
    

    

   

 

    

   

 

 

  

        

  

   

    

       

 

   

     

  

                 

Show Your Support for Education with a 

Personalized "Helping Schools" License Plate 

The Missouri Legislature authorized the "Helping Schools" personalized license plate as a way to benefit 

elementary and secondary schools in Missouri. According to the law (Section 301.454), any school (public or 

private) or nonprofit organization connected with a school may participate in the program. Proceeds from 

the Helping Schools license plate may be used for "any academically related purpose." 

Participating schools and organizations receive $15 per year from the applicant for each personalized plate.  

Applicants also pay $15 per year to the Missouri Department of Revenue when requesting and renewing 

their Helping Schools license plates. 

If applying for a biennial (two-year) registration, the minimum contribution is $30. 

Note: The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education does not manage or regulate the Helping 

Schools license plate program. The Department receives no funds through the program. It is up to local 

schools to decide if they wish to participate and to develop their own procedures for receiving and using 

contributions. 

How to Obtain a Helping Schools License Plate 

1. Contact your local school or school district. Find out if the school is participating and who the contact

person is for the Helping Schools license plate.

2. Make a contribution of $15 per year to the sponsoring school or education-related organization.

When this contribution is paid, the sponsoring organization will issue an "emblem-use authorization

form." This form must be signed by a representative of the sponsoring organization. This form is your

receipt and you must have one to obtain the license plate.

3. Complete the "Application for Missouri Personalized and Special License Plates," Form 1716. (This

form can also be obtained from the Department of Revenue or your local license office.) Submit the

completed form, the emblem-use form and the state fee of $15 per year to the Department of

Revenue.

4. You will be notified by mail when your plates are available at your local license office.

http://dor.mo.gov/forms/1716.pdf
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/30100004541.html


 

  

   

  

     

    

  

  

   

       

  

 

Tips for Participating Schools & Organizations 

Any school or school district (public or private), or nonprofit school-related organizations, may participate in 

the Helping Schools license plate program. It is not necessary to "register" with anyone to take part in the 

program. 

If your school or organization chooses to participate, we recommend the following: 

• Notify officials at your local driver’s license office about your plans. See if they have suggestions to

help you manage the program smoothly. Let them know who the contact persons are in your school

or organization.

• Establish clear procedures on how contributions will be collected and allocated. Make sure school

personnel and community members know where and how to make their contributions. Funds

collected through this program may be used at the school district level, at the building level, or by a

designated organization (such as a PTA, a scholarship committee or foundation, etc.). It is important

that you let patrons, school personnel and parents know how the proceeds from their contributions

will be used.

• Keep accurate records.




