Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Career Advisors

You are here

Career Advisors

The regional Career Advisors work with school districts, area career centers, military, and post-secondary institutions to ensure that Missouri students will have the knowledge, skills and experiences to make successful transitions to post-secondary options based on their educational and career goals.

  • Work collaboratively with school districts to develop and enhance career pathways programs/processes
  • Assist school counselors in the development and implementation of a rigorous and relevant Individual Career and Academic Plan
  • Assist building administrators, CTE instructors and counselors to facilitate the development and implementation of Programs of Study (POS) in collaboration with DESE CTE program staff
  • Support schools with the implementation and integration of Missouri Connections
  • Coordinate regional Missouri Connections training and support
  • Collaborate on regular basis with DESE School Counseling section staff and DESE CTE program staff, to ensure regional and state programs are aligned and complementary  (coordinated through the DESE School Counseling Director and Missouri Career Pathways Manager)
  • Collaborate with the Missouri Pathways Regional Consultants
  • Promote and support the Breaking Traditions Awards
  • Provide assistance to comprehensive high schools, area career centers and community/technical colleges regarding strategies to improve nontraditional participation and completion in career and technical education programs
  • Assist with career planning opportunities such as a statewide Nontraditional event(s) featuring Nontraditional Careers. 

 

Meet your Regional Career Advisor

 

 

Region

Name 

Biography and Information

1

Marisa Bowen

mlbowen@semo.edu

2

Jeffrey Beiswinger

beiswingerj@missouri.edu

3

Gwen Poss

possg@umkc.edu

4

 Polly Matteson

pmatteson@truman.edu

5

 Charlene Piel

cpiel@nwmissouri.edu

6

Jackie Marling

marlingj@mst.edu

7

Marci Dowdy

mdowdy@missouristate.edu

8

 Michelene Carbol

mcarbol@edplus.org

9

Jay Webster

webster@ucmo.edu
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Administrative Memos

Webinars

Web Applications

Contact Information

Dr. M. Rene' Yoesel, LPC

Director of School Counseling

Chrissy Bashore

Assistant Director of School Counseling

Amber Ernst

Supervisor

Beverly Ponder

Administrative Assistant