Suzie Smith  1/25/2016 

Provider Signature  Date 
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APPENDIX B - SAMPLE FIRST STEPS MONTHLY MILEAGE INVOICE 

                                 Central Finance Office 

                                   Missouri First Steps 

                                        PO Box 29134 

         Shawnee Mission, KS 66201-9134 
 

Questions? Call Provider Claims at: (866) 711-2573 ext. 1 

 

First Steps providers are allowed to submit one new invoice per month per payee account.            

Mileage is reimbursed at $0.47 per mile traveled. 

For complete instructions, go to the First Steps Provider Mileage Guidance and Instructions at: 

http://dese.mo.gov/special-education/first-steps/providers 
 

    X     Section 1: New Invoice (must be submitted within 60 days of the dates of service) 

Note: All boxes in Section 1 must be completed for new invoices. 

- Payee Name and Tax ID are the official name and number on record with the CFO. 

- Invoice Number is a number you designate. It is a combination of the Independent/Agency 

tax ID, a dash and the month and year (in MM-YYYY format).  

- Mileage Service Month/Year is the month and year that provider miles were actually traveled.  

- Total Invoice Amount is the total dollar amount calculated for this mileage invoice.  

Payee Name Tax ID 

ABC Early Intervention Agency 123456789 

Invoice Number Month/Year Mileage Traveled 

123456789-122015 12/2015 

Total Number of Providers Total Number of Miles Traveled in 

Month/Year 

5 625 

Total Invoice Amount 293.75 

 

Section 2: Correction (must be submitted within 180 days of the dates of service)                     

Note: All boxes in Section 2 must be completed for correction invoices.  

- Original items are information from the invoice previously submitted.  

- Corrected items are information intended to be corrected in this submission.  

Original Invoice Number  

 

Reason for Correction 

 

  

Original Total Number of Providers Corrected Total Number of Providers 

  

Original Total Number of Miles Corrected Total Number of Miles 

  

Difference in Miles Submitted in this 

Correction  

Corrected Invoice Amount in Dollars  

 

  
 

I certify the above mileage was incurred by me and/or my staff during the Month/Year indicated. I certify only miles 

traveled by First Steps providers for the purpose of authorized First Steps services in the natural environment are included 

in this invoice.  I understand I may be required, upon request, to provide documentation to substantiate this invoice.   

         Provider Sample                                                  Provider Sample                                                                      1/5/16 

 Printed Payee Name (required)                                    Payee Signature (required)                                                                                Date 

 

http://dese.mo.gov/special-education/first-steps/providers

	Service Provider Manual Chapter 10: Mileage and Travel Incentive
	TABLE OF CONTENTS
	SECTION I. MILEAGE GUIDELINES
	SECTION II: MILEAGE DOCUMENTATION
	SECTION III: MILEAGE REVIEW
	SECTION IV: TRAVEL INCENTIVE
	SECTION V: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
	APPENDIX A - SAMPLE FIRST STEPS PROVIDER DAILY MILEAGE LOG
	APPENDIX B - SAMPLE FIRST STEPS MONTHLY MILEAGE INVOICE

