Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Standards and Curriculum Frameworks

National Standards for Family Consumer Sciences Education

The National Association of State Administrators for Family and Consumer Sciences Education (NASAFACS), an affiliate of the Family and Consumer Sciences Education (FACS) Division of the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE), first began development of national standards for family and consumer sciences in May 1995.  The resulting work became a powerful tool for showcasing the movement from home economics, with an emphasis on technical homemaking skills, to Family and Consumer Sciences Education & Human Services, with its focus on broader family and society issues, and provided significant new direction for the field.

In May 2014, NASAFACS initiated a project to update the national standards, utilizing a highly participatory process to collect recommendations from a wide variety of stakeholders. Over 1,000 reviewers, including FACS educators and subject matter specialists from all states along with representatives of external organizations, business and industry, agencies with direct connections, and other stakeholders, reviewed the National Standards and provided recommendations for the second edition.

Common Career Technical Core

Missouri FCSHS is responsible for programing in these three clusters: Education and Training #5; Hospitality and Tourism #9; Human Services #10.

The Common Career Technical Core (CCTC) is a state-led initiative to establish a set of rigorous, high-quality standards for Career Technical Education (CTE) that states can adopt voluntarily.  The standards have been informed by state and industry standards and developed by a diverse group of teachers, business and industry experts, administrators and researcher.

The CCTC includes a set of standards for each of the 16 Career Clusters™ and their corresponding Career Pathways that define what students should know and be able to do after completing instruction in a program of study.  The CCTC also includes an overarching set of Career Ready Practices that apply to all programs of study.  The Career Ready Practices include 12 statements that address the knowledge, skills and dispositions that are important to becoming career ready.

FCSHS Curriculum Frameworks

​Requires separate program approval -2 or more course required in the program of study.
These Programs of Study are offered at Comprehensive High Schools or Career Centers.

Offered Only at Career Centers