Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

You are here


Missouri’s Scores Hold Steady in Nation’s Report Card

Missouri’s scores in national math and reading assessments remained steady in 2017, while landing at or above the national averages in all four testing categories among students in the state scoring either basic, proficient, or advanced.

The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) assesses fourth- and eighth-grade students across the country in math and reading every two years. Missouri’s 2017 scores were not statistically different than those in 2015, as nearly 2,300 Missouri students were tested in each subject/grade.

Missouri Students Demonstrate Their Skills in State Showcase of Career and Technical Education

More than 2,300 career and technical education students from high schools and colleges across the state will compete at SkillsUSA Missouri’s State Leadership and Skills Conference April 5 and 6 at State Technical College of Missouri in Linn. The students will be demonstrating their skills in more than 150 contests. 

Missouri Adult Education Tops the Nation in Student Advancement

Missouri is the top state in the nation in academic gains among adult education students. For the period July 2016 to June 2017, 65 percent of the state’s adult education students advanced an educational level in the program. For example, a student may advance from an adult basic educational level to an adult secondary educational level. Missouri was the top state in 2014-15 as well, and ranked second in 2015-16.

Missouri Students Selected by National Community Service Program

Two Missouri students were named Missouri’s top youth volunteers for 2018 by The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards, a nationwide program honoring students for outstanding acts of volunteerism. Sophie Bernstein (Clayton) and Katelyn Ravasini (Lee’s Summit R-VII) will travel to Washington, D.C., in late April for the program’s national recognition events.

Annual Performance Reports for Educator Preparation Programs Now Available

Results from the latest Annual Performance Reports for Educator Preparation Programs (APR-EPPs) have been released to provide information about the programs to the public, particularly parents and students. The APR-EPPs are based on the latest five years of data from education preparation programs at Missouri colleges and universities.

Public Hearings Scheduled for Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Five public hearings on vocational rehabilitation services have been scheduled in March throughout the state. The hearings will be conducted by Missouri Vocational Rehabilitation (MVR) to gain feedback on ways to improve services for individuals with disabilities. Input is welcome regarding MVR’s goals and priorities found in the current state plan.