Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

You are here

Eight Missouri Schools Awarded Blue Ribbon Status

Thu, 09/28/2017 - 12:26

The U.S. Department of Education has honored eight Missouri schools as 2017 Blue Ribbon Schools. The national award recognizes schools that perform at high academic levels (top 15 percent in the state based on assessment scores and graduation rates) or that perform at high levels while serving a significant proportion of disadvantaged students (top 15 percent in progress toward reducing the achievement gap).

These are the 2017 Missouri Blue Ribbon Schools:

Atlanta Elementary, Atlanta C-3 School District
Chesterfield Elementary, Rockwood R-VI School District
Fox Hill Elementary, North Kansas City 74 School District
Mallinckrodt Academy of Gifted Instruction, St. Louis City School District
Mark Twain Elementary, Brentwood School District
Rock Port Elementary, Rock Port R-II School District
University Academy-Upper, University Academy Charter
Voy Spears, Jr. Elementary, Blue Springs R-IV School District

“These schools have done outstanding work in preparing their students to succeed,” said Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “Congratulations to the school leaders, teachers, students and communities on this national recognition.”

Earlier this year, the schools were honored as Gold Star Schools under a program established by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education in 1991. The schools were then nominated as Blue Ribbon Schools. The nomination criteria for both programs are the same.

Representatives from the Blue Ribbon Schools may attend the national awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. This year’s ceremony is scheduled for Nov. 6 and 7.