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School Bus Definition and Use 

The term school bus means any motor vehicle, either 
publicly or privately owned, used to transport students to 
and from school, or to transport pupils properly chaperoned 
to and from any place within the state for educational 
purposes (Section 302.010, RSMo).  

 School buses that are school district owned vehicles 
cannot be used for purposes other than transporting 
students (Section 301.260 and 302.010, RSMo). 

 Commercially licensed, contractor owned, school buses 
that have the school bus signs covered in such a way 
that it does not appear as a school bus can be used for 
other purposes (Section 304.075, RSMo). 

 



School Buses and Seat Belts 

 School buses are equipped with a passive restraint system 
called compartmentalization that means that the seating 
area of a school bus is built with specially padded high-
back, wider, thicker seats that protect people in school 
buses during accidents.   

 

 No metal surfaces are exposed and seats are spaced close 
together to contain the students in cushioned 
compartments. 

 

 There is no safer means of ground transportation than a 
yellow school bus. 

 



1953-2013 School Bus Seats 



 Since July 1, 2001, any vehicle that transports 11 
or more passengers including the driver that is 
newly purchased, leased, or contracted must be a 
school bus and meet all Missouri Minimum 
Standards for School Buses as well as all Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards for School Buses 
(with the exception of motor coaches).  

 This means that a school district cannot 
purchase, contract, or rent 12/15/17 passenger 
vans for the transportation of school children. 

 

Non-Conforming Van Use 



The operator of a school bus cannot 
transport more children than the 
manufacturer suggests as appropriate 
(Section 304.060, RSMo).  

 

Each passenger must have seating space 
sufficient enough to ensure that the back of 
each passenger can come into full contact 
with the seat back (and 5 CSR 30-261.010 
(5)(B)3.I). 
 

School Bus Maximum Capacity 



 Every school bus used to transport children 
to or from school must be inspected within 
sixty days prior to operating the bus during 
the school year and in the spring by the 
Missouri State Highway Patrol (Section 
307.375, RSMo). 

 The board of education must require school 
bus drivers to conduct and prepare a record 
of the daily pretrip inspection for each 
school bus (5 CSR 30-261.010 (1)(K)). 

 

School Bus Inspections 



 Emergency evacuation drills on school buses 
are required for all students in kindergarten 
through sixth grade at least once per semester.   
 

 The first drill must be completed prior to 
October 31. 

   

 The public school district board of education 
shall prescribe emergency evacuation drill 
requirements for all other students (5 CSR 30-
261.010 (1)(J)). 

 

Evacuation Drills 



Maximum ride time is established by 
the local boards of education.  There 
are no restrictions on ride time 
within the Missouri Statutes or State 
Board of Education Regulations. 
 

School Bus Ride Times 



 School bus stops should be  
    established no less than 500 feet  
    apart.   

 

 The prewarning amber flashing  
    lights are to be activated 500 feet  
    before a designated stop.  
 

Minimum Distance Between School 

Bus Stops 

 



Visibility Distance Required at a Bus Stop 

The bus must be visible for at least three hundred 
feet in each direction on other highways (Section 
304.050, RSMo). 

 

When stopping, the school bus must be visible for at 
least five hundred feet in each direction on a 
highway with no shoulder and a speed limit greater 
than sixty miles per hour.   

 



Drivers’ License and School Bus 

Endorsement Requirement 

 A CDL w/passenger endorsement and a School  
 Bus Endorsement (SBE) are needed for any  
 driver of a vehicle that is 26,000 lbs or greater  
 (including mechanics).  

 

 A Class E Operator’s License and SBE are  
 needed for any driver of a vehicle that is less  
 than 26,000 lbs. and who is compensated for  
 transporting school children (Section 302.010,  
 RSMo). 
 

 



School Bus Endorsement (SBE) 

Exceptions 

 The term school bus operator shall not include any 
person who transports school children, in a vehicle that 
is capable of transporting 15 or less including the driver, 
as an incident to employment with a school district, such 
as a teacher, coach, administrator, secretary, school 
nurse, or janitor, unless such person is under contract 
with or employed by a school district as a school bus 
operator (Section 302.010, RSMo).   

 Only “school bus operators” and CDL-licensed school 
bus drivers are required to have a SBE.   

 All school bus drivers must have the proper driver’s 
license for the vehicle they are operating. 

 



School Bus Drivers Physical 

School bus drivers must have a physical examination 
annually, no more than ninety days before the beginning of 
the school year (5 CSR 30-261.040). 
 
Only drivers employed with a school bus contractor who 
drive more than home-school-home routes are required, 
by federal regulation, to have DOT physicals; however, 
local school district and/or contractor policy may require 
DOT physicals for other drivers. 
 
Anyone who is licensed in Missouri to perform physical 
examinations can perform a school bus driver physical  
(5 CSR 30-261.040). 

 



School Bus Driver Training 

  All school bus drivers must have 8   
 hours of annual training. 

 

  The district or contractor should  
 retain the documentation of this  
 training in the employee’s training  
 file. 

 



Certified School Bus Driver Instructor 

Program 

The Certified School Bus Driver Instructor Program 
is a program to train and certify individuals as 
school bus driver trainers.   

 This program helps a school district maintain a 
trained staff of drivers.   

 The Certified School Bus Driver Instructor training 
program is jointly sponsored by Central Missouri State 
University-Missouri Safety Center, Missouri School 
Bus Contractors Association (MSBCA), Missouri 
Association of Pupil Transportation (MAPT), and the 
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s 
School Governance Section.   

 



Certified School Bus Driver Instructor 

Program (cont.) 

 This program is usually conducted during the 
months of June and July and provides individuals 
with classroom and hands-on practical 
instruction activities.   

 The goal is to provide each trainee with a model 
curriculum and instructional skills necessary to 
design and implement a school bus driver 
training program (Section 302.272, RSMo). 

 To retain the certification a trainer must attend a 
recertification course at least every three years. 

 



Criminal History Background Check 

 

School districts must ensure that all new school 
bus drivers have a criminal history background 
check through the MSHP vendor. 

 

http://dese.mo.gov/educator-
quality/certification/fingerprintingbackground-
check 

 



Ridership 

 Students living more than three and one-half miles from 
school must be provided transportation service.  

  

 All students can be transported by local board decision 
(Section 167.231, RSMo).  

 

 Funding is available for students who live one mile or 
more from school. 

 

 No funding is available for students who live less than 
one mile from school (except when required by an   
IEP). 

 



Eligible Miles Definition 

 Eligible transportation miles are those miles traveled 
from where the bus is kept at night until it returns to the 
same location after the pupils have been returned home, 
as long as it is used only to transport pupils to and from 
school (at the beginning and ending of the regular 
school day).  

 Eligible miles include handicapped summer school route 
miles, but do not include non-handicapped summer 
school route miles.  

 Eligible transportation miles are eligible for state 
transportation aid (5 CSR 30-261.010(5)(A)(1) and  
5 CSR 30-261.040). 

 



Ineligible Miles Definition 

 All miles that are driven for any purpose other than 
transporting students to and from school during the regular 
school term are ineligible for state transportation aid.   

 Non-handicapped summer school routes, non-handicapped 
early childhood routes, field trips, athletic trips, and other extra-
curricular activity trips are examples of ineligible miles.   

 Miles traveled to rerun a route or part of a route to transport 
students participating in before-school or after-school activities 
or training (including remediation and extra-curricular) are also 
ineligible miles.   

 All ineligible miles shall be recorded and subsequently reported 
on the Application for State Transportation Aid (5 CSR 30-
261.010(5)(A)(2) and 5 CSR 30-261.040 (3)(B)). 

 



2015-16 Transportation Data Collection 

 The transportation data are collected through the 
Annual Secretary of the Board Report via the ASBR web 
submission process.  

 

 The data required for the Application for State 
Transportation Aid (ridership, days operated, mileage) 
and School Bus and Facility Depreciation Schedules have 
not changed. 

   

 The ASBR is submitted on the WEB-based format by 
August 15 of each year.   
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