éMissouri

TJ DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education EDU C ATl ON

Early Childhood Intra-Agency Transition Agreement
between First Steps Early Intervention Program (Part C)
and Early Childhood Special Education Program (Part B)

NOTE: Part C-Early Intervention is referred to as First Steps and Part B-Local Educational Agency
(LEA) is referred to as ECSE throughout the document.

I. Purpose
The purposes of this intra-agency agreement are to:

Address how the First Steps program and the Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE)
program will meet the transition requirements under the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA), and

Identify the policies and procedures used to ensure a smooth transition for children with
disabilities receiving First Steps services to ECSE services, other appropriate services for
children with disabilities, or exit the First Steps program.

IL. First Steps — Part C Requirements

In order to ensure a smooth and effective transition for children in First Steps, Missouri has
policies and procedures in place to ensure the following:

A. Transition Notification
1. State Educational Agency (SEA) Notification

Missouri considers all eligible children in First Steps as potentially eligible for the ECSE
program. SEA notification is conducted for all eligible children in First Steps. To
complete the SEA notification, the First Steps program uses an electronic child record
system of real-time data for all children participating in First Steps. SEA Part B staff have
access to a single aspect of the data system, a SEA notification report. The report
contains directory information (i.e., the child’s name, date of birth, parent’s name,
address, and telephone number) for all eligible children in First Steps who are two years
six months to three years of age. A child’s name will appear on this report until the
child’s third birthday or the child’s electronic record is closed. SEA Part B staff log-in to
the electronic system on or about the first business day of each month to access the SEA
notification report, which ensures that, not fewer than 90 days before the child’s third
birthday, the SEA is notified of children approaching three years of age and may be
eligible for ECSE services.

SEA notification is explained to parents when planning for transition from First Steps,
which occurs when children are between two years and two years six months of age.
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service coordinators give First Steps parents a transition handbook explaining transition
activities, including directory information and notification procedures.

2. Local Educational Agency (LEA) Notification

LEA notification includes the following personally identifiable information: the child’s
name, the child’s date of birth, and parent contact information (including parent’s name,
address, and telephone number). LEA notification constitutes a referral to the ECSE
program.

8
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Opt Out Policy

Missouri considers all eligible children in First Steps as potentially eligible for the
ECSE program. Missouri has an opt out policy in accordance with the federal
regulations that gives the parent a specified time period to object to sharing
directory information to ECSE (i.e., LEA notification). The time period for opt
out aligns with the transition plan timeline of no fewer than 90 days before the
child’s third birthday unless the child is a late referral, and in such case, the time
period is on or before the transition plan meeting.

The service coordinator explains directory information and opt out to the parent
when preparing to schedule the transition plan meeting, unless the parent requests
the notification to ECSE beforehand. If the parent requests to opt out of sending
directory information to ECSE, the service coordinator provides the opt out form
to the parent prior to the transition plan meeting. The parent has until the
transition plan meeting to return the opt out form to the service coordinator or
directory information will be sent to ECSE at the transition plan meeting. Upon
receiving the parent’s written objection no later than the transition plan meeting,
the service coordinator will not send directory information to ECSE.

The parent is informed that failure to send directory information to ECSE fewer
than 90 days before the child’s third birthday may result in a gap in services if the
child is eligible for ECSE.

The parent is also informed that, if after opting out initially, the parent later wants
the service coordinator to send directory information to ECSE, the parent must
contact the service coordinator immediately.

LEA Notification Timelines

For each child determined eligible for First Steps 90 days or more before the
child’s third birthday, where the parent has not chosen to opt out, First Steps
ensures that, not fewer than 90 days before the child’s third birthday, the service
coordinator notifies the LEA in which the child lives that the child is approaching
three years of age and may be eligible for ECSE services.

For each child found eligible for First Steps more than 45 but less than 90 days
before the child’s third birthday and the parent has not chosen to opt out, First
Steps ensures that, the service coordinator, as soon as possible after the child’s

Missouri First Steps and ECSE — Revised February 2019 — page 2



eligibility for. First Steps is determined, notifies the LEA in which the child lives
that the child is approaching three years of age and may be eligible for ECSE
services.

For each child referred to First Steps fewer than 45 days before the child’s third
birthday, parental consent is required before notification can occur. As soon as
possible after obtaining parental consent, the service coordinator notifies the LEA
in which the child lives that the child may be eligible for ECSE services.

For each child referred to First Steps fewer than 45 days before the child’s third
birthday, First Steps is not required to conduct an evaluation, assessment, or an
initial Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) meeting.

B. Transition Conference with ECSE

Missouri considers all children participating in First Steps potentially eligible for ECSE;
therefore, with the approval of the family, a conference is convened among the service
coordinator, the family, and ECSE not fewer than 90 days, and, at the discretion of all
parties, not more than nine months before the child’s third birthday. The purpose of the
transition conference with ECSE is to explain: the differences between Part C and Part B, the
process ECSE will complete to determine the child’s eligibility for services under Part B,
and, if eligible, any services the child may receive under Part B of the IDEA and provide
ECSE personnel contact information.

The transition conference with ECSE is an IFSP meeting and must meet the IFSP
requirements for accessibility and convenience of meetings, parental consent for early
intervention services, and participants in IFSP meetings as described under Section XII of the
Missouri State Plan for Part C.

C. Transition Plan

For all children participating in First Steps, a meeting to develop the transition plan is held
not fewer than 90 days and, at the discretion of all parties, not more than nine months before
the child’s third birthday. The purpose of the transition plan meeting is to review the program
options for the child after the child turns three years of age and to discuss the transition steps
and services for the remainder of the child’s time in First Steps. The family must be included
in the development of the transition plan in the IFSP.

The transition plan meeting is an IFSP meeting and must meet the IFSP requirements for
accessibility and convenience of meetings, parental consent for early intervention services,
and participants in [FSP meetings as described under Section XII of the Missouri State Plan
for Part C.

The transition plan in the IFSP includes the steps for the child and family to exit from the
First Steps program and services that the IFSP team identifies, as appropriate, for the child
and family.

The steps in the transition plan include, at a minimum, the following:
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e Discussions with, and training of parents, as appropriate, regarding future placements and
other matters related to the child’s transition,

e Identification of transition services and other activities that the [FSP team determines are
necessary to support the transition of the child,

e Procedures to prepare the child for changes in service delivery including steps to help the
child adjust to and function in a new setting,

e Confirmation that directory information has been provided to ECSE or that the parent
opted out of notification, and

e Confirmation that additional information, with parental consent, has been provided to
ECSE to ensure continuity of service from the First Steps program, including the most
recent evaluation and assessments of the child and family and IFSP.

D. Combining Transition Conferences with Meetings to Develop the Transition Plan
The transition plan meeting and conference with ECSE may be combined into one meeting;
however, all the requirements listed under the sections for Transition Conference with ECSE
and the Transition Plan must be addressed.

E. Late Referrals

For children referred to First Steps less than 135 days before the child’s third birthday and
subsequently found eligible for First Steps, the requirements for holding a transition plan
meeting and transition conference with ECSE depend upon the age of the child when referred.
For children referred to First Steps less than 135 days but 90 days or more prior to the child’s
third birthday, the transition plan meeting and transition conference with ECSE must be held
as part of the initial [FSP meeting.

For children referred to First Steps less than 90 days but 45 days or more prior to the child’s
third birthday, the transition plan must be held as part of the initial IFSP but the transition

conference with ECSE is not required.

For children referred to First Steps less than 45 days from the child’s third birthday, the
transition plan meeting and transition conference with ECSE are not required.

F. Applicability of Transition Requirement

The requirements related to Notification, Transition Conference with ECSE and Transition
Plan contained in this agreement apply to all children served in First Steps.

I11. Early Childhood Special Education Program — Part B Requirements

In order to ensure a smooth and effective transition for First Steps children who are eligible for
ECSE services, Missouri has policies and procedures in place to ensure the following:

A. 1IEP Development and Implementation
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All children found eligible for Part C and who are also found eligible for Part B, including
Part C Extension children, must have an Individualized Education Program (IEP) by the
child’s third birthday. The only exceptions to this are: (1) if the child was referred to First
Steps less than 90 days before the child’s third birthday, (2) if the parent does not give
parental consent to evaluate the child, which delays an evaluation by the school district and
subsequent development of an IEP, or (3) if the parent first opts out of notification to the
LEA and subsequently requests notification to the LEA less than 90 days from the child’s
third birthday, which delays an evaluation by the school district and subsequent development
of an IEP.

The obligation to make a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) available to each First
Steps child who is eligible for ECSE begins on the child’s third birthday, unless the parent of
a child with a summer third birthday chooses the Part C Extension instead of early childhood
special education and related services at age three. For children in the Part C Extension, the
IEP is implemented upon the initiation of the local district’s school year following the child’s
third birthday.

B. ECSE Participation in the Transition Conference

Once invited, an ECSE representative must participate in the transition conference arranged
by First Steps. The ECSE representative may participate in the conference by attending in
person, via video/conference call, or sending a substitute.

C. Service Coordinator Invitation to the Initial IEP Meeting

At the request of the child’s parent, an invitation to the initial IEP meeting must be sent to the
First Steps service coordinator or other representatives of the First Steps program to assist in
a smooth and effective transition for a child who previously participated in First Steps.

D. IFSP Consideration at the Initial IEP Meeting

In each case of a child who participated in First Steps and is transitioning to ECSE, the IEP
team must consider the IFSP content in the development of the IEP.

E. Part C Extension for Children with Summer Third Birthdays

The department has developed policies and procedures to alleviate any gaps in services for
children who may transition from First Steps to ECSE. Depending on where the child’s birth
date falls in a calendar year, the following provisions apply to children in First Steps:

Birthdays on April 1 through August 15
In Missouri, parents of a child determined eligible for both First Steps and ECSE and who

has a third birthday on April 1 through August 15, may choose to: (1) continue Part C
services until the initiation of the local district’s school year following the child’s third
birthday, or (2) transition to ECSE upon the child’s third birthday. If the child’s ECSE
eligibility determination is in process, First Steps services as identified in the child’s IFSP
must continue beyond age three until the child’s eligibility for ECSE is determined. This
provision does not apply if ECSE has requested parental consent for the initial evaluation and
the parent has not provided that consent. If the child is found ineligible for ECSE, First Steps
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services will end upon the child’s third birthday or upon ECSE’s determination of
ineligibility if the child is over age three.

All requirements for the Transition Plan Meeting and Transition Conference with ECSE
described above are applicable to children with summer third birthdays. If the parent opts out
of sending directory information to ECSE, Part C Extension is not available and the service
coordinator informs the parent that First Steps services end upon the child’s third birthday.

The service coordinator notifies the parents of their options for services over age three
through written and verbal information at the Transition Plan Meeting or Transition
Conference with ECSE. Written information provided to the parents includes a description of
the parent’s right to choose to: (1) continue First Steps services until the initiation of the local
district’s school year following the child’s third birthday, or (2) choose to transition to ECSE
upon the child’s third birthday. Written information provided to the parents also includes an
explanation of the differences between Part C and Part B procedural safeguards and services,
in accordance with 303.211(b)(1)(i1)(A through C), as follows:

Services Extended Part C at age three | Part B at age three

Types Early intervention services are | Special education services are identified by
identified by the IFSP team, the Individualized Education Program (IEP)
which includes the parent, and | team, which includes the parent. Services
designed to meet the are available throughout the school-year,
developmental needs of a child | however, the IEP must include a statement
with a disability. Services are indicating the child’s eligibility or
available throughout the ineligibility for extended school year
calendar year. services.

Location Early intervention services are | Special education and related services are
delivered in the child’s natural | provided in the least restrictive
environment, including home environment, to the maximum extent
and community settings, to the | appropriate. Removal of children with
maximum extent appropriate. disabilities from the regular educational

environment only occurs when the nature or
severity of the disability is such that
education in regular classrooms with use of
supplementary aids and services cannot be
achieved satisfactorily.

Procedural | State regulations under Part C State regulations under Part B detail the

Safeguards | detail the rights of children and | rights for all parties involved in the
parents who participate in First | education of students with disabilities.
Steps.

Cost Families pay a monthly fee for | Special education and related services are at
early intervention services no cost to the parent and designed to
delivered through an IFSP, provide a Free Appropriate Public
except services provided at no- | Education (FAPE) through an IEP.
cost.

Parents who choose the option to continue First Steps services must provide consent, which
may be obtained as early as the transition plan meeting or transition conference with ECSE
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but no later than the child’s third birthday. Once parent consent is obtained, the service
coordinator must hold a Summer Third Birthday IFSP meeting by the child’s third birthday.

Parents are informed the Summer Third Birthday IFSP must include an educational
component that promotes school readiness and incorporates pre-literacy, language, and
numeracy skills. Parents of children who continue First Steps services have the right, at any
time, to receive ECSE services instead of First Steps services. However, ECSE is not
required to provide a FAPE under Part B for the period of time a child is receiving services
through the Part C Extension.

Parents who choose the option to transition to ECSE have the right for their child with a
summer third birthday to receive FAPE through an IEP upon the child’s third birthday.
Parents who choose ECSE services cannot later choose to return to First Steps services once
consent for ECSE services is obtained and the child has turned three.

Extended Part C services are paid for with state general revenue, federal Part C, federal
Medicaid, private insurance, and family cost participation.

Birthdays on August 16 through March 31

The service coordinator informs parents of children with birthdates on August 16 through
March 31 that First Steps services end upon the child’s third birthday. If eligible for ECSE,
the child will transition to ECSE upon the child’s third birthday.

F. Signatures

The intra-agency agreement shall be effective immediately and automatically renewed
annually, on July 1, unless one of the parties listed below notifies another party in writing 30
days before the renewal date that revisions are needed. Revisions can be made throughout the
year upon agreement of all parties.

A-1-19

Ginger Hégty, Coordinator, EC@/Part B Date

MO Department of Education
2-1-)9

Thomas, Coordinator, First Steps/Part C Date

MO Department of Educ@;:wv\7
g{ff} LJVAV A ~ l ~,

Stephe\fl Béyr, Assistant Commissioner, Special Education Date
MO Department of Education
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