Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

Advisory Committee

In developing the Career Prep Certificate Program, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education established a statewide advisory committee in fall of 2006. It was comprised of representatives from employers, chambers of commerce, local workforce service providers and postsecondary institutions, as well as school administrators, counselors, and students. The group was charged with developing components of the program.

The advisory committee and invited guests included:

  • Nicole Adewale
    President, ABNA Engineering
  • Garland Barton
    HR Manager, DRS Sustainment Systems
  • Bob Bush
    President, Bush & Associates Inc.
  • Ingrid Caldwell
    Supervisor, A+ Schools, DESE
  • Maureen Clancy-May
    Superintendent, Bayless School District
  • Don Claycomb
    President, Linn State Technical College
  • Steve Coffman
    Director, Employment Training, DESE
  • Joan Clouse
    Counselor, Saline County Career Center
  • Mike Cowan
    Principal, Cape Girardeau High School
  • Cindy Crouse
    Counselor, St. Joseph School District
  • Joan Davis
    Project Coordinator, CHARACTERplus, Branson
  • Lynn Dutton
    Manager, Full Employment Council
  • Don Eisinger
    Coordinator, Adult Education, DESE
  • Melissa Eitel
    A+ Schools Coordinator, Kirksville High School
  • Lisa Essig
    Owner, McDonalds, Liberty and Kearney
  • Mary Fangman
    Superintendent, Marshall Habilitation Center
  • John Gaal
    Director, Carpenter District Council of St. Louis
  • Natasha Garrison
    Student, Linn State Technical College, former State President, SkillsUSA
  • Barb Gilpin
    Supervisor, Special Education Effective Practices, DESE
  • Rick Gronniger
    HR Manager, Altec Industries
  • Glenda Hammond
    HR Manager, Aquila
  • Sue Head
    Director, Keeter Center, College of the Ozarks
  • Rose Marie Hopkins
    Director, Missouri Training and Employment Council
  • Marty Jacobs
    Principal, Liberty High School
  • Jacob Johnson
    President, Manufacturing Training Alliance
  • Tom Jones
    WIB Director, SLATE Career Center
  • Cathy Keeney
    HR Manager, Royal Canin
  • Zach Kinne
    Student, University of Missouri-Columbia, former State President, FFA
  • Symone Langston-Thomas
    Counselor, Columbia-Hickman High School
  • Dave Lankford
    Vice President, Missouri Chamber of Commerce
  • Brad Lau
    Vice President, St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce
  • Matt Lindsey
    Principal, Holden High School
  • Keith Maxey
    Principal, Blue Springs South High School