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Criminal Background Checks



| EDUCATION.

Criminal Background Checks

A criminal background check is required when
» Applying for a certificate

» New hire with a district or a volunteer that may
be left alone with students

» Includes all certificated and non-certificated staff



| EDUCATION.

Background Checks Completed

Certified Staff and Substitutes
o Monthly average: 2,500
o Yearly average: 33,000

*totals do not include uncertified staff and bus
drivers
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July 1, 2018 - December 31, 2019

e Total Background Checks Processed: 52,506
* Background Checks Cleared: 51,616

* Background Checks Not Cleared: 890

* 98% of all background checks are cleared




| EDUCATION.

Fingerprint Background Checks

» Fingerprint background checks must be completed
through the Missouri State Highway Patrol

» Individuals must register with the Missouri Automated
Criminal History Site (MACHS) provided by the Highway
Patrol

» The registration site is located at www.machs.mo.gov



| EDUCATION.

Fingerprint Background Checks

» A four-digit registration code is required to register.

» The four-digit registration code ensures that the
background check results are returned to both DESE, as
well as the correct school district.

» Registration must be completed for both an FBI and
Highway Patrol check. Total cost is $41.75.



| EDUCATION.

Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS)

Districts are provided with access to the MACHS site

> To monitor fingerprinting process for certified &
non-certified staff

> To view status of background checks

> To receive background check results for
Certified Staff, Substitutes, Uncertified Staff, &
Bus Drivers



| EDUCATION.

MACHS - Rapback

» Rap Back opened in July 2016

» Provides real-time, automatic email notification
of arrests to DESE and designated district official

» Notification is sent within 24 hours
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I DEPy MENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY

Rap Back Notifications

July 1, 2018 — Current
Certified Staff and Substitutes
o State Rapback: 822
o Federal Rapback: 32



| EDUCATION.

Rap Back Notifications

What happens when a notification is received?

> Rap sheet is reviewed
> Case file is opened, if warranted

> Case is tracked through adjudication (plea of
guilty or conviction)

> Discipline proceedings are initiated



| EDUCATION.

Policy Compliance Review

e All districts that receive fingerprint-based criminal history

results from the MSHP and FBI are audited on a triennial
basis.

e The review consists of, in part:

Use and receipt of the criminal history results
Access (who has access? what purpose?)

Storage (are the criminal history results retained? how
long? where? who has access?)
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Discipline of Certificates



| EDUCATION.

Discipline of Certificates

RSMo 168.071

The state board of education may refuse to issue or
renew a certificate or may discipline the holder of a
certificate of license to teach for the following
causes:



| EDUCATION.

Discipline of Certificates

» A certificate holder or applicant for a certificate has pleaded to
or been found guilty of a felony or crime involving moral
turpitude

» The certification was obtained through use of fraud, deception,
misrepresentation or bribery

» There is evidence of incompetence, immorality, or neglect of
duty by the certificate holder



| EDUCATION.

Discipline of Certificates

» A certificate holder has been subject to disciplinary action
issued by another state, territory, federal agency, or
country upon grounds for which discipline is authorized in
this section

> |If charges are filed by the local board of education, based
upon the annulling of a written contract with the local
board of education



| EDUCATION.

Discipline of Certificates

= |f one of the previous standards is met, then a
hearing will be scheduled.

"= The educator will be notified and may be
represented by counsel.

= DESE is represented by the Office of the Attorney
General.



| EDUCATION.

Discipline of Certificates

The State Board

> Determines appropriate discipline

> Reviews findings of facts, conclusions of law,
nearing transcripts, and hearing evidence

> May revoke or suspend a certificate, or take no
action.
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Discipline of Certificates

July 1, 2018 to current
> 33 revocations

> 3 suspensions

> Revocations and suspensions are reported to
the national clearinghouse
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DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY & SECONDARY

| EDUCATION

margery.tanner@dese.mo.gov

sheila.hirsch@dese.mo.gov

certification@dese.mo.gov



mailto:margery.tanner@dese.mo.gov
mailto:sheila.hirsch@dese.mo.gov
mailto:certification@dese.mo.gov

	MACCE
	Slide Number 2
	Slide Number 3
	Criminal Background Checks
	Background Checks Completed
	July 1, 2018 -  December 31, 2019
	Fingerprint Background Checks
	Fingerprint Background Checks
	Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS)
	MACHS - Rapback
	Rap Back Notifications
	Rap Back Notifications
	Policy Compliance Review 
	Slide Number 14
	Discipline of Certificates
	Discipline of Certificates
	Discipline of Certificates
	Discipline of Certificates
	Discipline of Certificates
	Discipline of Certificates
	Slide Number 21

