Welcome to dese.mo.gov. We hope you enjoy the site, and we welcome your feedback.

State Finalists & Candidates

2017-18 Missouri Teacher of the Year Finalists

Finalists have been named for the 2017-18 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. School districts throughout the state submitted nominations for the award, and the finalists were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). The finalists were selected from among 32 regional teachers of the year.

In addition to the 2017-18 Missouri Teacher of the Year Beth Davey, there were five finalists for the 2017-18 year:

Tracy Brosch
​Sunrise Elementary
Sunrise R-IX

Daniel Gutierrez
Vocal music
Reed Academy
Springfield R-XII

Matthew Horn
Social studies
University City High School
University City
Ed Kappeler
Language arts and speech
Pacific High School
Meramec Valley R-III
Megan Vallis
Library media
Truman Middle School
Lindbergh Schools