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5 SYSTEM OF PAYMENTS 

The First Steps program is operated through five funding sources: state general revenue, federal 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) grant, family cost participation (FCP) fees, 
private insurance, and public insurance (MO HealthNet/Medicaid). These sources create a 
system of payments that is administered by the Department of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (DESE). 

In order to explain the funding system to parents, DESE created the Missouri First Steps System 
of Payments policy (see Chapter 5 Documents). The System of Payments policy includes a 
description of the process for determining the family’s monthly participation fee and the 
potential ramifications families may incur when private or public insurance is used to help pay 
for early intervention services. 

There are no-cost services provided to all families regardless of the use of private or public 
insurance or monthly fees. The following are considered no-cost services: 

 Child find activities 

 Evaluation and assessment 

 Service coordination 

 Administration and coordination activities, including the development, review, and 
evaluation of Individualized Family Service Plans (IFSPs), translation services and the 
provision of parental rights 

The System of Payments policy has three main components: private insurance, public insurance, 
and FCP. 

SECTION I: PRIVATE INSURANCE 

Missouri Part C State Plan Section XVIII. (34 CFR 303.520 through 303.521) 

The first component of the System of Payments policy is private insurance. As mandated by 
Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo) 376.1218, private insurance carriers practicing in Missouri 
must help pay for the cost of early intervention services. A family is not required to have private 
insurance in order to participate in First Steps.  
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A. Annual Insurance Carrier Election 

State law provides private insurance carriers two options to contribute to the cost of early 
intervention services: bulk/percentage payment or direct claims. Private insurance carriers must 
notify the Central Finance Office (CFO) no later than October 1st of each year, as to their 
election (i.e., bulk/percentage or direct) for the upcoming calendar year. By December 1st of each 
year, the System Point of Entry (SPOE) is notified of each private insurance carrier’s election for 
the upcoming year. 

1. Bulk/Percentage Payment 

With the bulk/percentage payment election, the insurance carrier pays First Steps an amount 
equal to one-half of one percent of the carrier’s direct written premiums or $500,000, 
whichever is less. 

If the insurance carrier elects bulk/percentage, then personally identifiable information about 
the child and family is not released to the carrier.  

2. Direct Claims 

With the direct claims election, the insurance carrier agrees to pay the applicable MO 
HealthNet/Medicaid rate, up to $3000 per child per calendar year, for each early intervention 
direct service billed for the following services: assistive technology devices, occupational 
therapy, physical therapy, and speech language pathology. 

If the insurance carrier elects direct claims, then personally identifiable information about the 
child and family is released to carrier. 

Under the direct claims election, insurance carriers may have fully insured plans and/or self-
insured plans. 

a) Fully Insured Plan 

Under a fully insured plan, the employer purchases a health insurance plan from an 
insurance company for coverage to all employees. These health plans are applicable to all 
state laws, including the First Steps law. The insurance cards for a fully insured plan 
should have a statement indicating “fully insured” on the cards of Missouri residents. If 
the child’s insurance card states “fully insured,” the Service Coordinator documents this 
in the child’s electronic record. 

b) Self-Insured Plan 

Under a self-insured plan, the employer operates their own health plan instead of 
purchasing a plan from an insurance company. The Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act  (ERISA) is a federal law exempting employers who “self-fund” their 
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employee health plans from state laws that mandate coverage of specific services. ERISA 
does not apply to any health plan a family purchases outside of their employer.  

The Service Coordinator does not determine whether a child’s health plan is self-funded.  

Regardless of the carrier’s election (i.e., bulk/percentage or direct), the Service Coordinator 
collects private insurance information and enters the information into the child’s electronic 
record. 

B. Parental Consent to Use Private Insurance 

As part of the explanation and review of the System of Payments policy with the parent, the 
Service Coordinator discusses the use of private insurance, including all potential ramifications.  

The Service Coordinator explains if the child’s insurance carrier chose the bulk/percentage 
election, then personally identifiable information is not released to the carrier and there are no 
ramifications.  

The Service Coordinator explains if the child’s insurance carrier chose the direct claims election, 
and the parent provides consent to use the child’s private insurance, then personally identifiable 
information is released when billing the carrier for early intervention services. Additionally, the 
family may incur ramifications. 

1. Ramifications for Private Insurance  

Prior to obtaining parental consent, the Service Coordinator notifies the parent of possible 
ramifications for using private insurance. These ramifications may impact the services the 
family can obtain under their insurance policy while in First Steps and after the family leaves 
First Steps. 

The Service Coordinator explains to the parent that the use of private insurance may:  

 Count towards or result in a loss of benefits (e.g., number of therapy visits allowed) 
due to the annual or lifetime coverage caps for the child, parents, or family members 

 Negatively affect the availability of private insurance to the child, parent, or family 
members, including cancellation 

 Be the basis for increasing the insurance premiums for the child, parent, or family 
members 

In addition to the ramifications listed above, the use of private insurance may negatively 
impact the family’s health savings account if the insurance company attempts to pay for early 
intervention services out of this account.  
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If the parent has any questions about the use of private insurance, including potential 
ramifications, then the parent should contact the insurance carrier prior to giving consent. 

If the family’s insurance is negatively impacted due to First Steps participation, then the 
parent should contact the Service Coordinator to discuss the situation.  

2. Obtaining Consent for Private Insurance  

At the Initial and Annual IFSP meetings for every family, the Service Coordinator provides 
the parent a copy of the System of Payments policy and reviews the policy with the parent. 
As part of the explanation and review of the System of Payments policy with the parent, the 
Service Coordinator discusses the use of private insurance, including all potential 
ramifications.  

After reviewing the policy, the Service Coordinator provides the Consent to Use Private 
Insurance form (see Chapter 5 Forms) to the parent. The parent indicates one of three 
options: 1) to give consent to use private insurance, 2) to decline consent to use private 
insurance, or 3) to acknowledge the child does not have private insurance.  

The Service Coordinator must explain to the parent that they cannot selectively choose which 
services to bill to private insurance. If the parent gives consent to use private insurance, then 
all direct services for occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech language pathology and 
assistive technology devices are billed to private insurance.  

If the parent gives consent to use private insurance, then the Service Coordinator collects 
insurance information, including the policy number, policy holder name and date of birth. 
The parent is considered the policy holder even if the insurance policy is in the child’s name 
since the parent is the responsible party. In order to enter the policy holder’s name on the 
FCP & Insurance tab in the child’s electronic record, the Service Coordinator must enter the 
policy holder on the Family tab as an Educational Decision Maker.  

If the parent has two insurance plans and gives consent to use both, then the parent must 
clarify the primary and secondary billing order. 

The Service Coordinator may obtain a photocopy of the front and back of the insurance card 
in lieu of completing the insurance information section of the form. The Service Coordinator 
completes the form with the reason for consent and IFSP services. The parent must sign the 
form.  

If the parent declines consent or does not have private insurance, then the consent section is 
completed and the parent must sign the form.   

3. Insurance Changes Impacting Consent 

After obtaining consent to use private insurance, changes may occur in the family’s insurance 
coverage or IFSP services, including the following: 
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a) Family Changes 

The Service Coordinator must update the Consent to Use Private Insurance form with the 
parent anytime the child’s private insurance changes (e.g., when the parent changes jobs 
or changes insurance carrier or policy number). When the form is updated, the Service 
Coordinator immediately updates private insurance information on the Health Plans page 
of the FCP & Insurance tab in the child’s electronic record. An IFSP meeting is not 
required in order to change private insurance information in the child’s electronic record. 

b) IFSP Service Changes 

The Service Coordinator must review and update the Consent to Use Private Insurance 
form with the parent every time assistive technology devices, occupational therapy, 
physical therapy and speech-language pathology are initiated or increased in length, 
duration, frequency, or intensity. 

c) Annual Insurance Changes 

Before December 31st of each year, the Service Coordinator must contact every parent 
who gave consent to use private insurance to discuss possible insurance changes for the 
upcoming calendar year.  

If one of the following events occurs, then the Service Coordinator must update the 
Consent to Use Private Insurance form with the parent and update the child’s electronic 
record prior to December 31st: 

o The insurance carrier election changes to the direct claims option for the 
upcoming calendar year (i.e., from bulk/percentage to direct); 

o The family’s insurance carrier or policy number will change for the upcoming 
calendar year and the parent gives consent to use private insurance; or, 

o The parent decides to withdraw consent. 

When the family’s insurance changes, the Service Coordinator must update the FCP & 
Insurance tab in the child’s electronic record to end the old policy and enter the new 
policy. There can only be one active insurance plan selected as primary in the child’s 
electronic record. 

4. Parent Does Not Give Consent  

If the parent declines consent to use private insurance, all early intervention services are still 
provided to the child and family.  

If the parent initially declines to use private insurance, then the Service Coordinator must 
have the parent sign the consent form and indicate decline. The Service Coordinator enters 
that the parent declined insurance on the Fee Determination page of the FCP & Insurance tab 
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in the child’s electronic record. The Service Coordinator reviews the parent’s decision at the 
Annual IFSP meeting.  

The parent may withdraw consent to use private insurance at any time. If after initially 
providing consent to use private insurance the parent withdraws consent, the Service 
Coordinator must have the parent sign a new consent form and indicate decline. When 
consent is withdrawn, the Service Coordinator must immediately update the consent status on 
the Health Plans page of the FCP & Insurance tab in the child’s electronic record. Timely 
data entry of consent is critical to ensure the services are accurately selected for submission 
to the child’s insurance carrier. 

5. Insurance Explanation of Benefits and Co-Payments/Deductibles 

First Steps does not charge the parent a co-payment or deductible for early intervention 
services. The parent is responsible to pay the premiums for private insurance, including co-
payments and deductibles for services not provided by First Steps.  

Parents may receive an Explanation of Benefits (EOB) from their private insurance company. 
The EOB lists any early intervention services as Missouri First Steps, not the name of the 
provider who delivered the service. The EOB may also show a balance not paid by the 
insurance company for early intervention services. The balance due may be referred to as the 
patient’s responsibility, co-payment, co-insurance or deductible. The parent is not 
responsible for paying the balance due for any early intervention services because First Steps 
does not collect this amount from the parent.   

If a parent receives a statement from the insurance company indicating they owe First Steps 
for unpaid amounts, the parent should contact the Service Coordinator to review the 
statement. If determined that the insurance company is attempting to collect payment from 
the parent for early intervention services, then the Service Coordinator should contact the 
Area Director for further review of the situation.  
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SECTION II: PUBLIC INSURANCE 

Missouri Part C State Plan Section XVIII. (34 CFR 303.520 through 303. 521) 

The second component of the System of Payments is public insurance. Public insurance in 
Missouri is referred to as MO HealthNet/Medicaid, which is operated by the Department of 
Social Services (DSS). MO HealthNet/Medicaid includes Managed Care (MC+). The MC+ plans 
include United Healthcare Community Plan, Missouri Care, and Home State Health.  

DESE and DSS have an interagency agreement that allows for MO Healthnet/Medicaid funds to 
be used to help pay for early intervention services. The interagency agreement applies to the 
following services: assistive technology devices, audiology, counseling, Developmental 
Assessment of Young Children (DAYC), health, medical, nursing, occupational therapy, 
physical therapy, psychology, social work, speech/language pathology, and vision. 

If a child does not have public insurance and the family’s income indicates they may be eligible 
for coverage, then the Service Coordinator should inform the parent of the availability of public 
insurance, but the parent  is not  required to enroll in MO HealthNet/Medicaid in order to 
participate in First Steps. 

A. Parental Consent for MO HealthNet/Medicaid 

As part of the explanation and review of the System of Payments policy with the parent, the 
Service Coordinator discusses the use of public insurance. The Service Coordinator explains that 
if the parent provides consent to use public insurance, then personally identifiable information is 
released when billing public insurance for early intervention services. 

1. Ramifications for Public Insurance 

Per the interagency agreement between DESE and DSS, when a parent gives consent for 
First Steps to use public insurance, the following ramifications will not occur: 

 A decrease in available lifetime coverage or any other insured benefit for the child or 
parent under public insurance 

 The parent paying for services that would otherwise be covered by public insurance 

 Any increase in premiums or discontinuation of public insurance for the child or the 
parent 

 A loss of eligibility for the child or the parent for home and community-based 
waivers based on aggregate health-related expenditures 

In the event one of the above ramifications occurs, the parent should contact the Service 
Coordinator. The Service Coordinator collects information about the situation and relays the 
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information to the Area Director. The Area Director contacts the MO HealthNet/Medicaid 
state office about the situation. 

2. Obtaining Consent for Public Insurance  

At the intake visit for every family, the Service Coordinator provides the parent a copy of the 
System of Payments policy and reviews the policy with the parent. As part of the explanation 
and review of the System of Payments policy with the parent, the Service Coordinator 
discusses the use of public insurance.  

The Service Coordinator must obtain the document control number (DCN) to confirm the 
child has MO HealthNet/Medicaid. The Service Coordinator may review one of the 
following documents to obtain the number: MO HealthNet/Medicaid card, MO 
HealthNet/Medicaid eligibility letter, current statement or bill from MO HealthNet/Medicaid.   

After reviewing the policy, the Service Coordinator provides the Consent to Use MO Health 
Net/Medicaid form (see Chapter 5 Forms) to the parent. The parent indicates one of three 
options: 1) to give consent to use MO HealthNet/Medicaid, 2) to decline to give consent to 
use MO HealthNet/Medicaid, or 3) to acknowledge the child does not have MO 
HealthNet/Medicaid. 

The Service Coordinator must explain to the parent they cannot selectively choose which 
services to bill to public insurance. If the parent gives consent to use public insurance, then 
all direct services for the following types are billed to public insurance: assistive technology 
devices, audiology, counseling, DAYC, health, medical, nursing, occupational therapy, 
physical therapy, psychology, social work, speech/language pathology, and vision. 

If the parent gives consent to use public insurance, then the parent must complete the consent 
section and sign the form. The Service Coordinator may obtain a photocopy of the front and 
back of the MO HealthNet/Medicaid card.   

If the parent declines consent or does not have public insurance, then parent completes the 
consent section and signs the form. 

3. Public Insurance Changes Impacting Consent 

At every IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator asks the parent if there are any changes in 
public insurance. The Consent to Use MO HealthNet/Medicaid form is updated only if the 
status of public insurance changes while participating in First Steps.  

4. Parent Does Not Give Consent for Public Insurance 

If the parent declines consent to use public insurance, all early intervention services are still 
provided to the child and family at no cost. The Service Coordinator must have the parent 
sign the consent form and indicate decline.  
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The parent may withdraw consent to use public insurance at any time. If after initially 
providing consent to use public insurance the parent withdraws consent, the Service 
Coordinator must have the parent sign a new consent form and indicate decline. When 
consent is withdrawn, the Service Coordinator must immediately update the consent status in 
the child’s electronic record. Timely data entry of consent is critical to ensure the services are 
accurately selected for submission to MO HealthNet/Medicaid. 

5. MO HealthNet/Medicaid Statements  

The parent is responsible to pay any applicable premium for public insurance. The parent 
receives a separate statement from MO HealthNet/Medicaid when a payment is due.  

If a parent receives a statement from MO HealthNet/Medicaid indicating they owe First 
Steps for unpaid amounts, the parent should contact the Service Coordinator to review the 
statement. If determined that MO HealthNet/Medicaid is attempting to collect payment from 
the parent for early intervention services, then the Service Coordinator should contact the 
Area Director for further review of the situation.  

B. Families with Private and Public Insurance 

If the child has both private insurance and public insurance coverage, the private insurance may 
be required to pay before public insurance. The Service Coordinator ensures the parent  is  
informed of the possible ramifications of using private insurance. 
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SECTION III: FAMILY COST PARTICIPATION 

Missouri Part C State Plan Section XVIII. (34 CFR 303.520 through 303.521) 

The third component of the System of Payments policy is FCP. As mandated by RSMo 160.920, 
all families are assessed for their ability to pay a monthly fee. If determined to have the ability to 
pay, then the parent is required to make a financial contribution to the cost of early intervention 
services. 

A. Assessment of a Monthly Fee 

At the Initial and Annual IFSP meetings for every family, the Service Coordinator must conduct 
the fee assessment process to determine if the family has an ability to pay a fee. The ability to 
pay refers to the determination of whether a family is able to financially contribute to the cost of 
services provided by First Steps. 

For each family, the Service Coordinator completes the Financial Information for Family Cost 
Participation form (see Chapter 5 Forms) with the  parent.  If the child is  enrolled in MO 
HealthNet/Medicaid (under any State of Missouri entitlement program), or the family receives 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Food Stamps, or the child in First Steps is in foster care, 
then financial information is not required to be collected.  

1. Household Size 

A household or family unit is defined as the group of individuals living in the same residence 
including, but not limited to, biological parents, adoptive parents, step-parents, and children 
(biological and adoptive). The most recent federal tax return is the preferred method of 
collecting household size. 

When a federal tax return  is not available, it  is important to  determine the relationship the 
individual has to the Head of the Household (i.e., the person who is financially liable), and 
the individual’s residence and source of financial support. The Service Coordinator 
completes the Household Size and Other Income Worksheet (see Chapter 5 Documents).  

2. Income Information 

Income information is defined as earned and unearned income with allowable expenses. The 
most recent federal tax return is the preferred method for collecting income information. In 
order to determine the family’s adjusted gross income, the Service Coordinator collects 
income information from the parent or an individual acting in the role of parent (e.g., 
guardian, foster parent). 

The federal tax return captures both earned and unearned income. Child support is excluded 
from income information.  
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 Earned Income. Gross annual earned income means the total income from 
employment sources before payroll deductions and other withholdings. Examples 
include salaries and wages, tips, commissions, bonuses and any other income as 
required in the reporting of federal income tax.   

 Unearned Income. Gross annual unearned income means the total income from 
investments and other sources unrelated to employment. Examples include 
interest earnings, dividends, annuities, rents, pensions, disability/survivor 
benefits, workers compensation, unemployment, retirement benefits, and any 
other income as required in the reporting of federal income tax.  

 Payroll Information 

If a federal tax return is not available, then the parent must provide either the most recent 
pay check stubs, or a signed letter from the employer stating the current level of income. 
When income is determined using payroll information, the income may be higher since it 
does not include exemptions that would be in a federal tax return.  

The Service Coordinator must view the family’s financial information so it may be recorded 
on the Household Size and Other Income Worksheet. However, the Service Coordinator is 
not required to collect a copy of the payroll information.  

If the parent gives a copy of financial documentation to the Service Coordinator, the documents 
should be destroyed after the income information is no longer needed to determine the monthly 
fee. This prevents the parent’s financial record from becoming part of the child’s paper record. 

3. Fee Schedule 

The Family Cost Participation – Fee Schedule (see Chapter 5 Documents) is a sliding scale 
based on household size and income using 200% of the federal poverty level guidelines. The 
fee schedule is updated annually on July 1st when changes occur in the federal poverty 
guidelines. The monthly fee is determined based on the family’s placement on the sliding 
scale. 

The family is determined to have the inability to pay if their household size and income 
places them on the fee schedule at $0, the child is enrolled in MO HealthNet/Medicaid, the 
family receives SSI or Food Stamps, or the child in First Steps is in foster care.  

When a parent chooses to decline consent to use public insurance, the Service Coordinator 
may need to override the fee calculation to ensure the family’s monthly fee is $0.  

For a family determined to have the ability to pay, the minimum fee is $5 and the maximum 
fee is $100 per month. If a family has more than one child participating in First Steps, then the 
family is charged one fee per month.  
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The monthly fee is set at the maximum amount of $100 if a parent declines to provide 
financial information in order to determine the ability to pay, or it is determined a parent 
intentionally provided false financial or household information for the FCP determination. 
The maximum amount is charged to the family until the next fee review.    

When a parent chooses to decline consent to use private insurance, it does not impact the 
monthly fee. The monthly fee is determined based on household size and income. 

After the monthly fee is calculated in the child’s electronic record, the Service Coordinator must 
send the parent a copy of the Monthly Fee Determination from the child’s electronic record. 

 Parent Delay 

If the parent does not have financial documentation available at the IFSP meeting, then the 
Service Coordinator sends the parent the Family Cost Participation Information Letter (see 
Chapter 5 Letters). A parent delay in providing financial documentation to assess the ability 
to pay cannot be used as a reason to delay the timeline to finalize the IFSP.  

B. Additional Family Cost Participation Reviews  

There may be times outside of the required annual fee reviews that a parent would like to have the 
fee reviewed due to a difficult financial situation, a change in income or household size, or when the 
parent reports an error with the FCP account.   

1. Financial Hardship Determination 

When a family is experiencing a difficult financial situation, the Service Coordinator 
discusses financial hardship with the parent. If the parent is interested in pursuing a hardship 
determination, then the parent completes the Parent Request for a Financial Hardship 
Determination worksheet (see Chapter 5 Documents). The parent must provide supporting 
documentation indicating one or more of the following situations: 

 Loss of Home. This includes the destruction of the home (i.e., insurance claim 
showing total loss or significant damage to the home), or bank repossession of the 
home. 

 Loss of Job. This includes a parent losing a job and not working another job, not able 
to work for medical/physical reasons, the business closed or stopped operation, or a 
household member was laid-off temporarily or long term. To be considered for 
financial hardship, the loss of annual income must be more than 10%.  

 Extensive Medical Costs. This includes actual out-of-pocket costs paid by the family 
and not reimbursed by medical insurance or other program, such as co-pays, 
deductibles, hospital bills, and specialist bills. To be considered for financial 
hardship, the medical costs must be more than 10% of the family’s annual income, 
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the medical costs occurred in the past 12 months and the costs were not included in 
the previously reported annual income. 

 Other. This includes other life events that resulted in a financial hardship for a  
family. This option requires the SPOE Director to review and approve the request. 

When a financial hardship is requested, the SPOE Director evaluates the request and  
determines whether the nature of the family’s situation meets the criteria for a financial 
hardship. The SPOE Director may choose one of the following four options: 

 Recalculate the monthly fee to the appropriate amount based on a reduction in the 
annual income due to loss of job 

 Reduce the monthly fee to $5, the minimum fee 

 Reduce the monthly fee to $0 

 No change to the current monthly fee 

If the financial hardship request results in an adjustment to the monthly fee, then the Service 
Coordinator enters the new fee in the child’s electronic record. The Service Coordinator must 
provide the parent with a copy of the Monthly Fee Determination  from the child’s electronic 
record. 

As part of a financial hardship determination, the SPOE Director cannot request any FCP 
statement balance that is over 30 days be reduced to $0.  

The Service Coordinator must review the financial hardship determination at each Annual 
IFSP to verify the hardship still applies. The review of the hardship must be documented in 
case notes. 

2. Parent Requests a Fee Review 

A parent may request a review of the monthly fee due to a change in household size, income 
information or a potential error in the FCP account balance or calculation. 

a) Report a Change 

The parent has 15 working days to report any change in household size, income or 
insurance to the Service Coordinator. The Service Coordinator must review 
documentation related to the reported change as soon as possible. For changes in 
household size or income information, a new Financial Information for Family Cost 
Participation form is completed. For changes in private or public insurance, a new 
Consent to use Private Insurance or Consent to Use MO HealthNet/Medicaid form is 
completed. The Service Coordinator updates the child’s electronic record accordingly. 

If the parent reports the change within 15 working days of the event, then the Service 
Coordinator can backdate the new monthly fee determination to the date the change 
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occurred. If backdating the new fee determination impacts the previous month’s balance, 
then the SPOE Director should contact the Area Director to reduce the family’s current FCP 
balance. 

If the parent does not report the change within 15 working days of the event and a new 
fee is calculated for the family, then the new fee is effective as of the date the change was 
reported. The Service Coordinator cannot backdate the reduced monthly fee because the 
new fee is not retroactive to the date the change occurred. 

b) Administrative Review 

The parent must submit, in writing, a request for an administrative review regarding a 
potential error in the monthly fee or hardship determination. The request must outline the 
reason for the review and include any supporting documentation. 

Within ten business days of receiving the request, the SPOE Director must make a 
determination if the fee should change. The SPOE Director’s determination must be 
based on FCP guidance and documentation provided by the parent. 

If the SPOE Director determines an error was made, then the SPOE Director may: 1) set 
a new monthly fee based on the documentation received, or 2) submit a request to the 
Area Director to correct the current balance.  

 Parent Disputes Family Cost Participation Fees 

A parent who wants to contest the imposition of a fee or the state’s determination of 
the parent’s ability to pay may do one of the following 

 Participate in mediation 

 Request a due process hearing 

 File a child complaint 

 Use any other procedure established by the state for speedy resolution of 
financial claims, provided such use does not delay or deny the parent’s rights 

For more information on the dispute of fees, see Chapter 2. 

C. First Steps Explanation of Benefits and Family Cost Participation Statement 

The parent of a child in First Steps may receive two types of documents from the CFO, a First 
Steps Explanation of Benefits and a Family Cost Participation Statement. Both documents are 
mailed to the address of the person listed as the Head of Household in the child’s record. 
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1. Explanation of Benefits 

Each month the CFO sends every family an EOB. The EOB is not a bill, rather a list of the 
dates of service and hours billed by each provider serving the child and family.   

The Service Coordinator explains the EOB is a way for the parent to confirm the services 
billed were delivered to the family. If the parent finds a discrepancy in the EOB, then the 
parent should contact the Service Coordinator to review the services. If the Service 
Coordinator confirms the discrepancy, then either the parent or the Service Coordinator 
reports the discrepancy to DESE. 

2. Family Cost Participation Statement 

For families with a monthly fee or a balance on their First Steps account, the CFO sends a 
Family Cost Participation Statement (see Chapter 5 Documents) which is the family’s bill 
for First Steps participation. The family receives one Family Cost Participation Statement per 
month regardless of how many children they have participating in First Steps. Every family 
is assigned a Household Identification number; therefore, in order for the family to have one 
monthly fee, siblings must have their Household Identification numbers combined via a 
Household Transfer in the child’s electronic record. The Service Coordinator completes the 
Household Transfer prior to the Initial IFSP meeting. 

When a child is  in foster  care,  the Service Coordinator does not combine the Household 
Identification number with any other children.   

The Family Cost Participation Statement lists the current monthly fee, any adjustments to the 
fee and the balance due. The date range of services is 60 days prior to the statement date, 
which corresponds to the 60-day timeframe for providers to bill for services.  

Since there is a 60-day delay in the date range designated on the Family Cost Participation 
Statement, the family is not charged a monthly fee for the first 60 days following the Initial 
IFSP meeting. The Service Coordinator informs the family of this at the Initial IFSP to 
reduce confusion when the family receives their first Family Cost Participation Statement.  
A family is not charged a monthly fee when they receive only no-cost services during the 
timeframe designated on the Family Cost Participation Statement.  

Except for no-cost services, any service paid within the date range designated on the Family 
Cost Participation Statement is included in the amount charged to the family. 

The Family Cost Participation Statement is generated based on data entered in the child’s 
electronic record as of the 27th of the month. Timely data entry of FCP information is critical 
to ensure the family receives an accurate statement because WebSPOE does not correct 
previous statements due to late data entry, even if information is backdated.  

The monthly fee is applicable as of the FCP statement date, not the date of service. For 
example, if a fee is set at $5 as of May 27th and the family received at least one service within 
the date range of February 28th to March 27th, then the family is charged $5 on the May 

Missouri First Steps Practice Manual  
Chapter 5: System of Payments 
Page 18 of 27 Updated April 2018 



 

 
  

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

  
      

 

 
 

 
        

   

 

   
   

   

   
 

 
   

   
     

   

statement. The following Family Cost Participation Statement schedule shows the date range 
of services for each monthly statement:  

Family Cost Participation Statement Schedule 
Statement Date Date Range of Services* 

January 27th 10/28 – 11/27 
February 27th 11/28 – 12/27 
March 27th 12/28 – 1/27 
April 27th 1/28 – 2/27 
May 27th 2/28 – 3/27 
June 27th 3/28 – 4/27 
July 27th 4/28 – 5/27 

August 27th 5/28 – 6/27 
September 27th 6/28 – 7/27 

October 27th 7/28 – 8/27 
November 27th 8/28 – 9/27 
December 27th 9/28 – 10/27 

* These dates of services must be paid by the Statement 
Date to be included in the Family Cost Participation 
Statement. 

3. Monthly Fee Adjustments 

Families cannot be charged more than the actual cost of the service, factoring in the amount 
received from other sources (e.g., private insurance). To ensure this requirement is met, there are 
two adjustments calculated in WebSPOE, as needed: an adjustment for services, and an  
adjustment for private insurance coverage. 

a) Adjustment for Services 

Each month the CFO reviews all paid services for the date range designated on the Family 
Cost Participation Statement to determine the amount of services compared to the monthly 
fee.  

When the amount of paid early intervention services is less than the monthly fee, the monthly 
charge for that month is automatically adjusted for the difference. For example, if a family’s 
monthly fee is $100 and the family received one hour of special instruction (i.e., $68) during 
the designated timeframe, then the FCP statement reflects a $32 adjustment for the service. 
The monthly charge for that month is $68. 

b) Adjustment for Private Insurance Coverage 

Each month, after the review of the adjustment for services is complete, the CFO reviews 
private insurance coverage for any family who still has a monthly fee remaining. When a 
parent provides consent to use private insurance and the insurance carrier made a direct 
claims election, First Steps assumes the insurance company will pay for a portion of the cost 
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to deliver services. The only services applicable to private insurance coverage are assistive 
technology devices, occupational therapy, speech language pathology and physical therapy. 
When one of these four services is delivered as a direct service, the service is considered 
“submittable.” All other early intervention services and all other methods are considered 
“non-submittable” (e.g., family training, consultation, support joint visit, teletherapy).  

The CFO conducts another review of all the services paid during the date range designated on 
the Family Cost Participation Statement to determine if any services are non-submittable to 
private insurance. If there are any non-submittable services, then the family is charged the 
monthly fee to help pay for the non-submittable service. For example, if a family with a 
monthly fee of $59.94 receives four hours of special instruction direct service at $272 and 
two hours of physical therapy support joint visit at $136, then the parent  is charged the  
monthly fee of $59.94. 

However, if the family has only submittable services, the insurance carrier made a direct 
claims election, and parental consent on file during the date range designated on the Family 
Cost Participation Statement, then the family’s charge for that month is reduced to $0 to 
ensure the family does not pay more than the cost of services covered by private insurance. 
For example, if a family with a monthly fee of $100 receives one hour of occupational 
therapy direct service at $68 and one hour of physical therapy direct service at $68, then the 
Family Cost Participation Statement reflects a $100 adjustment for private insurance 
coverage. The monthly charge for that month is $0.  

D. Family Cost Participation Payments and Suspension 

Parents determined to have the ability to pay must make monthly payments  to First Steps.  If a  
parent does not make the required monthly payments, then early intervention services are 
suspended. 

1. Family Cost Participation Payments 

Parents are expected to pay the balance on their Family Cost Participation Statement each 
month before the due date, which is the 20th of each month. Parents may make their FCP 
payment by mailing a check or money order to the CFO. Parents may also make their 
payment via online bill pay if this function is available through their banking institution. 

The CFO processes all payments received from parents and posts payments to the FCP 
account in the child’s electronic record. The Service Coordinator can view the Family Cost 
Participation Statement that is greater than $0 and account balance in the child’s electronic 
record. 
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2. Failure to Pay 

The parent must pay the minimum amount due each month in order to keep their FCP 
account current. If the payment of a monthly fee is not received at the CFO by the 27th of the 
month, then a payment will not appear on the next Family Cost Participation Statement.    

When the parent is 30 days late in paying the monthly fee, the child’s name appears on the 
FCP Aging List on the WebSPOE homepage. This list is updated on the 28th of every month. 
The SPOE reviews the FCP Aging List and monitors accounts that are overdue. 

a) 60th Day Overdue 

When a FCP account is 60 days overdue, the SPOE contacts the parent to explain the 
payment and suspension timeline. The SPOE must inform the parent that if payment is 
not received at the CFO prior to the 90th day of nonpayment, then IFSP services will be 
suspended, with the exception of no-cost services. Additionally, the SPOE should inquire 
why the parent has not made a payment (e.g., not receiving statements, change in income, 
medical bills). If applicable, the SPOE discusses financial hardship with the parent. 

b) 75th Day Letter 

A family with a balance that is 60 days overdue has an additional letter, the 75th Day 
Letter (see Chapter 5 Letters), included with the monthly Family Cost Participation 
Statement. This letter is mailed to the Head of Household indicating the date the family’s 
early intervention services will be suspended if the minimum balance due is not paid.   

Prior to the 90th day, the Service Coordinator attempts to contact the parent to ensure the 
parent received a Family Cost Participation Statement and to determine if the parent has 
made a recent payment. If the parent has not made a payment, then the Service Coordinator 
discusses the impact of not making a payment by the 90th day. 

3. Suspension of Services 

Regardless of the amount or type of early intervention services authorized  in the child’s  
IFSP, a family is eligible to have their services suspended when their FCP account is 90 days 
overdue. The SPOE has 14 calendar days to suspend services. Prior to suspension, the SPOE 
reviews the FCP account to verify if any payments equal to the 90 day balance have been 
posted to the account. If a payment has been made, the account reverts back to 30 or 60 days 
overdue, which takes the family out of suspension status. If no payments have been posted, 
then the SPOE proceeds with suspension. The SPOE must contact the parent to explain early 
intervention services have been suspended. 

When the SPOE suspends services in the child’s electronic record, all active authorizations 
are cancelled as of the suspension date, with the exception of any no-cost services. The 
SPOE does not have the ability to individually select authorizations to cancel. Since the 
family’s providers may deliver services on the date of suspension, the SPOE uses one day in 
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the future (i.e., tomorrow’s date) as the suspension date to ensure providers are able to bill 
for all delivered services. The child’s record will show the record is suspended the day after 
the suspension button is selected. 

Providers with an active authorization for service will receive an email notification that the 
authorization was cancelled. The Service Coordinator should contact (i.e., call or email) the 
providers to ensure they are aware of the cancellation to prevent the provider from delivering 
another service to the family.  

When the account is suspended, the Service Coordinator must continue to conduct all 
required IFSP meetings within the specified timelines (e.g., Six-Month Review, Annual 
Review, and Transition Plan/Conference). Although the IFSP team cannot create any new 
child or family outcomes for the IFSP while the account is suspended, the team can discuss 
the family’s concerns and support the family in locating and accessing local resources. If the 
IFSP team decides to make changes to the IFSP (e.g., change services), the Service 
Coordinator cannot change the IFSP until the account is reinstated. However, all no-cost 
services (e.g., ongoing assessments, service coordination) identified by the IFSP team must 
continue to be delivered to the family. 

As long as the family is maintaining contact with the Service Coordinator, a family in 
suspension remains enrolled in First Steps. However, if the Service Coordinator is unable to 
locate or contact the family, then the Service Coordinator begins the inactivation procedures. 
For more information on unable to contact or locate procedures, see Chapter 6. 

4. Reinstatement of Services 

Once suspended, the parent must bring the account current (i.e., pay the full amount due) before 
early intervention services can be reinstated.  

a) Reinstatement Less Than 90 Days 

If a parent brings the FCP account current within 90 days from the suspension date, then 
the cancelled authorizations are reinstated without an IFSP team meeting. When the 
services are reinstated, all of the most recent service authorizations automatically restart 
under a new authorization number with the original end date.  

The Service Coordinator verifies the availability of the previous providers, as previous 
providers may not be able to take the child back into their caseload, and a provider 
change may be necessary. The Service Coordinator notifies the family and providers once 
services and authorizations are reestablished.  

b) Reinstatement 90 Days or More 

If a parent brings the FCP account current 90 days or more from the suspension date, then 
the Service Coordinator must schedule an IFSP meeting to review the outcomes, services 
and availability of providers before the services are reinstated. After the IFSP meeting, 
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the Service Coordinator enters new service authorizations and early intervention services 
may resume. 

E. Family Cost Participation When Exiting First Steps 

When a family leaves First Steps,  there  may  be a balance or  a  credit remaining on the FCP 
account. For three months after the month the child’s electronic record is closed, the parent 
continues to receive a Family Cost Participation Statement for services received prior to exit. 
The parent is expected to pay the amount listed on the final statements.  

If the family made payments in excess of the current amount due and the funds are not needed to 
satisfy future monthly fees, then the family is refunded the balance. If the family has another 
child actively enrolled in First Steps, then no refund is offered until the family has no children 
actively enrolled. 

Three months after the month the child’s electronic record was closed, the parent receives a final 
Family Cost Participation Statement. The final statement indicates a $0 balance and, if 
applicable, an adjustment reason for situations where the balance was adjusted (e.g., a refund is 
generated). 

FCP refunds are automatically issued to the parent in a check from the CFO. The check is made 
payable to the Head of Household and is sent to the Head of Household’s mailing address. 
Approximately one week after the final Family Cost Participation Statement, the Head of 
Household will receive a check in the mail.  
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SECTION IV: EXPLAINING THE SYSTEM OF PAYMENTS POLICY 

Missouri Part C State Plan Section XVIII. (34 CFR 303.500 through 303.521) 

The Service Coordinator reviews the System of Payments policy with the parent during the 
intake visit, Initial IFSP meeting and Annual IFSP meeting. The Service Coordinator must be 
knowledgeable of the content of the policy and be prepared to answer any questions the parent 
may have when explaining the policy.   

A. Intake Visit 

The Service Coordinator provides the parent with a copy of the System of Payments policy at the 
intake visit. The Service Coordinator reviews the components of the policy with the parent, 
including the availability of the no-cost services. The Service Coordinator explains to the parent 
how, if their child is eligible, the monthly fee is determined and any potential ramifications if the 
parent chooses to provide consent for the use of private or public insurance.  

The Service Coordinator must verify the child’s legal name. It is critical that the child’s legal 
name is entered in the electronic record in order to ensure private and public insurance can match 
the child with their records. 

The Service Coordinator does not obtain consent for private insurance at the intake visit. 
However, by the conclusion of the intake visit, the Service Coordinator is required to review the 
Consent to Use MO HealthNet/Medicaid form with the parent. Obtaining consent at the intake 
visit is important for MO HealthNet/Medicaid to help pay for the evaluation of the child, in 
addition to other early intervention services if the child is eligible for First Steps. Although the 
evaluation of the child is a no-cost service, MO HealthNet/Medicaid reimburses First Steps for 
the cost of an evaluation. 

The Service Coordinator must have the parent indicate whether the child has public insurance, 
and if so, whether the parent gives consent to use public insurance. For more information on 
obtaining consent for public insurance, see Section II. 

B. Initial IFSP Meeting 

In preparation for the Initial IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator informs the parent of any 
applicable financial and insurance documentation that must be available at the IFSP meeting. 

At the Initial IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator provides the parent with another copy of the 
System of Payments policy. The Service Coordinator reviews all components of the policy and 
answers any questions the parent may have before services begin. 
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By the conclusion of the Initial IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator is required to review the 
Consent to Use Private Insurance form with the parent. The Service Coordinator must have the 
parent indicate whether the child has private insurance, and if so, whether the parent gives 
consent to use private insurance. For more information on obtaining consent for private 
insurance, see Section I. 

The Service Coordinator also reviews the Financial Information for Family Cost Participation 
form with the parent. The Service Coordinator has the parent confirm household size and income 
information, as applicable. For more information on family cost participation, see Section III. 

After the Initial IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator updates the child’s electronic record 
accordingly and sends the IFSP, the Monthly Fee Determination and a copy of any forms 
completed at the Initial IFSP meeting to the parent.  

C. Annual IFSP Meeting 

In preparation for the Annual IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator informs the parent of any 
applicable financial and insurance documentation that must be available at the IFSP meeting. 

At the Annual IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator provides the parent with another copy of 
the System of Payments policy. The Service Coordinator reviews all components of the policy 
and answers any questions the parent may have since receiving services. 

By the conclusion of the Annual IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator asks the parent if any 
changes have occurred in public insurance coverage, and if so, a new Consent to Use MO 
HealthNet/Medicaid form is completed accordingly.  

The Service Coordinator is required to review the Consent to Use Private Insurance form with 
the parent. Regardless of any change in coverage or services identified  in the IFSP, a new  
Consent to Use Private Insurance form is completed for every family.  

The Service Coordinator is also required to review the Financial Information for Family Cost 
Participation form with the parent. Regardless of any change in household size or income, a new 
Financial Information for Family Cost Participation form is completed for every family. 

After the Annual IFSP meeting, the Service Coordinator updates the child’s electronic record 
accordingly and sends the IFSP, the Monthly Fee Determination and a copy of any forms 
completed at the Annual IFSP meeting to the parent.  
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SECTION V: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Question 1: How is household size calculated if the parents are dependents themselves? 

Answer: If the parents filed a federal tax return, the Service Coordinator uses 
information on the federal tax return to complete the household size on the Financial 
Information for Family Cost Participation form. If there is no federal tax return to establish 
household, then a dependency test must be used to complete the form. 

Question 2: If the child’s parents live together but are not married, what income information is 
collected? 

Answer: If the parents filed separate federal tax returns, the Service Coordinator uses 
both federal tax returns to determine the fee. If no federal tax returns are available, the 
Service Coordinator collects payroll or other income information. 

Question 3: If a family receives special instruction or a service other than an assistive technology 
device, occupational therapy, speech language pathology and physical therapy, is the parent 
required to sign the Consent to Use Private Insurance form? 

Answer: Yes. Each parent completes a private insurance form at the Initial and Annual 
IFSP meetings to document the parent’s decision to use private insurance. 

Question 4: For assistive technology devices, what does the Service Coordinator list as the 
frequency of service on the Consent to Use Private Insurance form? 

Answer: The frequency for assistive technology is the estimated number of items to be 
purchased according to the current authorizations in the child’s IFSP. 

Question 5: If parents share custody and the child receives services in both homes, which home 
is considered to be the child’s household? 

Answer: For the purposes of family cost participation, the parent who claimed the child 
on the federal tax return is considered to be the household.  

Question 6: When entering the insurance carrier name in the child’s electronic record, can the 
Service Coordinator use the option of “carrier not on file?” 

Answer: No. The Service Coordinator should avoid using carrier not on file as the 
insurance carrier name because early intervention services cannot be submitted to private 
insurance unless the carrier’s name is correctly selected from the list in WebSPOE.  

If an insurance carrier’s name is not found on the list in WebSPOE, the Service  
Coordinator should ask for assistance from the SPOE Director or call the CFO Help Desk 
at (866) 711-2573, extension 3. 
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Question 7: When a family moves to another SPOE region, does the new Service Coordinator 
need to enter a new Monthly Fee Determination? 

Answer: No. Unless in conjunction with an Initial or Annual IFSP meeting, the new 
SPOE/Service Coordinator is not required to enter a new Monthly Fee Determination.   
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