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Residency




Residency — Section 167.020, RSMo Cmissour

| EDUCATION.
Determines right to register in a Missouri Public school
Residency established through
0  Meeting statutory definition
0  Meeting an exception to the statutory definition
o Waiver of proof of residency
0 Residency Enrollment Checklist can be located at
https://dese.mo.gov/sites/default/files/sf-

ResidencyEnrollmentChecklist.pdf

0 Residency Frequently Asked Questions can be located at

https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-
governance/residency-student-enrollment



https://dese.mo.gov/sites/default/files/sf-ResidencyEnrollmentChecklist.pdf
https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-governance/residency-student-enrollment

Statutory Definition of Residency ?Eouc;mo:\l

* Section 167.020, RSMo
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtm|/16700000201.html

* Student resides and is domiciled within the district with a parent,
military guardian or court-ordered legal guardian

* Based on the student’s physical presence in the district

* Homeless Child

o Person under 21 years of age who lacks a fixed, regular and
adequate nighttime residence


http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/16700000201.html

éMissouri
Enrollment of Homeless [EBUCERSH.

* Homeless is an exception to residency requirement
(Section 167.020.6, RSMo)

* Federal Law —immediate school enrollment required

e Contact district’s homeless coordinator for more
information on enrolling homeless children/youth —
review schools residency and homeless policies



. - éMissouri
Special Circumstances [ ERUCATIGN

Section 167.151, RSMo
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/16700001511.html

Student is an orphan
Student only has one parent living
Agriculture (all conditions must be met)

o Owns real estate of which 80 acres or more are used for agricultural
purposes

o Parent’s residence is on the real estate
o At least 35% of the real estate is in the district

o Parent notified district on or before June 30 that the student would be
attending


http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/16700001511.html

. - éMissouri
Special Circumstances [ ERUCATIGN

* Parent is a teacher or a regular employee of the
school district

 Educational contracts between districts
 Unaccredited school transfers



l 1 OMisseun
Relative Caregiver SO

* Section 431.058, RSMo

* Signed notarized affidavit

* Must be relative by blood, marriage or adoption
* Must be 18 years of age or older

* Can make medical and educational decisions

* Must reside with relative caregiver



- AMissouri
Other Exce pthﬂS EBUCATION

* Interdistrict Transfer Program established under a
court-ordered desegregation program

* Ward of the State and has been placed in a
residential care facility by state officials

* Has been placed in a residential care facility due to a
mental illness or developmental disability

* Has been placed in a residential facility by a
juvenile court



Waiver of Proof of Residency ?EDUC;ATION

* Student resides in district alone or with someone
other than parent/guardian

* Waiver based upon hardship or good cause

* 45-day timeline for review of request

* Student enrolled until waiver acted upon, unless
superintendent certifies danger

* Denial of waiver appealed to circuit court

* Standard established in Horton v. Marshall



. . AMissouri
Guardianships | EBUCATION

* Chapter 475, RSMo
o Allows any person to file a petition in court for the appointment of
guardianship of a minor
o Issues:
* Usually requires hiring an attorney
* Payment of court costs
* Section 475.060(11), RSMo
0 Petition for the appointment of a guardian of a minor may be filed
for the sole and specific purpose of:
o School registration or
0 Medical insurance coverage
0 Popularly known as “educational guardianship”



o éMissouri
Non-resident Students [ EDUCATION

e Tuition paying students
* Tax credit tuition

* Transportation hardship



Preparing and Running a Board
Meeting




. AMissouri
Board Meetings [ EDUCATION

* Use old agendas for a template, pray that you have a great
board secretary
* Start preparing for the next board meeting during the
current one
* Administrative team meetings can help identify agenda items
* Work with board president closely
* Packets
o Mail, paperless, hand-delivered
o Work hard to keep board meetings concise and meaningful
o COMMUNICATE



Tax Rate Information




. ) . é Missouri
State Auditor’s Office (SAO) Property ESUERT TGN

- Located on the SAO website at
http://www.auditor.mo.gov/TaxRates/Index.aspx

- Single Rate Method — used for all counties other
than St. Louis County

- Multi Rate Method — used for St. Louis County

- Questions regarding the completion of these forms
should be directed to the SAO at 573-751-4213


http://www.auditor.mo.gov/TaxRates/Index.aspx

éMissouri

DE MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY
| EDUCATION.

Estimate of Required Local Taxes

* Establishes the tax rate to be extended onto the tax books for the
calendar year

* One form is sent to each county clerk where the school district has
assessed valuation

* Must be filed by Sept. 1 of each year
* Charter counties and the City of St. Louis must file the form must by Oct. 1
* The unadjusted and adjusted levies are reported by fund on this form

* Excel form can be located at http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-

services/school-finance/calculation-tools



http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools

. . AMissouri
District Tax Data [EDUCATION

 Collected on Core Data Screen 6

* Should reflect the same unadjusted and adjusted
levies by fund as filed with the county clerk on the
Estimate of Required Local Taxes

* Should reflect the same tax rate ceiling as approved
by the State Auditor’s Office



Tax Rate Hearing T e

* The board of education of a school district must hold
at least one public tax rate hearing on the proposed

tax rates before setting the tax rates for the school
district.

* The board of education determines the time and
place for such hearing.



{_}Missouri

Notice of Tax Rate Hearing R

- Notice must be published or posted at least seven days
prior to the date of the hearing.

- Notice must state the hour, date and place of the
hearing.

« Notice shall be published in at least one newspaper
qualified under the laws of Missouri of general
circulation in the county in which the largest portion of
the district is situated OR posted in at least three public
places within the school district.



. éMissouri
Notice Shall Include | EBUCATISH

 The assessed valuation by category of real, personal and other tangible
property in the school district for the fiscal year for which the tax is to
be levied (current fiscal year) and for the preceding taxable year.

 The amount of revenue required to be provided from the property tax
for each rate to be levied as set forth in the district’s annual budget and
the tax rates proposed to be set for the various purposes of taxation.

* Each political subdivision shall also include the increase in tax revenue
due to an increase in assessed valuation as a result of new construction
and improvement in the increase, both in dollar value and percentage,
in tax revenue as a result of reassessment if the proposed tax rate is
adopted.



: : G Missouri
Following the Hearing i el S

The board of education of the school district shall set the rates of
taxes to be extended onto the tax book.
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Budget Analysis/Projections




A Missouri
Budget | EDUCATION.

* Review the adopted budget
* Review all projected revenues and expenditures

* Pay close attention to major sources of revenues and
expenditures

e Compare to historical data



SAT, DVM and Threshold Percentages EMissour

| EDUCATION.
State Adequacy Target (SAT) = $6,375

Dollar Value Modifier (DVM) for can be viewed at

http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/data-reports

Threshold percentages

- |FY2019 & FY 2020/ FY 2021 & FY 2022
Free & Reduced-Price Lunch 31.42% 29.45%

Special Education (IEP) 12.06% 12.83%
Limited English Proficiency (LEP) 2.50% 2.07%


http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/data-reports

s éMissouri
FY 2020 Basic Formula [ ERUCATIGN

 Governor waived Section 163.031.7, RSMo.

o FY 2020 payment was prorated for underfunding off
of the total annualized payment.
o Ended the year at 95.20%

Example from 2014-2015

If Line 11 < Line 14, then district held harmless: (Line 14) $1,275,927.51
TotaI Basic Formula Payment (Greater of Line 11 or 16) $1,275,928
I Total Basic Formula Payment (Line 17) x 0.96869553 $1,235,986



s éMissouri
FY 2021 Basic Formula [ ERUCATIGN

Percentage

Full Funding $6,375.00 100.00%
$25,000,000 $6,341.75 99.14%
$50,000,000 $6,308.22 98.57%
$75,000,000 $6,274.36 97.86%
$100,000,000 $6,240.40 97.14%
$125,000,000 $6,206.40 96.43%

Average Drop per $25M -$33.72 -.7100%



éMissouri
Classroom Trust Fund | EBUEATISRN.

Classroom Trust Fund is one funding source of Basic Formula.

* Be careful not to double budget

Total Basic Classroom

Formula
(Line 17)

31



8. issouri
FY 2020 Classroom Trust Fund Esitren

$271,176,895 828,503 L 1] $327 Per
Cash 2019 ADA

ADA

As of the Final 2020 payment cash ran $78.8 million short of the
$349,999,054 appropriation.

32



8. issouri
FY 2021 Classroom Trust Fund fEDUCAﬂON

$353,359,579 $426.5 Per
Appropriated ADA

For every $S10 million short of the appropriation the amount per
ADA adjusts by -S12 per ADA.

33



8. issouri
FY 2021 Classroom Trust Fund fEDUCAﬂON

Appropriation m Amount Per ADA

$ 353,359,579.00 828,503.00 426.50

$343,359,579.00  828,503.00 414.43 S (12.07)

$333,359,579.00  828,503.00 402.36 S (12.07)

v v Wn Wwn

$323,359,579.00  828,503.00 390.29 S (12.07)

For every $S10 million short of the appropriation the amount per
ADA adjusts by -S12 per ADA.

34
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Classroom Trust Fund | EBUEATISRN.

The state can only distribute
funds actually collected

* Appropriated level may not
be reached

35



éMissouri
FY 2020 Prop C | ESUCATION.

$918,569,636 913,100 $1,005.99 per
Cash 2019 WADA WADA

As of the final 2020 payment cash ran $39.8 million short of the
$958,400,000 appropriation.

36



éMissouri
FY 2021 Prop C | ESUCATION.

$958,400,000 913,100 $1,050 per
Appropriation WADA WADA

For every $10 million short of the appropriation the amount per ADA
adjusts by -S11 per WADA.

37



éMissouri
FY 2021 Prop C | ESUCATION.

Appropriation | WADA | Amount Per ADA

$ 958,200,000.00 913,100.00 S 1,049.39

$ 948,200,000.00 913,100.00 S 1,038.44 S (10.95)
$ 938,200,000.00 913,100.00 S 1,027.49 S (10.95)
$ 928,200,000.00 913,100.00 S 1,016.54 S (10.95)
$918,200,000.00 913,100.00 S 1,005.59 S (10.95)

For every $10 million short of the appropriation the amount per ADA
adjusts by -S11 per WADA.

38
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DE MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY
| EDUCATION.

The state can only distribute
funds actually collected

* Appropriated level may not
be reached

39



A Mi :
Small Schools Grant ([ e

To qualify for the Small Schools Grant, district’s prior
yvear ADA must be = or < 350

* $10M distributed equal amount per ADA to districts
with prior year ADA £ 350

* S5M will be distributed to districts with tax rates >
S3.43 on a tax-rate-weighted ADA basis

40
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FY 2020 Small Schools Grant fEDUCAﬂON

35,717 $279.97 per

10,000,000
> 2019 ADA ADA

41



8. issouri
FY 2020 Small Schools Grant fEDUCAﬂON

$5,000,000 portion
* Paid on tax rate weighted ADA
* Uses current tax rate (General & Teachers Fund)
alevy since 2009 greater than or equal to $3.43
and now fell held at $3.43
* $149.92 per tax rate weighted ADA

42



8. issouri
FY 2021 Small Schools Grant fEDUCAﬂON

$279.97 per

$10,000,000 ADA

43



8. issouri
FY 2021 Small Schools Grant fEDUCAﬂON

$5,000,000 portion
* Paid on tax rate weighted ADA
* Uses current tax rate (General & Teachers Fund)
alevy since 2009 greater than or equal to $3.43
and now fell held at $3.43
* $149.92 per tax rate weighted ADA

44



FY 2020 Transportation Funding ?EDUCAT,ON

28.19%

of eligible
transportation
cost

$93,245,338
Appropriation

Transportation had two spending restrictions totaling $14.3 million.

45



FY 2021 Transportation Funding ?EDUCAT,ON

Percent

of eligible
transportation
cost unknown

$93,947,713
Apportion

Transportation is paid on the prior year’s ASBR data.

46
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Transportation Funding Estimate W\ 7reiiie s

Allowable transportation cost is 75% of eligible cost.
* Line 50 of the District Summary Transportation
Report

* Line 52 Adjusted for Appropriation Available.

47
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Prior Year Correction ESUERT TGN

* Each year the prior year payments are recalculated. The most
notable corrections occur in the Basic Formula calculation.

e The SAT has shown to be adjusted downward over $S20 per FWADA.

Fiscal June Proration Prior Year Correction FWADA

Years june FWADA PYC FWADA Adjusted SAT Adjusted SAT Change A2

p I 915,600.9451 919,296.8177 6,145.826158666  6,121.383388689 3,695.8726  -24.442769977
pJsWAl 919,097.7259 922,408.1603  6,198.711938359 6,176.457027823 3,310.4344  -22.254910536

pLak: 3 921,206.9874 924,189.8054 6,241.000000000 6,218.3507777170 2,982.8180  -22.649222283
926,782.4192 929,280.3234  6,308.000000000 6,293.274786413  2,497.9042 -14.725213587




. . éMissouri
Basic Formula Calculation Tool lesissed

Located on the School Finance website at:

http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools



http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools

Other Revenue Sources




(_}Missouri

Estimating Local Tax Revenue Sl

Assessed Valuation (AV) + 100 x
Tax Levy x Collection Rate (Historic Figure)

Contact your county assessors for information
related to changes in assessed valuation.

51
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Potential Revenue Sources By Fund \ Tesicasion

General Fund Teachers Fund Debt Service Fund | Capital Projects Fund

Local Tax Revenue Allowable Transfers Local Tax Revenue* Allowable Transfers

State Revenue State Revenue State Revenue Local Tax Revenue*
Federal Revenue Local Tax Revenue* Bond Proceeds
Gifts/Donations Federal Revenue Gifts/Donations
Grants Sale of Assets

State Revenue

Federal Revenue

*If the board sets a levy in the fund. )



(_}Missouri

Budget Information and Resources \ 7eeiiam e

Revenue estimating tools for basic formula revenue are

found at http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-
finance/calculation-tools

* Basic Formula Calculation Tool for All Districts
* Information needed can be found

2 On the payment transmittal

0 Data collection

53


http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools

Estimating Expenditures




. . 8 issouri
Potential Expenditures By Fund e ey

General Fund Teachers Fund | Debt Service Fund | Capital Projects Fund

Salaries/Benefits Salaries/Benefits Principal Payments Principal Payments
Purchased Services Interest Payments  Interest Payments
Utilities Fee Payments Fee Payments
Supplies Capital Outlay

Allowable Transfers

55
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Budget Information and Resources \ 75z

Finance Topics & Procedures
http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures

School Finance Memos
http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/school-finance-memos

The State Auditor’s Office Tax Rate Calculation
https://auditor.mo.gov/property-tax-calculators

Proposition C Rollback Calculation & Estimate of Required Local Taxes
http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools

56


http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures
http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/school-finance-memos
http://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/calculation-tools

Claiming PK for State Aid




. . AMissouri
PK Leglslatlon EDUCATION

* Section 163.018. 1 RSMo states,

o “..pupils between the ages of three and five who are
eligible for free and reduced price lunch....

0 “The total number of such pupils ... shall not exceed four
percent of the total number of pupils who are eligible for
free and reduced price lunch between the ages of five and
eighteen who are included in the district's or charter
school's calculation of average daily attendance.”



PK Legislation, Cont’d. | EDUCATION.

* “achild is eligible for admission to that prekindergarten
program only if the child has reached the age of three
before the first day of August of the school year
beginning in that calendar year.”

* The total number of PK students shall not exceed four
percent of the total number of pupils who are eligible
for free and reduced price lunch between the ages of 5
and 18.



Number of PK Students, Cont’d Tl ey

* For Non-CEP districts the following calculation is performed:
0 The headcount is obtained of students who as of the last Wednesday
in Sept. of each year are:
Reported with a R1 or R2 residency status
Reported as being enrolled on the count day
Reported as being in grades K-12
Reported with an age between 5 and 18
o Reported as qualifying for Free or Reduced Lunch
* This count, which represents the number of pupils who qualify for free
and reduced lunch between the ages of 5 and 18, is now multiplied by 4%
to equal the maximum headcount of PK students that can be claimed for
state aid.

o O O O



Number of PK Students, Cont’d G missour

DE MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY
| EDUCATION.

* For districts or charter schools that have at least one building

under CEP then the following calculation is performed:

0 The headcount is obtained of students who as of the last
Wednesday in Sept. of each year are:
o Reported with a R1 or R2 residency status
- Reported as being enrolled on the count day
- Reported as being in grades K-12
- Reported with an age between 5 and 18

0 This headcount is then multiplied by the district’s or
charter school’s CEP percentage



Number of PK Students, Cont’d

e The Headcount of PK students that can be claimed for PK is

displayed on Core Data Screen 15.
o Example 1 - Non-CEP District

PK Eligible for State Aid Count
Head Count taken of resident students ages 5-18 (as of October 1 of the current school year) who were in grades K-12 that were enrolled on the count day whose eligibility for free and reduced lunch has been documented (or if participating in CEP all students between 5-18 in
grades K-12 enrolled on the count day), multiplied by the applicable CEP percentage, then multiplied by 4%.

Free and Reduced Lunch Headcount CEP Percentage Calculated Free and Reduced Lunch Headcount Total Number of PK Students Eligible to be Claimed for State Aid
656 656 26

o Example 2 — CEP District

le for State Aid Count
Head Count taken of resident students ages 5-18 (as of October 1 of the current school year) who were in grades K-12 that were enrolled on the count day whose eligibility for free and reduced lunch has been documented (or if participating in CEP all students between 5-18 in
grades K-12 enrolled on the count day), multiplied by the applicable CEP percentage, then multiplied by 4%.

Free and Reduced Lunch Headcount CEP Percentage Calculated Free and Reduced Lunch Headcount Total Number of PK Students Eligible to be Claimed for State Aid
218 64.59% |141 =




Number of PK Students, Cont’d Tl ey

* PK programs must have a compliant calendar.
o Half Day programs no less than 522 hours
o Must plan 36 weather make-up hours
o Full day programs no less than 1,044 hours
o Must plan 36 weather make-up hours
* Must follow weather make-up requirements
* PK cannot be claimed for summer school



. [ . éMissouri
PK Student Qualifications e

* Not all PK students qualify to be claimed for state
aid. Certain criteria must be met.
* PK students claimed for state aid must qualify
for FRL.
a On the Direct certification list; or
o Must collect a paper form to prove the PK
student qualifies for FRL
o Applies even if the district/building is CEP.



Quarterly Reporting




Section 160.066, RSMo, Reporting ?Eouc;mo:\l

* Must post a searchable expenditure and revenue document or
database detailing actual income, expenditures and
disbursements.

0 The site shall contain only information that is a public record or
that is not confidential or otherwise protected from public
disclosure under state or federal law.

* Updated no less frequently than every quarter.
* Keep for a minimum of ten years.

* Template has been provided in the document titled “Reporting
Requirements” located https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-
services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures.



https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures

Section 160.066, RSMo, Reporting, Cont’d N $Missourt

| EDUCATION.
* Updated no less frequently than every quarter.

* Keep for a minimum of ten years.

* Do not have to publish personal information relating to
payroll deductions, payroll contributions, or any other
information that is confidential or protected.

* Template has been provided in the document titled
“Reporting Requirements” located
https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-
finance/finance-topics-procedures.



https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures

Calendar Reminders




Calendar Reminders 4 Missouri
| EDUCATION.

e Starting with FY 2019-20 there will be an hour
requirement of 1,044 hours.

* There will no longer be a minimum and maximum
day length.

* Must plan an minimum of 36 weather make-up
hours

o Half day programs must have 36 weather make-up
hours also.



Calendar Reminders, Cont’d G Missour,

| EDUCATION.
* Further information regarding the calendar can be

found on the School Finance Topics and Procedures
webpage.

https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-
finance/finance-topics-procedures



https://dese.mo.gov/financial-admin-services/school-finance/finance-topics-procedures

Transportation
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Student Transportation Web Site éMissouri

" DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY

https://dese.mo.gov/financial-administrative-services/school-transportation | EDUCATION.

Z\ M i S s o u r i MO.gov  Governor Jay Nixon  Find an Agency

':" DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY

| EDUCATION. S e e (R ey

Home About Administrators Adults & Community Educators Parents & Students School Data

Student Transportation Financial & Admin. Services

Home *» Financial & Admin. Services

News and Updates

Accounting & Procurement
The Student Transportation Section provides state transportation aid for

Budget
public school districts and charter schools for transportation services to and Quick Links

from school at the beginning and end of the school day during the regular . . . . Caesgttucatoniinanes
+ Driver Licensing, Bus Drivers

schaol term, and career education and special needs transportation. This ESER/NEIBEnance

+ Licensing School Buses

section also provides technical assistance for school administrators and Food & Nutrition Services

school bus contractors on Missouri statutes and regulations that govern Human Resources

Missouri public student transportation as well as offering a Certified School

School Finance
Bus Driver Instructor Pregram. Student Transpertation also provides the Missouri Minimum Standards for School Buses which

School Governance

regulates the equipment for the school bus body and chassis. . pr——

CONTACT PERSON:

Debra Clink, Manager

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480

Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0480

Telephone (573) 751-0357 Facsimile (573) 526-6898
Email: finadmgov@dese.mo.gov

Administrator’s Handbook

Certified Bus Driver Instructors

= Dx 1t Prep. ion

* FAQs

Monthly Financial Reports

News and Updates

Related Links

School Bus Standards

State Aid Summary

Transportation Aid Calculator



1 1 éMissouri
Student Transportation Requirement e

Students living more than 3 % miles from school must be
provided transportation service.

All students can be transported by local board decision
(Section 167.231, RSMo).

Funding is available for students who live one mile or
more from school.

No funding is available for students who live less than
one mile from school (except when required by an IEP).



What is a School Bus?




What is a School Bus- [ e




S, éMissouri
Bus Definition and Use | EBUEATISRN.

* The term school bus means any motor vehicle, either publicly or
privately owned, used to transport students to and from school, or
to transport pupils properly chaperoned to and from any place
within the state for educational purposes (Section 302.010, RSMo).

0 School buses that are school district owned vehicles cannot be

used for purposes other than transporting students(Section
301.260 and 302.010, RSMo).

o Commercially licensed, contractor owned, school buses that
have the school bus signs covered in such a way that it does

not appear as a school bus can be used for other purposes
(Section 304.075, RSMo).



éMissouri
School Buses and Seat Belts Tl ey

* School buses are equipped with a passive restraint
system called compartmentalization that means that the
seating area of a school bus is built with specially
padded high-back, wider, thicker seats that protect
people in school buses during accidents.

* No metal surfaces are exposed and seats are spaced
close together to contain the students in cushioned
compartments.

* There is no safer means of ground transportation than a
vellow school bus.






School Bus Maximum Capacity ?Eouc;mo:\l

* The operator of a school bus cannot transport more
children than the manufacturer suggests as
appropriate (Section 304.060, RSMo).

* Each passenger must have seating space sufficient
enough to ensure that the back of each passenger
can come into full contact with the seat back (and 5
CSR 30-261.010 (5)(B)3.1).



éMissouri

Non-Conforming Van Use | EDUCATION

* Any vehicle that transports 11 or more passengers
including the driver that is purchased, leased, or
contracted must be a school bus and meet all Missouri
Minimum Standards for School Buses as well as all
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards for School Buses
(with the exception of motor coaches).

* This means that a school district cannot purchase,
contract, or rent 12/15/17 passenger vans for the
transportation of school children.



. éMissouri
School Bus Inspections e

* Every school bus used to transport children to or
from school must be inspected within 60 days prior
to operating the bus during the school year and in
the spring by the Missouri State Highway Patrol
(Section 307.375, RSMo).

* The board of education must require school bus
drivers to conduct and prepare a record of the daily

pre-trip inspection for each school bus (5 CSR 30-
261.010 (1)(K)).



. . AMissouri
Evacuation Drills EBUEATISN

* Emergency evacuation drills on school buses are
required for all students in kindergarten through sixth
grade at least once per semester.

* The first drill must be completed prior to October 31.

* The public school district board of education shall
prescribe emergency evacuation drill requirements for

all other students (5 CSR 30-261.010 (1)(J)).



- - AMissouri
SChOOl Bus Rlde Times EBUCATION

* Maximum ride time is established by the local
boards of education. There are no restrictions on
ride time within the Missouri Statutes or State Board
of Education Regulations.



Minimum Distance Between School Bus Stops G Missour

DE MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY
| EDUCATION.

* School bus drivers must activate the pre-warning
amber lights 500 feet before a school bus stop,
therefore, school bus stops must be more than 500
feet apart.



Visibility Distance Required at a Bus Stop Cissours

| EDUCATION.
* The bus must be visible for at least 300 feet in each

direction on other highways (Section 304.050,
RSMo).

* When stopping, the school bus must be visible for at
least 500 feet in each direction on a highway with no

shoulder and a speed limit greater than 60 miles per
hour.



l - éMissouri
Early Childhood Transportation e e

* |n transporting early childhood students, it is recommended
that a school district follow the "Guidelines for the Safe
Transportation of Pre-School Age Children in School Buses”
prepared by the National Highway and Traffic Safety
Administration (www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/buses).

e Pursuant to Missouri law the following children must be
transported in a child passenger restraint system:

o Children under the age of four

o Children under the age of 8 and 80 pounds or under the age
of 16 and less than 4°9” being transported in a vehicle
capable of transporting 10 or less (including the driver)


http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/buses

éMissouri

Requirements for Transporting Students with Disabilities e T O L EMEATAY . SECONDATY
| EDUCATION.
* Students who have special transportation needs must have
those needs detailed in the child’s IEP under related services.

* These needs may include the requirement for a handicapped
aide on the bus with the child, curb-to-curb service,
transportation for a student with disabilities living less than one
mile from school, transportation for special education summer
school, and other transportation as required for educational
purposes during the regular school day (supervised by a
certificated teacher).

* |f written into the child’s IEP these expenses are considered
eligible for state transportation aid (with the exception of OT
and PT).



éMissouri

Drivers’ License and School Bus Endorsement Requirement o
| EDUCATION.

A CDL w/passenger endorsement and a School Bus
Endorsement (SBE) are needed for any driver of a
vehicle that is 26,000 lbs. or greater (including
mechanics).

A Class E Operator’s License and SBE are needed for any
driver of a vehicle that is less than 26,000 Ibs., 15
passengers or less including the driver, and who is
compensated for transporting school children (Section
302.010, RSMo).



School Bus Endorsement (SBE) Exceptions G Missour

DE MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY
| EDUCATION.

 The term school bus operator shall not include any person
who transports school children, in a vehicle that is capable of
transporting 15 or less including the driver, as an incident to
employment with a school district, such as a teacher, coach,
administrator, secretary, school nurse, or janitor, unless such
person is under contract with or employed by a school
district as a school bus operator (Section 302.010, RSMo).

* Only “school bus operators” and CDL-licensed school bus
drivers are required to have a SBE.

* All school bus drivers must have the proper driver’s license
for the vehicle they are operating.



1 éMissouri
School Bus Drivers Over the Age of 70 e e

* Adriver who is over 70 years of age must renew
their license with SBE every year with an:

o Acceptable two-part road test results (these
drivers are exempt from the pre-trip inspection
exam)

o SBE application form
o Applicable DOR fees



School Bus Drivers’ Physicals Tl ey

* School bus drivers must have a physical examination
biennially (162.064, RSMo), effective August 28, 2018, the
law changed from an annual to biennial requirement.

* Only school bus drivers employed with a school bus
contractor who drive more than home-school-home routes
are required, by federal regulation, to have DOT physicals;
however, local school district and/or contractor policy may
require DOT physicals for other drivers.

* Anyone who is licensed in Missouri to perform physical
examinations can perform a school bus driver physical.



School Bus Driver Training ?Eoucxrmo:\l

* All school bus drivers must have eight (8) hours of
annual training.

 The district or contractor should retain detailed

documentation of this training in the employee’s
training file.
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Certified School Bus Driver RO

The Certified School Bus Driver Instructor Program is a program to
train and certify individuals as school bus driver trainers.

* This program helps a school district maintain a trained staff of
drivers.

* The Certified School Bus Driver Instructor training program is
jointly sponsored by Central Missouri State University-Missouri
Safety Center, Missouri School Bus Contractors Association
(MSBCA), Missouri Association of Pupil Transportation (MAPT),
and the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s
School Governance Section.



Certified School Bus Driver, Cont’d. s

* This program is usually conducted in July and
provides individuals with classroom and hands-on
practical instruction activities.

* The goal is to provide each trainee with a model
curriculum and instructional skills necessary to
design and implement a school bus driver training
program (Section 302.272, RSMo).

* To retain the certification a trainer must attend a
recertification course at least every three years.



1mi I éMissouri
Criminal History Background FEE S

* School districts must ensure that all new school bus
drivers have a criminal history background check
through the Missouri State Highway Patrol vendor.

(https://dese.mo.gov/educator-quality/certification/fingerprintingbackground-check)




. . AMissouri
Ridership | EDUCATION.

* The 2020-21 ridership lists dates are Oct. 14, 2020, and Feb. 10,
2021.

* The two ridership lists, developed on the second Wednesday of
October and February for the respective semesters, should be an
accurate reflection of students living one mile or more from
school and students living less than one mile from school who are
riding the school bus on a regular (minimum of once per week)
basis.

* These lists should not include students living one mile or more
from school and living less than one mile from school who do not
ride the bus on a regular basis.



AMissouri
School Bus Route  EBUEAFISN

* A bus route begins when a bus leaves a point (home,
school, etc.) empty and proceeds on a predetermined
route, picking up pupils, traveling to a school(s) to drop
off students, and then returning the pupils to a
designated point after school (5 CSR 30-261.010

(5)(A)(3)).
* The local board must approve preliminary bus routes by
Oct. 31 of each year and any revisions by June 30.



U - T éMissouri
Eligible Mile Definition (e

* Eligible transportation miles are those miles traveled from
where the bus is kept at night until it returns to the same
location after the pupils have been returned home, as long
as it is used only to transport pupils to and from school (at
the beginning and ending of the regular school day).

* Eligible miles include handicapped summer school route
miles, but do not include non-handicapped summer school
route miles.

* Eligible transportation miles are eligible for state
transportation aid (5 CSR 30-261.010(5)(A)(1) and 5 CSR 30-
261.040).



50 - N éMissouri
Ineligible Mile Definition iy

e All miles that are driven for any purpose other than transporting
students to and from school during the regular school term are
ineligible for state transportation aid.

* Non-handicapped summer school routes, non-handicapped early
childhood routes, field trips, athletic trips, and other extra-curricular
activity trips are examples of ineligible miles.

* Miles traveled to rerun a route or part of a route to transport students
participating in before-school or after-school activities or training
(including remediation and extra-curricular) are also ineligible miles.

* All ineligible miles shall be recorded and subsequently reported on the
Application for State Transportation Aid (5 CSR 30-261.010(5)(A)(2) and
5 CSR 30-261.040 (3)(B)).



5 . éMissouri
Transportation Data Collection T e

* The transportation data are collected through the Annual Secretary of
the Board Report via the ASBR web submission process.

* The data required for the Application for State Transportation Aid

(ridership, days operated, mileage) and School Bus and Facility
Depreciation Schedules have not changed.

 The ASBR is submitted by Aug. 15 of each year.



School Finance ~ 573-751-0357 4.5

I

David Tramel Coordinator, Financial and Administrative Services
David.Tramel@dese.mo.gov

Tammy Lehmen Coordinator, School Finance

Tammy.Lehmen@dese.mo.gov Contact for districts in counties 048 & Kansas City
Charters, 055-079 & 347-347

Debra Clink Manager, Student Transportation

Debra.Clink@dese.mo.gov Contact for districts in counties 080-115 & St Louis
Charters

Sharon Bax School Finance Consultant

Sharon.Bax@dese.mo.gov Contact for districts in counties 001-047 & 049-054



mailto:Jennifer.Jordan@dese.mo.gov
mailto:Tammy.Lehmen@dese.mo.gov
mailto:Debra.Clink@dese.mo.gov
mailto:Taylor.Doerhoff@dese.mo.gov
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